We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top motel 26January 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top motel 26January 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Had three nights here and we chose the best. The owners had thoughtfully put little extras in as previous reviewers said. We had upstairs one bedroom and quite spacious. In the afternoon we came back to fresh baking in our room. The owners did the extra mile and ensured we were happy. Short walk to restaurants, shops etc. certainly recommend this motel. Owners -Well done and thank you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynRTwgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Quick overnight trip to Hanmer to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Stayed at this lovely Motel. Our 2nd visit too. It's just the right size, lovely and clean,has everything you need and great location - easy walk to local bars/restaurants. The hosts are just lovely too. Definitely recommend you stay at Aspen Lodge Motel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed one night in Hanmer on my way back from Marlborough Sounds. With so many motels to choose from I couldn't be happier with my choice. With a lovely welcome, map of the town wrapped in a ribbon, fresh milk and beautiful 'real' pot plants in the room, this was a lovely stay! The owners clearly love their gardens and the free DVD selection was impressive! Free WiFi (not fabulous, but allowed me to check my emails), and above all we got the afternoon sun on our balcony, and a lovely quiet sleep. Ask for an upstairs room for a nice outlook and you are sorted! Clean and faultless in presentation and 'extra touches'. Clearly the owners have thought long and hard about what makes a practical and easy stay for visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, rather than ground floor, unless you prefer no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great motel good location lovely and clean.
Great little touches, a nail file and cuticle stick in pack with a compliments sticker. little try of boiled sweets on the coffee table a couple of biscuits with a compliments sticker on them when you are taken to your room you get given a map of the area. You feel very special and the attention to detail is awesome.
Will recommend to anyone I find going to Hanmer.

Room Tip: All appear to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at a doubleroom and it was awesome!!!! Felt like home....
Clean, quiet Hostel with very helpfull and Friendly stuff!!!!! Simply one of the best Hostel we've stayed at in nz!!!!!
Thank you guys!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great place to stay. Very handy to everything in hanmer. Room was great with plenty of heating. Well equipped kitchen. Clean. The attention to detail by the hosts was awesome. Daily we found fresh baking in the room when we came back. Great value for money

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Hanmer Springs. Close to the pools and restaurants so you can park your car up for the weekend. The hosts are very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Always spotlessly clean and if you stay more than one night Anne bakes you some muffins each day (which are yummy).

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TouristsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing