We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding accommodation - dont go anywhere else”
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marchmont Gardens
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation - dont go anywhere else”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Accomodation is absolutely perfect - wonderful furnishings, heated bathroom floor, toiletries, dvd collection, boardgames, books, homemade biscuits, not just a tea bag - a box full of assorted teas, real coffee, plunger - you name it. Our first night we were treated to a fantastic NZ White and a beautiful platter of cheese, crackers, dips. The view is oustanding - snow still on the alps and perfectly manicured gardens. This place is pure luxury and we highly recommend this place - after travelling to many places around the world - this is the most outstanding. A beautiful breakfast delivered each morning - cooked perfect and the presentation is outstanding. We were made to feel at home. Towells also provided with beach bag to use at the hot springs. The bed is the most comfortable we have EVER slept on.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
155
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Me and my hubby travelled around South Island for about a fortnight on the road. It was my hubbys bday and wanted to make sure it was very special and decided to take 2 days down in Hanmer Springs which is a quieter town around 1.5hrs drive from Christchurch.

I made all the research for a few days and booked 2 nights in Rippinvale Retreat which turned out to be a disaster. We had called a few days ago before the check in date and enquired about cancellation due to the long drive from Queenstown to Hanmer Springs. Without any confirmation the Rippinvale people cancelled our accomodation and rebooked with someone else. So when we got there after a long days drive with the cold that we had, the accomodation was gone and there was absolutely no courtesy or hospitality shown after all that we had gone through. So much for trying to make my hubbys bday special.

So after we got out of there with lot of devastation, we found this accomodation. Bindi was on the contrary down to earth and really made us feel at home.
The accomodation was very pleasant and boutique style with all the facilites required, perfect for a getaway and the view of the mountains and the gardens were just heaven.

I have to say more about Bindi, she made the stay all more special for us with her hospitality and her friendly nature. She made us beutiful brekky and also took extra effort of making porridge for my hubby. We took her bikes and went for a ride, had dinner at the Malabar which was good and also went to the spa.

It happened to be the perfect time off and relaxation for us....and I thank God for not having gone with the Rippinvale.

We would recommend the stay with Marchmont Gardens and would love to visit them again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyoustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was looking for a place to stay for some rest and recuperation, and Marchmont Gardens exceeded my expectations. The room was beautifully appointed, with attention to all the details. Bindy was warm and friendly without being intrusive, adding many little touches which made the visit special. The room was beautifully warm, the view and setting gorgeous, and the shower and bath both much enjoyed. The location was perfect, being a short walk away from the main street, lending itself to peace and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. I only wish I could have stayed longer, and am already planning to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_c_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Delightful, garden based modern luxury unit adjacent to golf course on perimeter of village. Very talented ,considerate hosts who added innumerable touches to a very relaxing break. Cannot imagine anyone being disapointed, total recommendation

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This place is perfect, room is big, bed is comfy bathroom is really nice and the view...spectacular!!! The breakfasts are the BEST! they keep you going through the forests walks, up conical hill and in the thermal pools.

PERFECT, RELAXING,VERY ENJOYABLE:)

Our only hesitation in recomending this place is we want to come back and fear that once people know about this place it will be even harder to get in as you will definately want to come again.. Thanks Bindi & Pete.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blagov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Hanmer Springs on our annual hike to New Zealand and I wish we could have stayed longer. The village is pretty and there are heaps of things to do if you like active holidaying. We stayed at Marchmont Gardens, petite B&B owned by Bindy and Peter. It's just a perfect accomodation from all aspects. There are just 2 rooms and both are quite large, tastefully decorated and have the most magnificent panoramic views on Apls and beautifully manicured gardens. Even in the middle of winter it looked fantastic. Golfers will appreciate the fact that this B&B located on beautiful Hanmer golf course. And Bindy and Paul will give you some insights as both of them are keen golfers. Breakfasts were fantastic, tasty and hearty. They kept me hiking all day. And if you feel like you can't be bothered going for dinner after a long day of exersice, just grab some takeaways and watch a movie from a DVD collection. Quality of sleep is absolutely fantastic and the heater/conditioner is so quiet that you don't actually hear if it is working or not. There are plenty of things to do in Hanmer, we have done Mt.Isobel track and there are many other tracks you can find in the region. I would go back and would recommend anyone who consider Hanmer for their next trip to stay at beautiful Marchmont Gardens. Katia and Duncan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised as we booked our accomodation in Hamner last minute via wotif.com. Bindy was a lovely host and we felt like we hit the jackpot finding Marchmont. The room was beautiful, comfortable, clean and warm. The breakfast was first class, we only wished we had more time and organised to stay longer. I have already recommended Marchmont to my work colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rippinvale Retreat
Rippinvale Retreat
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Property: Marchmont Gardens
Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marchmont Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two purpose built adjoining suites in their own garden ,separate from the main home. Each suite has a small kitchenette microwave no hob but a barbacue is available. Your breakfast is delivered to you at your appointed time to eat in the garden or in your suite, a self cater option is also available.Guests must enquire if they wish to bring a pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing