We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Hanmar Springs”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic stay at Hanmar Springs”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We really landed on our feet by choosing this motel, our stay couldn't have been better. Pat and Jock were the perfect hosts and made us feel really welcome. Pat even brought round some home made soup when it snowed! Would totally recommend the Chalets Motel and would not even think of staying anywhere else should we be lucky enough to return.
Rob and Gillian

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Hi Rob & Gillian, It was great having you and Lucy stay with us ~ we certainly did have a big snowfall that's for sure, but a bit of rain coupled with some warmer weather has seen the last of the snow leave us ~ but there's still plenty on the mountains! No doubt there will be more magical snowfalls before winter is over.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks heaps for taking the time to write this great review ~ very much appreciated! =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    46
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
175
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here with husband and children aged 4 & 2. Children thrilled with the log cabin. Very clean and warm and cosy. Pat very friendly and helpful, for example happy to let us drop pool towels back later after we had checked out. Nice views from the site and small playground for the kids. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thanks heaps Elizabeth for your lovely review of The Chalets. We do appreciate you taking timeout to do the review for us, and we are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our stay at this hotel turned out to be a wonderful experience. Pat and Jock were excellent and friendly hosts, and couldn't ask for anything done better. They even did the rounds with tasty home made soup and bread when it decided to snow! Outstanding. If we stay in Hanmer again we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thanks Laura for your lovely review ~ Jock & I really appreciate you taking the time to do it. The snow was an extra bonus wasn't it! It's just about melted away now but there's still plenty on the mountains to make a beautiful backdrop to The Chalets. Hope to see you again when you can make it back to lovely Hanmer Springs! =) PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Chalets Motel was a great place to stay. The chalet was lovely, the view wonderful, and the service helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thanks Candice for your very positive review, Jock and I do appreciate you taking time out to write the review for us. Look forward to seeing you on another trip to lovely Hanmer Springs! =) Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were delighted with the comforts and appointments of the cabin we were provided by the Chalets Motel. Set in the hillside above the Hanmer Springs resort the views across to the snow caped mountains were spectacular.Many thanks to our hosts Jock and Pat.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin high on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your great review! We do strive to make our Chalets your 'Home Away From Home'! Do appreciate you taking the time to do this review for us. =) Jock and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

It was more by good luck than design that we ended up staying here but we were extremely happy with how it worked out. Very friendly hosts, VERY CLEAN chalets and everything you need for a family break with 2 young kids. Really liked the fact that privacy was respected and so your clean linen was quietly left on your verandah - unlike other motels where the cleaners generally barge in at some early hour that generally isn't convenient. The place was full up but we wouldn't have known it - a very peaceful place. Would definitely recommend it and will stay here again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChchWilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUCKLAND
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Look at no other, this is the place to be, Chalets Motel is where you want to stay if your staying in Hanmer Springs. The Chalet is immaculately kept, with all the necessities you need. Pat and Jock are friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. The scenery from the Chalet is absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend you spend a night here. Pat and Jock I hope to be back in Winter, with the family.

Room Tip: If all the Chalets are as good as Chalet 3 then you cant go wrong with your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SELINAREIDLETELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hi Selina, Tahnee, Ruth & Penaia,

Thanks heaps for this great review you have given us, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We never get tired of looking at the views ourselves! We do appreciate you taking time out to write this review for us, and we look forward to seeing you when there's a bit of snow about! Best Regards, PAT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing