We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is everything that is advertised”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is everything that is advertised”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful hosts with a great knowledge of the Hanmer Springs area. Cosy, warm, clean, separate chalets with great views and outside seating on both sides to catch both the morning and the afternoon sun and views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Great review Gillian ~ We so appreciate you taking the time to do it for us ~ thanks heaps! It's lovely to hear you enjoyed so much about your stay with us ~ hope to see you again when you can make it down south for another holiday. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
171
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Pat is very warm and welcoming. Offering us a porta cot and a change mat for our baby! The chalets are lovely- a home away from home! Good kitchen facilities, great heating cozy and warm, and nice little outdoor areas too! It was perfect for our family getaway! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puls7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Julie ~ it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much ~ huge thanks for doing this great review for us!! We really appreciate you taking the time to do it, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came from the Far North looking for a relaxing break. We found the perfect spot. We were greeted by the friendly hosts and they went out of their way to provide us with info about Hanmer Springs and the surrounding area to make our stay more enjoyable. They made us feel very welcome. The Chalets were very clean and comfy and had everything thing there that we needed. So thanks again and shall see you next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chalet 9 which was at the top of the property. Great mountain views and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi there Sally! We so appreciate this great review ~ thanks heaps and a big thank you also for taking timeout to do it for us. We are just rapt that the three of you so enjoyed your stay with us at The Chalets here in lovely Hanmer Springs! Hope you had a good trip back to the 'Winterless North' and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip south! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Once again a wonderful stay at The Chalets Motel. The motels are truly lovely, I love the fact that they are all separate, you don't feel as though you will disturb the next unit if you are watching a late movie. The units are all very well equipped, warm, and beautifully clean. Just feels like a home away from home. Very relaxing atmosphere, great views, and amazingly wonderful hospitality from Pat and Jock. Thanks guys for another super relaxing, enjoyable stay at Hanmer, and I'm sure we will be back again, as we wouldn't stay anywhere else on our trips to your lovely resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks so much Denise ~ that's an awesome review for us ~ we really appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. Hope all is going well, see you next time! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just stayed here for two nights, honestly if you want to stay somewhere special this is it. The rooms are basic but awesome, they are very clean and well equipped, the views are amazing and close to town, I would never stay anywhere else in Hanmer at all, unless you like ya boring normal place. And the host are so friendly and nice, so will be staying there again. Thank you so much for an amazing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Wow, an awesome review ~ thanks Dan!! We are rapt you both enjoyed your stay here so much, and we look forward to seeing you next time you can escape from your busy life! We very much appreciate you taking the time to post this top review on Trip Advisor for us =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Returned without the rest of the family this time and had another relaxing, enjoyable stay. Clean, warm and comfortable units with privacy. Nice views of the mountains and friendly hosts. Thanks Pat and Jock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NASASSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks Nick ~ Thanks for returning for another stay with us ~ it was great to see you both again! Thanks so much for taking the time to put this great review on Trip Advisor again for us =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed at The Chalets on a number of occassions for a number of different purposes. The hospitality is outstanding-- warm and friendly. I love the location-- a real get-away-from-it-all feel.
The units are always spotless and I feel safe and relaxed even if I am on my own

Room Tip: Book early. A room with a sliding door leadfing straight from the lounge to a verandah or deck allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review Lois ~ we really appreciate you taking the time to pop onto Trip Advisor and do it for us. It's great to hear how much you like staying with us! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing