We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Forest Peak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Peak Motel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really blissful to return and experience chalet No.3 for the first time. This is in a perfect setting and so private. A most comfortable two nights, really clean and fresh and such an improvement on a few years back. So close to a range of forest walks which are therapy in themselves. A lovely welcome from hard-working Elsie. Probably the best motel in Hanmer but don't tell everyone...

Room Tip: Every unit is different but have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Even when we first booked, the staff suggested a different type of rioom so that we could have more room to fit a travel cot in. Their recommendation was spot on.

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year in pretty poor weather conditions, but the staff couldn't have been more friendly - arranging toys for our children and making them feel special. Room was in great nick and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyirish02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for one night at Forest Peak and loved it. We had the two bedroom family unit (number 7). It was spotlessly clean - the shower and fridge seemed brand new, the sheets were crisp and well laundered and the unit had everything we needed. Our kids loved the trampoline, swing and slide, and the owner was very friendly and helpful, recommending a perfect picnic spot for our lunch and a great place to eat in the evening. Overall we were really impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponygirl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had the best experience with the staff, they are unbeatable. They went above and beyond expectations. They also helped us with bookings for another location and we shall be coming back. Great village and the springs were great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezza111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here and it has been great both times. The hosts are very friendly. Units are well equipped.
It is separate from the township but still within walking distance. The kids liked the swingball and trampoline.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Bijouxtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

with a broken heater (another unit also had this problem) and a noisy fan heater as the replacement (which didn't make a difference at all in the unit), I sat in my ski jacket trying to keep warm. The light outside turned off on a timer so going to bed early wasn't too great. Sleeping on the sofa couch was the stiffest and most uncomfortable place I have ever slept - it shouldn't have been marketed as a bed...but at least I got up early the next morning - I was so cold that I couldn't sleep! The bathroom didn't have a heater/dehumidifer so after a shower the room was misty, with a wet floor. Good news if sleeping in the back bedroom, you had no problem with a bright light, because there was no light at all - remember to pack a torch if you are going to be home after dark and will be walking up the driveway - not the safest option. On the upside, it was a very clean unit, but when you are soooo cold, it simply isn't pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Green123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are sorry you were not happy with your stay here. Your comments have been duly noted and acted upon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Forest peak motel many times and it never seems to disappoint. Very clean tidy and great greeting at arrival. Heating was turned on for us before we got in the room so it was nice and cosy for us. Such a great place to stay for a cheap price! Would recommend it to everyone from couples wanting a get away to families. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Peak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Peak Motel

Address: 4Torquay Terrace, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $71 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Peak Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forest Peak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing