We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a wonderful place to stay”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Once again a wonderful stay at The Chalets Motel. The motels are truly lovely, I love the fact that they are all separate, you don't feel as though you will disturb the next unit if you are watching a late movie. The units are all very well equipped, warm, and beautifully clean. Just feels like a home away from home. Very relaxing atmosphere, great views, and amazingly wonderful hospitality from Pat and Jock. Thanks guys for another super relaxing, enjoyable stay at Hanmer, and I'm sure we will be back again, as we wouldn't stay anywhere else on our trips to your lovely resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks so much Denise ~ that's an awesome review for us ~ we really appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. Hope all is going well, see you next time! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
170
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just stayed here for two nights, honestly if you want to stay somewhere special this is it. The rooms are basic but awesome, they are very clean and well equipped, the views are amazing and close to town, I would never stay anywhere else in Hanmer at all, unless you like ya boring normal place. And the host are so friendly and nice, so will be staying there again. Thank you so much for an amazing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Wow, an awesome review ~ thanks Dan!! We are rapt you both enjoyed your stay here so much, and we look forward to seeing you next time you can escape from your busy life! We very much appreciate you taking the time to post this top review on Trip Advisor for us =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Returned without the rest of the family this time and had another relaxing, enjoyable stay. Clean, warm and comfortable units with privacy. Nice views of the mountains and friendly hosts. Thanks Pat and Jock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NASASSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thanks Nick ~ Thanks for returning for another stay with us ~ it was great to see you both again! Thanks so much for taking the time to put this great review on Trip Advisor again for us =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed at The Chalets on a number of occassions for a number of different purposes. The hospitality is outstanding-- warm and friendly. I love the location-- a real get-away-from-it-all feel.
The units are always spotless and I feel safe and relaxed even if I am on my own

Room Tip: Book early. A room with a sliding door leadfing straight from the lounge to a verandah or deck allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review Lois ~ we really appreciate you taking the time to pop onto Trip Advisor and do it for us. It's great to hear how much you like staying with us! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was a fantastic get away from Christchurch, even if it was just for one night! Units were very clean, comfortable and inviting. Our outside chalet light was on for us along with our heater as we arrived early evening, a lovely touch! Hosts Pat and Jock both welcomed us and were very friendly. Would definitely stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjsj7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
A great review for us Sally ~ thanks heaps, it was great to have you and Jo stay with us again, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and your night out in lovely Hanmer Springs ~ and the All Blacks won!! We look forward to seeing you again when you can make it up for a break again =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked the chalets again as our previous experience in the spa bath chalet was excellent. We did not manage to get the spa bath chalet but instead a 2 bedroomed chalet (no8). We arrived at 2pm and were met by Pat who as ever had a very inviting manner. She showed us on the map which chalet was ours and we said it was fine as we had visited earlier (otherwise she would have taken us to the chalet) She did say she would visit us in a few minutes to show us how the tv etc worked.(which she did) We settled in and the views from the chalet was amazing. The chalet itself again was very clean more than adequately equipped and had the full chalet effect and felt like our own little place with our own car park outside the chalet.The main bedroom bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi David, Huge thanks for taking the time to post your awesome, positive review!! We thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your second visit, this time in No. 8! It's really gratifying for us when guests return to stay with us, and it was lovely to see you again. Hopefully you can return for some R & R in lovely Hanmer Springs before too long =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed with another couple, renting Chalets #10 and #1. Both were exceptionally clean and very comfortable and warm. The spa in Chalet #10 was excellent. The hosts were very welcoming, making our stay a memorable one. With modern features and a traditional vibe, Chalet Motels has the best of both worlds - tucked away only minutes from the hot pools. We would most definately stay again!

Room Tip: Chalet #10 is the best for a romantic getaway - the spa is big, clean and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi John, a big thank you for your great review of yours and your friends' stay with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, even tho' it was only for one night ~ hopefully you can return before too long and enjoy a few more days of R & R with us in lovely Hanmer Springs!
We really appreciate you taking the time to do this great review for us, and we hope you have enjoyed your trip around NZ. Hope to see you again one day =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing