We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aspen Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aspen Lodge Motel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Away from the busy main street, spotlessly clean, well equipped kitchen.
Good DVD library
Walls are quite thin and noise transmits from ajoining rooms with ease

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Aspen Lodge Motel on Tripadvisor and also your complimentary review of your stay in our Visitors Book. We too, look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.


Kind regards

Merv and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
81
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Less than 5 minutes walk from the pools and cafes.
Friendly welcoming staff, we were very pleased to find a basket of muffins waiting for us upon our return from a day out.
Rooms were clean and modern with DVD player, satellite TV and microwave. Over 500 DVD's to choose from is a nice touch for those traveling with children.


  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmptyseaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Merv and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

For the Thermal Pools and town restaurants this is ideal. We had a king-sized room with all the facilities you need for a nights stay (or two). Very comfortable bed and a small veranda for having you breakfast on - the owners will supply one for you but we might have been better advised just wandering back in to town (2 minutes). Excellent internet access if you need it and a large range of DVD's available to use. All-in-all very good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Hi William, we hope you enjoyed your self drive tour through New Zealand in February 2012. We understand the agency you used are extremely professional and in April this year changed ownership.

We agree, Hanmer Springs is very spoilt for eateries.

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

Kind regards

Merv and anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit, it was very spacious and comfortable - upstairs, so there was a few stairs to climb when carrying the luggage. Car-parking was very tight, and it appeared that some guests had to park on the road. Used the laundry which I felt was rather expensive. Internet access was good.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BMLNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We would like to advise, when we see guests' may require help with their luggage we gladly offer to assistance. We would also like to advise, when guests' arrive with more than one car, management ask that the second car be parked on the street, as each unit is allocated one car park. When laundry facilities are required we give our guests' the choice of using the driers in the laundry or using the fold away clothes line located in each guests' unit or the use of the lage clothes line at the end of the complex.

Kind regards

Merv and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a perfect location towards the end of a sweet little town that is the host for the Thermal
Pools. We stayed there at the end of our holiday to soak up and rejuvenate for our long flights back to the US. I arrived with an aching back and the management discussed which of their available Units would be most beneficial for my recovery. We were placed in a wonderful unit; full kitchen, living room, dining room and it was a totally separate cabin with a front porch and car port.

Room Tip: All units looked attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvader1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
We appreciate your review of your stay with us. Thank you. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Kind regards

Merv and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have now stayed at Aspen Lodge on three occasions and I was not disappointed on this third visit. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the Thermal Pools, shops and other attractions but just far enough away to not be noisy in the evenings. Everything has been thought of for visitor comfort and, on each occasion I have visited, I have received a warm welcome. The beds are comfortable and if I am returning to Hanmer Springs in the foreseeable future, then this is where I would choose to stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want to take your luggage upstairs to the upper units, request a downstairs unit cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Merv and I would like to "Thank you sincerely". for staying with us again. It is our pleasure to welcome you both to stay each time you visit Hanmer Springs. We look forward to seeing you again in 2013 if you should be down this way.

Kindest regards

Merv and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

King size bed, good size room, excellent courtesy DVD collection and close to the central part of Hanmer springs. Has little kitchenette and average size bathroom. Clean and reasonably new interior. We got a good night sleep there. Service was good except for the morning of checkout when the (male) manager was surly to us for some reason...otherwise would have been five stars. Others have commented that the managers were good so maybe it was a bad day? We paid $125 for the room which we felt was pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eas12, Owner at Aspen Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. In response to your remark about management (male), we would ask that you try to understand Merv had open heart surgery on 29 February 2012, a quadruple bypass and is most apologetic of your impression on check out.

Kind regards

Merv and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Motel

Property: Aspen Lodge Motel
Address: 24 Jacks Pass Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Aspen Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing