We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Village Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Village Lake”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at Village Lake for a the weekend and really could not fault it. Check in was friendly and relaxed, and very helpful. The apartment was fantastic, fire was on, comfortable, warm, clean and every want or need taken care of. Village Lake is number 1 for accommodation in our book ! We wont stay anywhere else when next in Hanmer Springs, book it ! you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiinoz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
124
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My fiancé and I have been coming to Hanmer Springs for our anniversary for ages and we always love to stay here!

It's located right near the pools, restaurants and shops, all in walking distance.

The rooms are large and are always warm! Views of the snow covered mountains from the couch make you want to stay inside all day!
Nice and modern to!

The service is also great and they're happy to help organise some activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arriving in Hanmer Springs without a reservation was a deliberate move as we wanted to check out the town before making a booking.

The first place was fabulous but did not quite fit our bedroom configuration. The owner of that establishment recommended Village Lake Apartments and she did so with a genuine concern for her customers wishes. I thought that was a wonderful action on her part as she gave a genuine opinion that meant she did not get our business.

I will certainly be recommending both businesses to our friends.

The Village Lake Apartments are beautifully appointed with spacious bedrooms, excellent heating and everything to a high standard.

The nights were cold in May and the gas fire was a real asset and the underfloor heating came on automatically to keep us warm.

We would recommend the Village Lake Apartments for your stay in Hanmer. We had Unit 11 on the top floor with a view over the (small) lake and wonderful evening sun.

It's close to town, restaurants and the hot pools. It is also very well built with concrete floors (no noise) central heating and plenty of space.

Just a great place to stay.

Congrats to Bryan and Cathy for a very well run apartment complex.

Room Tip: Go upstairs to get great sun and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the nicest accommodation and best value we stayed in during our whole trip around the South Island. The apartment was large, modern and comfortable and included two toilets plus a full laundry with washing machine and clothes dryer. The ducks tap on the window asking to be fed in the morning and my kids loved walking, Pied Piper-style, down the the duck pond with some bread and a trail of ducks waddling and quacking noisily behind them. I wish we'd been able to stay more than one night and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous time. Great location, well appointed. Clean. Warm. Modern. Lovely outlook. The manager was very helpful. Spa towels provided. Really couldn't fault it. Would go back in a flash and take the family next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gutan096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've visited the South Island on 3 occasions (2 weeks each time) and this was our first visit to Hanmer Springs. What a charming place it is! Lots of things to see and do. Definitely put it on your list of places to visit, and definitely stay at Village Lake Apartments when you go! Near-new so ultra-modern and comfortable, the apartments are fantastic. Lovely outlook, very spacious living area with gorgeous gas heater, under-floor heating in the kitchen and bathroom, super-comfy beds, great towels!! Honestly, the list goes on. GREAT value for money, stroll into the village. Two pubs, lots of cafes and restaurants to meet any budget. Ideal for families, couples, friends, business. What are you waiting for!!??

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I booked the apartment wanting to spoil my parents with a night away from Christchurch as I was visiting them from Australia with my boyfriend. The apartment first appeared as in the website. The living areas had a spacious feel and was close to the hot pools. There was a washing machine and dryer, and the apartment provided towels to take to the hot pools which was a nice touch.

After eating out for many nights on our holiday, we decided to eat in and cook as all the utensils were provided. The stove top was erratic at best, with the largest element being temperamental with heat and the second largest could not even manage to boil a pot of water !

The bathroom door lock to the main bathroom and main bedroom did not latch shut which was annoying as the main bathroom was the only bathroom with shower facilities.

The gas log heater did not work. Not sure if it was the heater itself or the power outlet it was plugged into. I guess we were lucky it was not a particularly cold night but it would have been nice aesthetically to have on as we watched our movie, perhaps then my boyfriend would not have noticed the MOUSE run past and in to our bedroom.

My dad and boyfriend were able to corner the mouse as it had jumped on to the headboard of our bed. I rang reception and told them of the mouse. To be fair, the owner did come to the apartment somewhat promptly as it was about midnight and chased the mouse back out to the living area. Unfortunately, none of us were able to catch it.

The owner left a mouse trap and said there was nothing more he could do, stating it was the first one of the season as they come in from the cold during winter. Watch out if you decide to stay here in the cooler season ! No offer of discount was made. No offer of moving to another apartment. So now that we were sharing the living area with our new fury friend, we packed all our belonging and moved them to the bedrooms and closed the door to ensure the mouse stayed out. We never got to finish that movie.

The mouse took the bait by morning but I had to listen to my mother on the car ride home. For the price paid, I would not stay here again. Definitely not the luxury I had hoped for !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlng5kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Ming,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am sorry you had a less than memorable stay with us, we try very hard to make sure all our guests expectations are met or exceeded.
With regards to the cook top being erratic we have checked this and all elements seem to be working fine, the large element you mention that would not boil water is designed to simmer only for cooking soups, stews and such like and will not get hot enough to boil water, these cook tops are designed to work this way.
On checking the bathroom door I do apologise that the latch tongue was found to be a little loose so have tightened that up and is now working perfectly.
Unfortunately I cannot shed any light on the gas fire not working as it was working perfectly fine once it was switched on at the wall.
Mice are most unacceptable in any accommodation and there are vermin barriers built into this building but somehow one did mange to bypass this, once cornered in the bedroom we would have caught it but unfortunately when your boy friend opened the door the mouse did run back into the lounge and under the fire place so there was very little I could do from then on but to set a trap.
As I explained that night we were fully booked so we had no option to move you to another apartment which we would most certainly have done if one had been available.
We act on any queries or problems that arise as soon as they are bought to our attention no matter what the time of the day or night and a simply call to reception would have rectified any problems you may experience. We have taken on board your comments about the cook top and have now placed more explicit instructions in the rooms on how to use these and also explained the function of the simmering ring.
We have also placed into the compendiums clearer instructions on how to use the gas fires.
Once again I do apologise for your less than memorable stay with us and hope these matters that you have raised do not put you off staying Village Lake Apartments in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
602 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Property: Village Lake Apartments
Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing