We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely alpine retreat”
Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely alpine retreat”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night stay while touring. The accomodation was a little dated, but clean and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen. The chalets are individually laid out on an undulating site in an alpine garden setting giving privacy and a lovely feel to the place. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and clearly spends a lot of time adding to the native plantings around the site. It was a great pleasure to stay and we look forward to returning for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Judit... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thanks Peter & Judith for your very positive review of The Chalets. Yes, Jock enjoys nuturing the seedlings and seeing them become beautiful NZ native trees and shrubs. Yes, we do consider ourselves very fortunate to live in this 'lovely alpine retreat' and share it with our guests. Hope you can make it down to Hanmer Springs again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
128
171
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Hanmer Springs. Only wished we had been able to stay longer. The location was just amazing - so peaceful with that wonderful mountain air and spectacular views. Accommodation spacious and clean but the most memorable thing about this stay was the superb hospitality received from Pat and Jock . They simply could not do enough for you . We will certainly recommend to friends and hope to return ourselves some day

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsW004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay ~ thanks heaps for your great review. Hopefully you will be able to make it back to us in lovely Hanmer Springs before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We loved our stay in the Chalets. WE had two nights in Hanmer which was well worth it. The accomodation we had was 2 bedroom with amazing cooking facilites, very clean with free parking and use of DVD's. You are offered milk on arrival which was a lovely touch, and great selection of DVD's for those rainy days. The owner is so friendly and offeres great advice on what to do and where to go. The views are spectacular and it's so quiet and tranquil here - I fully recommend this place and worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks a lot for your great review of our motel!! We very much appreciate you taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, and hope you can come back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Amazing hospitality, clean rooms and the best view of our trip so far in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firedoormatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks heaps Matt for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate you posting that great pic of an early morning view from No. 8!
Guess you will be getting to the end of your trip ~ hope you and your friends had a great time here in beautiful N.Z. =) Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our second stay in Chalet 2 (1 bedroom with shower) and just as good as last year but this time we stayed for a week.

Very quiet, spacious enough for 2 to be comfortable and well equipped. An easy walk to the thermal pools and restaurants.

A relaxing place to be and this is a really nice place to stay with attentive hosts who nevertheless do not intrude.

Next year's trip to NZ is already being planned and includes a week in Chalet 2.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you Jim & Fran for your great review ~ we really appreciate you taking the time to do it, and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Best Regards, PAT & JOCK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Quiet site just far enough away from the town centre, but easily walkable.
We had a well-equipped, very comfortable two-bedroom (self-cater) chalet. Good on-site facilities, DVDs to borrow, cheap Wi-Fi, etc.
Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ram1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We really appreciate your constructive and positive review. Thanks heaps for taking the time to do it, and we look forward to seeing you again. Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chalet Motel with a friend and her parents who were visiting from overseas (5 adults). We stayed in chalet #3 which had two bedrooms (one with a full bed and the other room had three singles), a bathroom with shower (no tub), a kitchenette with an oven and a lounge / living room with two sofas. We were there for two nights and found it to be quite comfortable.

Previous reviews mentioned poor water pressure, but I did not notice any such problem and the shower stayed warm even after four people had showered prior. My only complaint would be the double bed which was a bit too springy.

Extras such as Sky, a DVD player, free DVDs to watch (available in the office), a daily newspaper, and $5 a day Wi-fi also added to our stay. Some have complained that the motel charges $2 for a towel for the hot pools, but at the end of the day, it's cheaper than at the hot pools (which, considering the cost of the hot pools, should be made available for free).

We would stay at the Chalet Motel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike & Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing