We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay in Hanmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Hanmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night in Aug , Where meet at the office by the owner who was well presented very helpfull and friendly , She took us up to out Hut we where staying in , On arrival it was nice and warm on the inside and very clean and tidy , Very modern and they have sky tv which was great as we could watch the olympics . The views are stunning but sadly it was overcast when we where there . The unit was very well equipped and the bed was lovely to sleep in . Highly impressed with this place and I would stay here and recommended this lovely place to my friends . Thanks very much for your hospitality . Tim and Len

Room Tip: Rooms up the top are lovely , nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim_Devaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks Tim or your fantastic review of your stay with us. So glad you both enjoyed your stay. Jock and I do appreciate you taking the time to do this great review for us. =) PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    42
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
167
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a great place to stay away from the big noisy city and shaky ground of Christchurch. After two years of hell and stress this break was a must! Waking up to silence with an occasional sound from a bellbird was a delight. Then opening the drapes to see a nearby snow-tipped mountain was pleasant and refreshing. Each chalet was separate from the next which added to the ambience. I will be going back for another stay and seeing the friendly and helpful hosts Jock & Pat.

Room Tip: Most chalets are separate except the larger ones higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks Steve for your great review you have given us. Jock and I really appreciate you taking the time to do this and also for putting the photos on. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
=) PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at Chalets Motel for the 2nd year in a row and it was just as good and special as the last time. It is wonderful to have your own self contained chalet with stunning views over the snow capped mountains. The chalet was clean, comfortable, warm and had was well equipped. The hosts Jock & Pat were so friendly and accomodating and would go out of their way to make your stay extra comfortable. 5 min walk out of town but that suits me as it is means it is more peaceful & quiet.Can't recommend enough and will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We were delighted to have you return and stay with us with your family Penny. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this great review for us. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at The Chalets Motel over the weekend. Fantastic accomodation. I loved the privacy and space, so much better than being stuck in an apartment. The Chalets had everything to accommodate all of our needs. Very comfortable beds, views to die for and friendly hosts. I would recommend The Chalets to all, thanks for making our weekend special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your time her at The Chalets. Thanks heaps for your great review!

=) PAT & JOCK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place was a real find. Thanks to the reviews in TripAdvisor we booked 4 nights here. Stayed in two different chalets, both clean, warm and well equipped. Jock and Pat really helpful, friendly people. It is a little walk out of town (5 minutes at most) but near enough not to matter. There's plenty to do for the kids (trampoline, free dvd's etc). One of the cheapest places to stay in Hanmer and probably one of the best. Especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Really good to hear you and your family had a great stay with us in lovely Hanmer Springs! Big thanks for taking the time to write this review for us, much appreciated! =) PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just back from staying in Hanmer at the Chalets Motel for 2 nights. What a fabulous place to stay. Beautiful outlook to the mountains and over the town from all motels.Very cosy units and well presented. Pat and Jock are just so friendly and nothing is a bother to them. The perfect hosts. We were able to drop our towels back after checking out after going to the pools. Will definately be staying there again and wouldnt consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: No tips. ALL rooms have a beautiful outlook and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEH1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Wow ~ thanks for your awesome review. So pleased you enjoyed your time here. Thanks heaps for taking the time to get onto Trip Advisor and do this review for us. =) PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a power cut while here(whole town was out), loved the 50 channels of sky. Clean and warm rooms, wish we could of stayed longer. We will be back next time

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks heaps for your great review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us in lovely Hanmer Springs. Jock & I really appreciate you taking time out to do this review for us. =) PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing