We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place to stay. Excellent price. Friendly hosts (great home baking), everything provided that we needed, even towels to take to the thermal pools which were very close by. We stayed here one night on a road trip fro Dunedin to Nelson and it was perfect. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Has twin room option which I found hard to find when looking for accommodation in Hamner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flywithmeNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of a Pamper Pack accommodation/pools/spa package offered through the local tourist office. We were given a short list to choose from and after checking reviews and websites nominated Harrogate as our first preference, and were very pleased when they were available. The units are quite spacious with a small dining table, couch, large TV, well equipped kitchenette, and a lovely window seat. Everything was clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable with electric blankets and extra blankets provided, though I think the couch was a sofa-bed and wasn't terribly comfy for long periods (but the TV was easily viewable from the bed). The bathroom is large with a corner spa, though like a previous reviewer we had difficulty keeping the floor dry when showering with no door or curtain.

Fresh pool towels were provided each day, free wifi (though we had to sometimes stand by the door to get a connection) and lovely homemade brownies or slices were provided each day. We were welcome to borrow DVDs from their good collection, which we did. The hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming and it is in handy walking distance to the information office, pools, and shops. Recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffron_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night during my Road Trip in South Island. The owner met me when I arrived and could not have been more helpful pointing out all the facilities of the room, and describing where the pools were - really close, as they are just across the road. There were also towels that could be taken to the pools, plus some home made cake, which was a really nice touch. The bed was very comfortable, and I had a great sleep too.

I found quite a lot of places closed in Hanmer Springs itself. I know I was travelling in low season but as it is basically a resort I thought there would be more choice in terms of food options for the evening. Nevertheless, I loved the Harrogate Gardens and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaxChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, what a great location - so close to pools and resturants. Nice warm room, comfortable bed, fresh baking daily. Great selection of DVDs also. Friendly and welcoming owners too.

We will book with you again next time we are in Hanmer.

Many Thanks

Emma

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We loved staying here. Our hosts gave us a free room upgrade. The location was excellent, because it was quiet and private, but also walking distance to shops, thermal pools and restaurants/cafes.

I'd happily stay here again. Loved the private spa bath and fresh complimentary baking each day.

My only complaint about our room, was that the shower didn't have a door or curtain, so water got EVERYWHERE making it necessary to put shoes on if you wanted to go into the bathroom at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiddyUpHorsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Would be great in the summer with the garden outside the window of the larger front unit we had. Cold wet evening when we were there and it took a bit to warm up the large room. Had asked for access unit but the bathroom was not a success as shower had a glass wall with nothing to hold on to. Was assured the new owners will be rectifying this. Very pleasant spa bath and good kitchen facilities. Good off street parking. The home baking to go with our coffee was a nice touch! Close to pools and restaurants and very pleasant owners - appreciated the help with carrying the bags thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hosts nothing to much trouble... Lovely setting highly reccomended. Comfortable beds... very quiet lovely morning call from dog too!!
Walking distance to springs easy relaxed atmosphere. Easy access to forrest walks safe parking all round brill!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope we will see you again in the near
future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#16 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $89 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing