We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, superb service, gorgeous room”
Review of Marchmont Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marchmont Gardens
Ranked #2 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning location, superb service, gorgeous room”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked at not much notice so very pleased to find such a lovely place for our 3 night stay. Loved Hanmer Springs, pretty with spring blossoms and daffodils still around. Nice easy stroll into town. Arranged with Bindy to bring our dog, a spoodle. Bindy's garden's are fabulous, the outlook from our room of trees, flowers and the mountain backdrop was amazing. Beautiful breakfasts, lovely personal touches like flowers in the room, yummy food treats, and friendly but not intrusive care from Bindy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am glad you all had a happy time in Hanmer including Vera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
156
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

had wonderful 3 days in Hamner Springs excellent host with beautiful breakfasts each day..
Rooms well decorated and very warm with beautiful views.
Underfloor heating in bathroom was great highly recommend as so close to town with plenty of lovely walks with golf course right next door. Gardens a pleasure with plenty of native birds

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello Karen,
Than you for taking the time to write a review. Lovely to have had you and hope you will be back.
Warm Regards Bindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice stay, like my previous visits to Christchurch. I sometimes stay in Hanmer Springs instead of Christchurch as I haven't found anything I love in Christchurch yet. Very comfortable. Short walk to the hot pools. Quite. Warm. Separate parking.
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Best to select the unit with the greatest distance from the house if you want to avoid dim witted ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassy7173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Tassy,
Thank you for bringing to my attention the guests walking in front of your room , I will make sure in future that I ask People in Isobel to walk round the back, I have not had that complaint before.
Obviously you were not completely satisfied with your stay which will make us try harder to meet all needs.
Warm Regards Bindy Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked just 1 night & wished we'd had longer. The rooms are huge, beautifully decorated, warm & cosy and the gardens & views of the mountains are stunning. It was only an 8-10 minute walk from town and Bindy was very friendly and cooked a delicious breakfast. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend to others. Appreciated the special little touches like fresh flowers and home baked cookies in the kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review as you can see it is sometime since we had one and they are essential so that we can keep our good rating up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed at Marchmont Gardens for one night on April 26th. The location is great being a few minutes walk away from the bustle of town. The room was extremely warm and inviting, and the gardens were lovely. The single beds and pillows were very comfortable, and we loved the underfloor heating in the huge bathroom. Nothing was wanting in the room, and we were treated to biscuits and fruit in the room, plus a delicious slice later in the evening. Breakfast was fantastic with home-made muesli, berry compote, croissants, muffins, juice, fresh pineapple and yoghurt! Thanks Bindy and Henry - hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Jan,
Hope you had a great weekend with your friend if you come again look at our Tripadvisor special
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed there in March 2013. Bindy- is a very friendly and helpful host! She has the most beautiful home garden we have ever seen! The rooms are spacious, there is shower in each bathroom (we were two couples so we have seen both rooms), fresh flowers, luxurious bath and shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. There is a possibility to make your own barbecue dinner outside. There is a golf course three minutes away walking, so for those who would like to enjoy a round of golf, it is a perfect place to stay! The breakfast was just over our expectations and treaties at night ( I suppose it was a toffee cake) were delicious. For those, who intend to visit Hanmer Springs Pools ( a must-do!!!), there is a bag with towels. We will surely be back there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pineapple_girl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
You will be back in Switzerland now with your holiday well over. Thank you for staying with us and writing a lovely review hopefully you will be back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We returned to Marchmont Gardens for the third time and it was as good as ever. We received the usual warm welcome from Bindy and Pete Moore and were soon settled into Mount Isobel, our usual room. As always, Bindy produced the most wonderful breakfast, and we felt thoroughly spoiled the whole time we were there. The room has its own small kitchen, and everything you need is provided, even special towels to take when you visit the hot springs. We had a very restful and enjoyable 3 days. We shall return!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tighcasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelins1, Owner at Marchmont Gardens, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Loved the book , will have to find the next two! Sorry not to see you at Christmas but look forward to next year. Thank you again for writing a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marchmont Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchmont Gardens

Property: Marchmont Gardens
Address: 123 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marchmont Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two purpose built adjoining suites in their own garden ,separate from the main home. Each suite has a small kitchenette microwave no hob but a barbacue is available. Your breakfast is delivered to you at your appointed time to eat in the garden or in your suite, a self cater option is also available.Guests must enquire if they wish to bring a pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marchmont Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing