We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Hanmer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
2 reviews
“Great stay in Hanmer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted to the warmest of welcomes and felt right at home in the homely but spacious 2 bedroom unit. Everything was to the highest of standards and the kids loved the complimentary lollies and cookies, but most of all, the freshly baked muffins! Easy walk to the pools and to town centre.
It is located off of the main road meaning it was very peaceful. Free towels for the pools and a massive DVD selection were bonuses! Thanks very much, we would love to return one day.



Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeffandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our upstairs unit had a nice balcony, although somewhat overlooked by the next door motel complex, and our unit was spacious inside. Amenities were good including complimentary newspaper and DVD library.The hot pools are walking distance and the village is also close by for supermarket and restaurants.The toiletries and sewing kit were good quality.The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the laundry so you dont get noise from the drier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

When looking for somewhere to stay in Hanmer Springs for your winter (or anytime) getaway - Don't go past Aspen Lodge Motel! Your hosts Merv & Anne are so welcoming and accommodating. Fresh muffins, towels for pool, newspaper, huge DVD selection - all laid on. Restaurants and town a 3min walk. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed at Aspen at least four times now and I've always been impressed. It's quiet, clean, and well put together. and the owners do a good thorough and diligent job. Nice touches include the muffins and clearning ice off your windows before you leave.

Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed the weekend - the second time we have stayed here. Short walk to pools and restaurants. Units clean, well equipped and quiet. Hosts very friendly. Too much snow this weekend to use the balconies but stunning views out the back to the snowy mountains. Umbrellas were provided so you can still get out and about. They de-ice your car windscreen rather than everybody putting water on then making the driveway icy and even said we could leave our car on checking out until we were ready to leave Hanmer to save worrying about it. Would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAFLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed overnight here having driven up from Dunedin. We wanted to go to the hot springs and the motel had free towels for us to use. It was late but we could just leave the used towels outside the office when finished. No hassle about anything. The room contained everything a tired traveller might need including a nail file kit! Well appointed rooms with balconies, but quiet. It is about a hundred yards from the main drag and pools. Just right for achieving all we wanted on foot. Beautiful views out the back of the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here with my my daughters 6 and 8, left the boys at home. Perfect location, very quiet, short walk (just a couple of minutes) to cafes, pools. Spacious very clean, very well equipped units and the hosts couldnt have been any better. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing