We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well appointed and spotlessly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay in a two bedroom apartment. All the rooms are large and comfortable and very well appointed. We found the beds too soft as we prefer harder beds, but this is a personal choice The kitchen is very well equiped, the apartments nice and cosy and the gas fire gives a lovely atmosphere. As others have said, the owners are very friendly and helpful.
It's probably best not to stay on a weekend if you have the choice. It was quite noisy on the Saturday night we were there - not from the other apartments but from a party in the house next door. They did stop at middnight though and no further problem after that. The Sunday night was very peaceful.
A good choice for Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 301 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

This is simply the best accommodation we stayed in during our trip to New Zealand. The apartment is very clean, good size, and the TV in the bedroom is a nice touch. Cathy and Brian are superb hosts too. It is a very popular establishment too as there was hardly any empty room during our stay. The location is within walking distance to the town centre, and there is a shortcut too.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EG233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We had booked a two bedroom appartment but were upgraded to three bedrooms. The apartments are new and well designed. Our room looked out over a park below and to the mountains. There was an ensuite on the master bedroom and a separate bathroom with spa bath and a separate toilet. The beds were divine. I have never had such a comfortable sleep anywhere. The gas fire place was comforting and it was great to have a complete kitchen. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Beautiful rooms, great service and very family friendly. 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jondoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

My partner and I were blown away by the standard of Village Lake. You can tell from the little touches in the rooms that Cathy and Bryan had put in a lot of thoughts.
The service was immaculate and top notch. Definitely a rarity in New Zealand. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful. We will see you again next year :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarina_s_yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment here for four nights during winter and it was amazing. The apartment was elegant yet cozy. The gas fireplace was my favourite added touch. The underfloor heating was much appreciated in the cold weather too. All the amenities were top notch. And we loved the spa bath too.

The owners were very friendly, they even recommended a great restaurant for dinner on our first night. The service was fantastic, we almost never had to even ask for anything, they thought of everything, they even provided laundry powder so we could do washing while we were there.

I also appreciated that the tea/ coffee(plunger coffe, not just instant)/hot chocolate they provided was fair trade (and delicious).

Great location too, walking distance from the thermal pools and shops in town. Gorgeous views of the mountains from our windows.

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. Was worth every cent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meldo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Our apartment was just wonderful. Everything was beautifully appointed and if we were to have stayed longer, we would have made use of the full kitchen! We wanted for nothing.

Everything about our stay was great except for one major drawback - I would strongly advise avoiding getting a downstairs apartment if there are guests staying directly above you. It was hard to rate "sleep quality" in this review as the bed was divine - it was the thumping from the upstairs guests that either interrupted the quiet evening or woke us up. Sounds travel down and unfortunately this is a design fault not the fault of the proprietors - they were lovely.

Just check when you are booking if this problem has been remedied because if it has - you will thoroughly love staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThysVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
515 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $174 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing