We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent way to stay in Hanmer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Lake Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An excellent way to stay in Hanmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent just the one night here. There were three of us and all units have two or three bedrooms. The bathrooms are very big and well equipped. There is a full kitchen, big dining table and a big lounge with gas fireplace and TV. A very comfortable way to stay. Cost effective for two couples.

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
115
78
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at Village Lake for a the weekend and really could not fault it. Check in was friendly and relaxed, and very helpful. The apartment was fantastic, fire was on, comfortable, warm, clean and every want or need taken care of. Village Lake is number 1 for accommodation in our book ! We wont stay anywhere else when next in Hanmer Springs, book it ! you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiinoz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiancé and I have been coming to Hanmer Springs for our anniversary for ages and we always love to stay here!

It's located right near the pools, restaurants and shops, all in walking distance.

The rooms are large and are always warm! Views of the snow covered mountains from the couch make you want to stay inside all day!
Nice and modern to!

The service is also great and they're happy to help organise some activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arriving in Hanmer Springs without a reservation was a deliberate move as we wanted to check out the town before making a booking.

The first place was fabulous but did not quite fit our bedroom configuration. The owner of that establishment recommended Village Lake Apartments and she did so with a genuine concern for her customers wishes. I thought that was a wonderful action on her part as she gave a genuine opinion that meant she did not get our business.

I will certainly be recommending both businesses to our friends.

The Village Lake Apartments are beautifully appointed with spacious bedrooms, excellent heating and everything to a high standard.

The nights were cold in May and the gas fire was a real asset and the underfloor heating came on automatically to keep us warm.

We would recommend the Village Lake Apartments for your stay in Hanmer. We had Unit 11 on the top floor with a view over the (small) lake and wonderful evening sun.

It's close to town, restaurants and the hot pools. It is also very well built with concrete floors (no noise) central heating and plenty of space.

Just a great place to stay.

Congrats to Bryan and Cathy for a very well run apartment complex.

Room Tip: Go upstairs to get great sun and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the nicest accommodation and best value we stayed in during our whole trip around the South Island. The apartment was large, modern and comfortable and included two toilets plus a full laundry with washing machine and clothes dryer. The ducks tap on the window asking to be fed in the morning and my kids loved walking, Pied Piper-style, down the the duck pond with some bread and a trail of ducks waddling and quacking noisily behind them. I wish we'd been able to stay more than one night and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous time. Great location, well appointed. Clean. Warm. Modern. Lovely outlook. The manager was very helpful. Spa towels provided. Really couldn't fault it. Would go back in a flash and take the family next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gutan096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've visited the South Island on 3 occasions (2 weeks each time) and this was our first visit to Hanmer Springs. What a charming place it is! Lots of things to see and do. Definitely put it on your list of places to visit, and definitely stay at Village Lake Apartments when you go! Near-new so ultra-modern and comfortable, the apartments are fantastic. Lovely outlook, very spacious living area with gorgeous gas heater, under-floor heating in the kitchen and bathroom, super-comfy beds, great towels!! Honestly, the list goes on. GREAT value for money, stroll into the village. Two pubs, lots of cafes and restaurants to meet any budget. Ideal for families, couples, friends, business. What are you waiting for!!??

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing