We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best accomodation ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalets Motel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Rolleston, null, New Zealand
1 review
“The Best accomodation ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

These Chalets are just fantastic! A little home away from home. Within 5 mins walking to the heart of Hanmer township, including hot pools, restaurants, bars and shops. The most wonderful views surrounding the Chalets, a lovely relaxed setting for a break away. Brilliant for groups or family trips, with plenty of room indoors and loads of space outdoors for evening entertainment or the kids to burn off energy. Even a play area for the kids. Wonderful hosts, very clean tidy and exceptionally well presented accomodation. By far the best accomodation I have stayed for a long time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    43
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
168
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tuatapere, null, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

A wonderful place to rest a weary body, great views and great facilities.
This would have to be the cleaniest motel unit I have ever stayed in, a credit to the owners and staff.
So handy to the town centre too. Hope next time we get to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMotel, Owner at Chalets Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thanks Trish for your great review of our lovely Spa Chalet. It certainly is a winner, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do very much appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Best Regards, Pat & Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We decided to stay in Hanmer Springs for the night while travelling round North Canterbury. From the moment we drove into this gorgeous little town we were captivated! The motel was easy to find & as others have said within easy walking distance to the pools, cafes & shops. We stayed in chalet 10(with spa bath), which was self contained, clean, comfortable & very well equipped. Pat gave us a warm welcome & that was certainly a lovely start to our stay. The chalet itself was a great size for 2 with a seperate bedroom & bathroom. The spa bath was a treat but be warned it takes ages to fill (esp. the hot water), so start well before you want to hop in!

The birdsong, views & mountain air were fantastic & would have been perfect if not for the traffic noise from the road just down from our chalet. That said though it was very quiet at night as the traffic eased away & was by no means a constant flow during the day!

All in all we would recommend this motel as a very comfortable, clean place to stay with outstanding service & views!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birmandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

In short, we really love this place. The room was really nice!~ They have sky TV, and fully equipped kitchen. The toilet was clean and perfect for us (6 of us )
The receptionist was really helpful and introduce us the local attractions.
He even guided us with map. Thanks a lot for providing us a nice place!~
one of our best stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spherezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Hosts were exceptionally friendly, but not obtrusive. On arrival we were shown the range of dvd's we were able to borrrow along with books, nice friendly touches. The one bedroom unit (all units stand alone) we had was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, not flash by any means but had everthing we needed. So quiet - the dawn chorus of birds was so lovely. Unobtructed views of the mountains, situated on a small hill so views perfect. A really good place to go for some peace and quiet to sit in the sun look at the view and read a book. Well maintained lawns and gardens. A short walk down to shops, thermal pools etc - so the car can stay parked and no driving worries if out for a drink or two with dinner. Really looking forward to when we can go back for a long weekend. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hosts are lovely. The view of the mountains is beautiful. The accommodation is simple but clean and comfortable. The beds are probably due for an update, but we still slept fine. A comfortable portacot was available. The shower can also be a small bath - which is a great find for younger kids. The playground is a bit tired - but the kids don't seem to care a bit! Other great aspects - inexpensive laundry, DVDs and books available (including children's books).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ughboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I like separate units as then you don't have to worry about noise. Nice size - we had 3 teenage boys with us - they did comment that the couches were too short but they survived!
Clean, warm, friendly hosts and good pricing. The whole package for families! A quick walk to the pools or to the shops - the car was not used for the 2 nights we were there - just as well we could walk as the car was snowed in!
A nice alternative to a holiday home and you don't have to clean the place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chchmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Motel

Property: Chalets Motel
Address: 56 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalets Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Andrew & Vera, welcome you to The Chalets Motel, a unique alpine retreat situated in the picturesque resort of Hanmer Springs. Famous for its Hot Thermal Pools. We offer 10 totally separate, modern, fully self-contained alpine-style chalets, including Luxury 1-Bedroom SPA chalet and 2-Bedroom Chalet with wheel-chair access. Each chalet has its own carpark with space for mountain bikes. All chalets have stunning views of the hills and surrounding mountains. Sunny & quiet. Spacious grounds ~ children's playarea with trampoline and swing. LCD TVs with 50+ SKY Channels, includes all Sport Channels. Free WiFi and DVDs. Easy 600 m stroll to the Hot Thermal Pools and village centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing