We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful treat to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Exceptionally friendly and lovely place to stay. We so enjoyed our visit and cannot recommend highly enough. We needed to relax and this is absolutely the place to do it. Amazing breakfast that took us to evening Dinner! Beautiful quiet soothing spot and highly recommended. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodiefond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just stayed two nights in the "Green Room". It was spacious, beautifully decorated and cozy, with views of the snow-capped mountains. They'd even turned on the heater to warm it up for us.
From the moment we arrived, Lindsay and Jo, and Molly the golden spaniel, welcomed us as if we were long-time friends. They showed us around, showed us how everything worked and made us feel at home.
We were given a menu to choose from, for next morning's 3-course breakfast. It was a hard decision, believe me.
Next morning, we went into breakfast in the sunny conservatory, to find freshly-squeezed orange juice waiting for us. Shortly afterwards, our hearty porridge arrived. We had the choice of maple syrup, brown sugar and/or cream to add if we so desired. That filled me up and there were still 2 courses to go! Along with the herb tea for me and freshly brewed coffee for my husband, next to arrive was a warm loaf of swiss bread, with a choice of jams and butter. But wait, there's more! Next was the main course - an omlete with my husband's choice of fillings (salmon, tomato, mushrooms and cheese) - and for me, the biggest order of french toast I'd ever seen. For a split second, I literally thought it was a birthday cake that Jo was bringing to me. It was stacked high with a toothpick holding the french toast, bacon, bananas and grapes, (as well as some kiwifruit and orange for good measure). WOW! I couldn't believe it. I don't know how, but I did manage to finish it all off. Both our meals were absolutely delightful. I can tell you, we needed a jolly long walk and some more soaking in the hot pools after that.
That night we had to choose our breakfast all over again. I ended up choosing the lemon honey pancakes and this time my husband chose the french toast.
Again, next morning, we were treated to the most delicious, decadent breakfasts. It was -2 and frosty outside, but the conservatory was toasty warm. Lindsay and Jo sat down with a coffee with us and made us feel really welcome.
We have been to Hanmer Springs three times now. This is by far the best place we have stayed. The accommodation is superior, the breakfast is amazing and the hosts are the epitome of great South Islanders. They couldn't have treated us better.
We would definitely recommend you stay there, you'll be in for a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks for that so great to have you share our home for a couple of days. Always nice to have nice people stay and share all that Hanmer Springs has to offer. Hope it is not too long before you can come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our hosts were welcoming and friendly.

We had a one night stay here and as soon as we walked through the front door of the villa we wished we'd booked more!
The villa is beautifully furnished and very comfortable. It has a fully appointed kitchen so even if you didn't want to cook but still wanted a 'night in' you could get a take-a-away and re-heat it in the oven or microwave. There are plenty of DVDs to choose from and watch on the projector system from the comfort of your super- king sized bed.

The villa has its own spa pool so just relax and enjoy the night sky as we did. The small deck is a sun trap and my husband and I spent an hour lazing in the sun - unbelievable as its the end of July! There is some construction work happening on an adjacent section but this was not intrusive and finished around 4.30pm.

Breakfast - what can I say apart from WOW. This is a 3 course event. I started off with the porridge - absolutely delicious, followed by home made breads and jams then my eggs Benedict - yum. My husband had the fruit platter followed by the French toast stacked with bacon and banana - we were full for the rest of the day. Would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Don't know what the rooms are like but the villa is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed there for just the one night in the Villa which was absolutely wonderful! The views are to die for, the hosts so friendly and accommodating (including Molly the dog!), the place very clean, comfortable and so peaceful. Now the breakfast - it was AMAZING! We loved it so much we plan on coming again next year and will be bringing the golf clubs too. Thank you Jo and Lindsay! :):)

Room Tip: The Villa has its own private spa pool with a beautiful view of the snow-capped mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, with friends also on the first night. We stayed in the three bedroom cottage...ABSOLUTELY STUNNING! Great accommodation, great hosts, amazing scenery, and the food....well, WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE THE BREAKFAST! We had an amazing three course breakfast served up at a time to suit us, and the flavours....UNBELIEVABLE! Views of snow capped mountains and Hot Spring day passes included in our package deal. Hosts are very friendly and soon made you feel right at home and part of the family. Everything has been thought of, and more! Will DEFO be back and telling friends about this place... A real treasure!
Thank you so very much Jo and Linz, you have really created a niche for yourselves to be extremely proud of! :o)

Room Tip: Many accommodation options to choose from, though each is still very private and individual. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gropp510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Albergo for one night on a Saturday. We were very impressed by the place and the hosts. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable, and the surroundings were beautiful. The breakfast was amazing too! The hosts were very welcoming and hospitable. Perfect place for a weekend break! Cute dog too! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lindsay and Jo made us very welcome in this peaceful, attractive and very comfortable B & B, we stayed in the room with the spa bath, which added to the ambience, and romance of our stay
We appreciated having a selection of DVD's in our room to choose from.
The breakfast was wonderful, and we enjoyed chatting and getting to know our hosts during our meal, would definitely recommend and would love to return again.

Room Tip: Room with spa bath was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.8 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
3.3 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa

Address: 88 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Albergo Hanmer Lodge & Alpine Villas)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $149 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where magic happens .! Legendary 3-course delicious and nutritious breakfasts! This contemporary lodge is embraced by peace, views, & all day sun. The courtyard with lavenders & soothing waterfall is a unique feature. You can enjoy Vibrant Living Retreat famous 3 course breakfast, freshly made smoothies, healthier cooked breakfasts, homemade breads, offering over 10 great choices. Choose from super-king lodge suites or Spa Suite, 3 bedroom Peaceful cottage, Alpine Villa or go self-contained. Other facilities and activities in-lodge is our Day Spa Mountain View Massage and Yoga classes.Vibrant Living Retreat is the perfect place to come to unwind, relax , explore and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing