We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in a clean and homely setting.”
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in a clean and homely setting.”
Reviewed July 11, 2010

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was beautifully clean and cosy. This motel is conveniently located just a stones throw from the hot springs and town center. We felt relaxed immediately and made the most of their large DVD library (as well as the hot pools!). Our room was serviced immaculately and fresh muffins were left for us to enjoy on our return :) We were encouraged to help ourselves so fresh pool towels at no extra charge. No questions were asked when Ali set up his DJ gear in the room for a low key practice (big gig was looming in CHC that weekend!). Overall we were very impressed and felt completely at ease staying at Aspen Lodge. The room was spacious and included a flat screen tv, comfy couch, balcony, cooking facitlities and some lovely little extras :) Would also like to give mention to Saints restaurant where we returned twice during our stay! Yummy pizza and great coffee!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smarty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    52
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
84
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ChCh New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed for 1 night at this motel and found the owner extremely helpful to the extent when asked if we could book out a bit later they obliged. The actual 1 bedroom unit was very clean and spacious with flat screen tv in lounge and wall mounted in bedroom. The king size bed was so comfortable we did not want to get up in the morning. A luxury for us. The little extras placed around the unit made one feel quite special. Close to the hot pools and golf club. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone who just wants to blob out. The only disappointing aspect was the tv volume on sky was set at 50 and made the All Blacks rugby game a bit hard to hear but I guess that is for the benefit of those in surrounding units. Could of gone down the road to one of the local hotels to watch but too comfortable to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capri009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My family and I really enjoyed staying at this motel, it was quiet, comfortable and clean. The host was friendly and helpful. It was handy to amenities. Apart from the shower having little pressure and the bathroom being a bit 'dated' it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazzzzzzzmania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Even though this older style motel has had a makeover, to some extent it still shows it's age. The room was comfortable & clean, the hosts friendly, & several extras such a $2 towel hire v $5 at Hanmer Springs Spa Centre, and a great choice of free DVD's were nice touches. You cannot however go past the fact that our room like most of the rooms had a great view of the carpark!!. Summing up, convenient, clean & comfortable budget accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandKfromS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Owners are quite rude to us. Dont think they appreciate young couples. They also dont like it if you pointed out a fault. Service is just average. Its probably the cheapest motels around though. Sorry, would not come back again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattDelonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed just the 1 night and had room 10 up the back. Good size bed with all the essentials. Nice to see 3 (rather than 2) of crockery and utensils etc. Nice balcony sitting facing the golf course and surprise outdoor seating at the back facing the mountains. A quick 10second walk at the back takes you onto a grassed hill which reminds of sound of music setting (for the oldies). Quiet location but suspect true for nearly all accommodation.
Cooperative and helpful at reception. Easy walking distance to shops at the rear and then into main street opposite springs. $2 charge for towel to take to springs -dearer at the springs who also have lockers.
Only negative are the stairs up to the room.
Also, try the pizza shop in town which also has gluten free. some interesting things at the wool shop.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing