We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road Trip South Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Road Trip South Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband, college aged daughter and I recently took a 10 night road trip of the south island. This was one of our favorite places we stayed. The hosts were friendly. The cottages were spectacularly clean. The decor was woodsy. Outside grounds well manicured. Each cottage had some potted plants and flowers. DVDs to borrow. Appliances very clean and modern to cook with. Very quiest location. About 5 minutes from the springs. Can't say enough about the place. Definitely in the top 3 of the places we stayed this trip.

Room Tip: No special tip to add all of the cabins looked wonderfully located. Location was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyJ1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks so much Kelly for your great positive review of your stay with us at The Chalets. We really appreciate you taking timeout to do the review for us. It was great to hear that we were in the top 3 of the places you stayed on your Sth Island Road Trip! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    43
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
168
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived in Hanmer Springs for a three day stay. Jock & Pat met us on arrival and gave us lots of information on our Chalet and the area. We were shown our Chalet and away we went.
The Chalet we stayed in was lovely & clean, all untensils were available in our kitchen, milk or our choice was provided, a newspaper delivered to our door everyday and the view was stunning.
The Chalet is in walking distance of the beautiful centre of Hanmer Springs, again our hosts gave us great advice on restaurants and things to see. Jock & Pat would always say hello as we passed and asked us how we were going and if they could help to go and ask. The Chalets motel is so pretty, the flowers, the available seating placed all around the complex, dvds available for all age groups, the laundry with washing powder made available, your own clothes line to hang up your clothes, towels for the hot springs etc etc. What wondeful people to run a motel it is a credit to them and they obviously love their job and we would totally recommend this beautiful motel to all. We will definitely be going back to stay again.

Room Tip: Family Chalets have swings & trampoline available for the children. All rooms have fantastic ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebird777emerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks so much Kim for writing such a great review of our complex and the way we operate it.
We do enjoy living in this lovely alpine environment and running The Chalets, and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday here again. Your review was awesome ~ thanks heaps and we look forward to seeing you when you are able to come again.
=) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is the third New Years we have spent at the Chalets ( the fourth total visit) and I must say we have once again had an outstanding holiday. Pat and Jock Johnston are wonderful hosts with a stunning facility, sporting breathtaking scenery and a tranquil location. After a full day of tramping,quad biking or whatever your pleasure, followed by an evening soaking in the pools, one came come back to the quiet, sparkling jewel that is the Chalets. Perfect in every way. Reservations already made for next New Years:-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks Stacey for your awesome review of your stay with us, and thanks heaps for taking the time to do it! We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday here again this year, and we look forward to seeing you in 2014!! Meanwhile have a great 2013 =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Chalets Motel. It is a stunning, peaceful location within easy walking distance of the spa complex and retaurants/pubs but far enough away to feel quite secluded. Opening the curtains each morning to survey the gorgeous mountain views and watching the sun slowly set over them in the evening while cooking our bbq steaks, were absolute highlights. The owners were most welcoming and helpful on our arrival and the cabins, spacious, clean and most comfortable.
Hanmer Springs itself and the Chalets Motel get a 10/10 from us!

Room Tip: No. 5 Chalet was secluded with terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Sharyn, we are rapt you enjoyed your time with us so much and want to say thanks heaps for the great review you gave us. Yes, the sunsets can be pretty spectacular here, and steaks on the barby to go with it ~ it doesn't get much better than that! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hanmer itself is a delightful town. Full of caring, respectful and happy holidayers. In this regard, it would be hard for the Chalets to excel and mark itself out. But it does.

We were greeted by a warm New Zealand smile, and the owner showing us the chalet. I can only remember one other place in which I was showed my room like this (The Merrion Dublin). What a great way to start. And the hosts wanted us to be happy, and provided a whole load more guidance.

The accommodation was a typical New Zealand 'unit', but it has to be said that despite being two years old, it felt as if it were brand new:- homage to how clean the accommodation has been kept. The view was amazing.

The coil-sprung beds were nice enough and gave a good sleep, while the hot water was enough for a family of four to have a shower each, and for much more to be left. The only other essential (sun) is outside of the owners' control.

We would come here again. Our only 'niggle' is that in Hanmer itself, we would struggle to justify more than a two-day stay. But then again, we are 'busy Europeans' so maybe a longer stay would bring us back down to earth.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fresh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for your great review of our Chalets and our lovely alpine village. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you that it's not hard at all to stay longer than 2 nights in lovely Hanmer Springs! Thanks for taking the time to write such a good comprehensive review for us, it's much appreciated =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Pat and Jock were lovely, very approachable and accomodating. When I emailed and explained that we were unable to arrive until late evening I was told this was no problem. We arrived at 23.00, milk in the fridge for us and lights left on, plus the heating had been on to warm the chalet for us arriving. The chalet lovely, very clean, seperate bedroom to lounge area, and fully equipt kitchen area. Beautiful views and we would have been happy to stay there for the duration of our holiday had we not been travelling around NZ.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1957Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks heaps Bernadette for your lovely positive review of your stay with us ~ we are most appreciative of you taking timeout to do it for us. We are very glad you enjoyed staying with us in lovely Hanmer Springs and yes, hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the last stop on our road trip, before we returned to Kaikoura.
Beautiful chalet, large and inviting and very quiet. We were there for the night. Very hospitable and quiet location.
Many people are there to enjoy the hot springs and we saw them walking into town to do so.
We decided to do it in the morning, hoping it would not be so busy.

Very inviting town with great shops. Got beautiful Merino wool gloves at The Woolshed Gallery.
I would recommend doing what a woman was doing and putting in her order to be shipped to her home.
Very quaint town. A great place to retire to in the future.
Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
A big thankyou Louise for your wonderful review of you stay with us. Bet you are getting some good use from those merino gloves you bought at The Woolshed now that Canada is in the grip of winter! Keep warm and hopefully we will see you again one day. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing