We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Lake Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This really is a great place to stay. Modern, well equipped and well located. Spacious apartments with good fittings and furnishings - none of the too-often found in NZ "Granny's Furniture" here!

Very comfortable beds, warm rooms, double glazing and a gas open fire. Did not see any aircon for the summer though.

We had a glorious weekend and will return. One note for the owners: the carpark is treacherous when icy. Both my wife and I nearly fell several times and some salt or grit on the car park and surrounding walkways really ought to be applied in such weather.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Village Lake Apartments have that WOW factor from the moment you are shown in the front door by Brian. The 2 bedrooms apartments are incredibly spacious and have a modern design that is immediately both pleasing and cosy, if that makes sense. There is a fantastic feature fire place which warms the entire large open plan living / dining / kitchen area. Kitchen is supplied with quality plunger coffee, tean and milo.

All possible appliances and accessories are included in the large fully equipped kitchen and you could quite easily self cater for an extended stay (although that would mean missing out on some fantastic dining options in this beautiful little mountain village.)

The bedrooms are large and beds are blissfully soft and comfortable to sleep in. The large bathroom has a spa incorporated in the bath and an excellent shower head with good water pressure. All manner of top quality toiletries are thoughtfully included.

The views to the snow capped mountains are breathtaking through all the windows and also the good sized balcony, yet the complex is set back 1 block back from the main street and is peaceful and quiet, ensuring maximum relaxation.

There is a gate (open fence) at the back corner of the property allowing access to the main street via the adjoining Heritage Hotel car park, making the walk to all the cafes, pubs, bakery etc a short 500 metre stroll or so. This includes the front entrance to the famour hot springs complex.

Brian is the consumate host, and provided us with accurate and concise tips and suggestions that answered all of our questions.

I could not fault this property - ticks every box and gets perfect 10's across the board.

NB - there are also 3 bedroom suites fitted out the same as the 2 bedroom apartments except that there are 2 bathrooms instead of just one.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for couples, families, groups of friends.

Room Tip: Park on the eastern side of the car park (ie - against the fence) to allow the morning sun to work o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and loved this accommodation. So comfortable and spacious. We had 2 young children & nanna as well & everything was top notch. Beautiful views & right in the heart of town yet also private & peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank natalie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed with a group of friends in 2 three bedroom apartments. They were stunning with all the creature comforts and more! Our only regret was that we didn't have more than two nights. The kitchens had EVERYTHING you could possibly need to prepare a meal even down to the muffin trays! The apartments were beautifully appointed and immaculately presented. My only suggestion would be that some form of heating would be appreciated in the bathrooms. It was a short walk to the main street and hot pools.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This place absolutely rocks! We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment and it was sensational. We were travelling with my husband and I plus our 2 kids & my parents. This is a definitely affordable luxury once you compare it to hiring 2 or even 3 rooms elsewhere to accommodate everyone. It is located right in the heart of Hanmer & you can walk to the restaurants, shops & pools. The apartment is massive with 2 bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen plus a huge lounge room. There was also a flatscreen tv in the lounge room as well as the master bedroom with disney junior to keep the kids happy! The owners are extremely friendly & helpful and could not do enough to meet all our needs. I travel pretty extensively and am pretty fussy so this place was a definite bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillageLake, Manager at Village Lake Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Hello Cheryl, Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Village Lake and hope you had a safe trip back home.
With regards to the heating in the bathrooms we apologise for the lack of heating, The heating in all the bathrooms is done by way of underfloor heating and on checking the controls in the aprtment you stayed in we have found that a prevous guest had turned the heating off on the switchboard which has been an ongoing problem for us from time to time. To rectify this problem we have an electrician coming in to remove the controls from the individual apartments switch boards and re-locate them onto the switch boards in the office so that we can control the heating from there that way we can be sure that the bathrooms are kept at a very comfortable temperture to the satisfaction of all guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you are on a medium budget this is affordable luxury. We stayed for two nights, tow couples in a two bedroomed apartment for the cost of an average motel. For that we got a very spacious, very well appointed home.

The apartment includes everything (plus) that a standard home but with panache. Kingsize beds in both rooms, spar bath, and robes for the main room along with wall mounted TV.

LCD in lounge with leather lounge furniture (very comfortable), remote controlled gas fire, 6 seat dining table and double bifolds that open up onto private balcony. Great veiws of teh mountains.

Internet provided at nomial cost and great reception.

Staff freindly and helpful.

This accomodation is just a five minute walk to the shops and ten minutes to the pool. But in a quiet street near a lovely pond. The ducks are very entertaining.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose and second floor room if you can. But I'm suer even if you can't you won't be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kassie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment for 1 night for our family, including grandparents. These apartments are stunning! Right in the centre of Hanmer Springs, you can walk to the restaurants, bars and thermal pools. They are spotlessly clean and very luxurious. Fantastic kitchen, fully equipped with all that you need. Gorgeous fireplace and lounge, which looked out onto a lake, complete with ducks, very serene and picturesque. I have to mention how great the owner, Bryan, was too. He set up our baby cot and highchair and even came with a fireguard to protect the littlies, just in case - very thoughtful. Nothing was too much trouble. They provide towels to take to the pools. We did this on the day we left and they said to hand them back before we left for the airport, great customer service. We really wish we could've stayed longer and will be back in the very near future!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
3.8 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Lake Apartments

Address: 1 Rutherford Crescent, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $182 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Village Lake Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qualmark 5* Rated! Hanmer Springs Premier luxury 2 and 3 bedroom apartments in a fantastic location, balconies/patios, spa baths, gas fires.Complimentary daily newspapers (except Sundays)Complimentary use of Pool Towels for Thermal Pools Complimentary use of DVD's Complimentary Swap a Book Complimentary 400Mb daily internet use Complimentary booking Service. Rental cars available on site. Ask us about a 'Late checkout when staying mid week!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing