We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately...”
Review of Forest Peak Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Peak Motel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

with a broken heater (another unit also had this problem) and a noisy fan heater as the replacement (which didn't make a difference at all in the unit), I sat in my ski jacket trying to keep warm. The light outside turned off on a timer so going to bed early wasn't too great. Sleeping on the sofa couch was the stiffest and most uncomfortable place I have ever slept - it shouldn't have been marketed as a bed...but at least I got up early the next morning - I was so cold that I couldn't sleep! The bathroom didn't have a heater/dehumidifer so after a shower the room was misty, with a wet floor. Good news if sleeping in the back bedroom, you had no problem with a bright light, because there was no light at all - remember to pack a torch if you are going to be home after dark and will be walking up the driveway - not the safest option. On the upside, it was a very clean unit, but when you are soooo cold, it simply isn't pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Green123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are sorry you were not happy with your stay here. Your comments have been duly noted and acted upon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
33
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Forest peak motel many times and it never seems to disappoint. Very clean tidy and great greeting at arrival. Heating was turned on for us before we got in the room so it was nice and cosy for us. Such a great place to stay for a cheap price! Would recommend it to everyone from couples wanting a get away to families. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite a late booking for Easter we were very happy with our stay at Forest Peak Motel. We found our unit very clean and comfortable and the surroundings peaceful. Loved being on the doorstep of the forest walks and also close walking distance to the township.
Our hosts welcomed not only an additional guest we had but also our pet spoodle.
I would highly recommend this motel and wish the owners well with their future plans for it. We would love to come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Manager at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Comfortable, attractive, spacious and spotless chalet made for a lovely two day stay. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful, providing excellent advice on eating places and information on local walks, which start very nearby. Lovely garden area perfect for children, while chalets positioned so very private feel. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here, and would go again myself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your review of our motel. We look forward to another vist from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was a real pleasure to find that this peaceful and relaxing spot had been saved! Have been staying here on and off over the last 20 years. The last visit in January 2012 was a sad disappointment and I wasn't surprised to see the place up for sale. Thankfully 'regime change' happened in August when Elsie and family took over. Expect a sincere and warm welcome, clean units (they weren't), nice shower gel and handwash and decent toilet paper. Come on NZ, ban than single ply rubbish! Probably one of the best spots in Hanmer and handy for everything especially forest walks. Don't miss these. Easy walk down the hill to the hot pools and if you need a terrific massage contact Dr Richard Roe. I hope the motel goes from strength to strength. Thanks Elsie!

Room Tip: Ask Elsie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaibeartAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your support. It is reassuring to know that we are heading in the right direction. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in one of the three chalets and found them very comfortable and nicely decorated. We liked the way they were positioned for privacy so that the view is out on to gardens rather than the other units. Location is good if you want to be away from the main road through the township but only a 5 minute walk away from the hot pools. The owners were extremely friendly - very willingly showed us several options and were happy for us to go away to consider. We're hoping to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hosts set the scene - warm, friendly, and knowledgable on arrival. Very helpful throughout our 4 day stay. Accommodation in Room 5 very comfortable and sparkling clean, parking at door, seating provided outside door to sit and enjoy the sun, BBQ available for use.
Best of all a great nights sleep in a quiet environment.
Proximity to town - a short, easy walk. New owners are gradually making their mark on Forest Peak so watch out for even better facilities. We would definitely stay again, tremendous family accommodations available, children's playground, affordable and good value for money. Like the recycling option too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4kaitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicki c, Owner at Forest Peak Motel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Greenacres Chalets And Apartment...
#14 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Peak Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Peak Motel

Property: Forest Peak Motel
Address: 4Torquay Terrace, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forest Peak Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing