We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and beautiful surroundings, plus a gorgeous friendly wee dog to take on all the forest tracks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrogate Gardens Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have been to Hanmer a few times before, but this is the best place I have ever stayed. Spacious warm unit set in a beautiful garden, my son who is 12 sooo enjoyed Millie the owners dog . I wish I could put up a photo of the garden in the frosty morning! literally 2 minutes walk to town and pools , but located on a very quiet side street. very reasonably priced too. In the warmer weather the bbq area in the garden will be fantastic. Thank you Phillipa, and for the homemade caramel slice. We had such a great time... will be back again.

Christine

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank happytraveller49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi there.
We are so pleased you had a great stay - Millie loved playing with your son and the walks you went on. It's great you enjoyed the winter stay - come back in the summer when it's sure to be BBQ weather...
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Philippa and Kerry and Millie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Harrogate Gardens Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights at the start of May. Phillipa was a lovely host, dropping homemade biscuits in each day, advising on walks and weather, plus kindly let me take their Jack Russell, Millie, out for a couple of tramps! The rooms were lovely too - electric blankets, such a treat! I have highly recommended this place to others already. Thank you Phillipa x

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate21, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased we were able to help make your stay in Hanmer a memorable one.
It's good to know the home baking and local advice was appreciated and the electric blanket came in handy!!
We hope you will come back and see us when you are next visiting Hanmer.
Kind regards
Philippa and Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

After reading trip advisor reviews, decided to stay here. Located in quiet street and only two minute walk to pools and town. Great value as much more reasonably priced than larger motels in town, yet offered all the same amenities. Our unit was spacious, well furnished and sunny. Loved the window seat overlooking small private garden area. Arrived early evening to find heater had been turned on and two slices of homemade cake in kitchen - extremely nice touch. Has more of a homely feel as only two units on the property, next to the main house. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Hi there.
thanks for your wonderful review - we are happy the experience at Harrogate Gardens met your expectations - hope to see you again when you are next in Hanmer.
Philippa and Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed as a couple in Feb 2012. The unit exceeded our expectations; great value for a reasonable price. We enjoyed a spacious, spotless unit with a lovely bathroom and spa bath. The unit had large windows overlooking the private garden with a barbecue and outdoor seating. It's very peaceful and relaxing yet close to everything. Philippa was very friendly and helpful and the home baking with our cuppa was a nice touch. We'd head here first for our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanmerLLamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review. It's great to know you had a wonderful stay - we look forward to have you stay with us again.
Philippa and Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Cheap rates, great hosts, and a superb location. Away enough from the town and small enough to be very quiet and private, but so close to town you don't need your car for anything. Homemade baking most days for a cup of tea was a special touch, as was the chocolates and rose petals sprinkled around just because the host knew we were on our honeymoon. Excellent rooms, very comfortable and heaps of facilities, including the hosts bbq which you are offered to use!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Greetings.
We are happy you had a relaxing stay with us after your wedding. We hope we were able to help make your honeymoon that little bit more memorable. Do stop in and see us next time you are over from the coast .
Philippa and Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I had a lovely stay here, I was also pleasantly suprised at how close it was to everything. Literally a 2min walk - it was great!
I really enjoyed the garden setting and listening to the birds - it was very peaceful.
Also lovely room, very comfortable and friendly owners :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review us - we are pleased you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the peaceful yet central location.
We look forward to seeing you back again.
Philippa and Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

we have stayed in quite a few places in Hanmer and i would have to say that this is the best. beautiful location, lovely accomodation and fabulous bathroom. Jason even caught a trout so he was happy :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate2121, Owner at Harrogate Gardens Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Sorry about the slow reply - thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It was great to have you come and stay and well done for catching a fine trout - hope the chef did a good job on the BBQ !!! Hope to see you again soon - make sure you bring the fishing rod...
Kerry and Philippa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Gardens Motel

Address: 21 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $94 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrogate Gardens Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harrogate Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Gardens Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing