We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2012 Albergo Villa Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Service and hosts were welcoming and lovely. Breakfast amazing, tasted great! However room and house cleanliness was not good. It was evident the room had not had a good clean for a while - mould in bathroom and toilet lid had what looked like splashes of urine of it. Floor was not clean - needed a vacuum and mop. Bed was very comfortable and villa had amenities to cook and be self sufficient, The cleanliness was a huge disappointment - the carpet in the house itself was revolting - stains and filthy - needed replacing.I didn't feel clean while staying there. I believe it is too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneW902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hi Jayne, Sorry you were not happy with the level of cleanliness. We are a bit confused to the comments about mould? As to the toilet seat we can assure guests our regime is thourough and cannot explain this. We agree the carpet in the lodge is nearing renewal stage and hope to attend to this in the next season. We are pleased you did enjoy other aspects of your stay and hope to have you back. It is a pity you could not express your comments with us as we could have made ammends while you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our third visit to Albergo Hanmer Lodge in as many years. We stayed in the fully self contained 3 bedroom cottage which has breathtaking views of the snow capped mountains from every room. The quality of cleanliness was superb and the ambiance in the Cottage and surrounding gardens so relaxing. Jo and Lindsay are fantastic, friendly hosts. Through their charm and charismatic personalities we were made so welcome as if we were part of their family. To top off our stay we cannot say enough about the fantastic gourmet breakfast. WOW
We have read a previous review in regard to the Cottage and hosts which I feel is a load of TRASH.
We would strongly recommend starting a NZ holiday at Albergo Lodge to be rid of all the stresses of work.
Thank you so much for your hospitality and great service Jo and Lindsay. We’ll be back next year.

John and Maree
Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: All room have a Alpine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our one night at the Albergo Lodge. Jo and Linz were lovely hosts. Although there was snow all around outside, our room was cosy and warm and relaxing after a hectic week at work. The kingsize bed was comfortable for a wonderful nights rest. The room was spotless and clean. The breakfast was magnificent. A wonderful choice of dishes and cooked perfectly.
We would definitely return for another weekend retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilboanne-michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We go to Hanmer almost every month for a weekend. We could not get into anywhere else in town one long weekend. This place was the only place that had 3rooms available. Should have realised there was a good reason. Firstly wotif.com told us price for the 3 bedrm was $229. when we asked owner , he said room is usually $500 but he will give it to us for $400. Could not believe we were getting different deal from wotif but we were desperate and took the rooms. Advertised Luxury, but the whole set up was like an outdoor caravan parked on the lawn. One bathroom shared between 3 bedrooms.The toilet was not separate. No lock on the bathroom door.There were 3 doors you could enter the tolilet /bathroom through. None of them had locks and worst thing was there was a floor to ceiling window with blinds that did not work properly. There was no privacy from the outside. We saw other guests walking around while we were sitting on the toilet. We did not want to shower, too scared of our privacy. we had friends staying and everyone was desperate to use the bathroom the next morning. we had to take turns yelling out to make sure noone opened the door. With 3 bedrooms you would expect at least a separate tiolet.They advertise they can sleep 6 adults in the apartment. Shame all adults have to use the same toilet and shower (over the bathtub), without any privacy.Cobwebs everywhere on the walls. Horrible cheap decor. cheap shop ornaments that was a cluttered mass.some ornaments even had price stickers on the from The Warehouse. Even the snapped plastic fly swat had a plastic flower poked through it and was made into a decoration and stuck on the wall. There was dead bugs everywhere on the floor and in the bathtub. 2 sweaty old pillows pushed into one pillow case. everything stunk of sweat and the whole place needed a good old clean. The cuttlery and dishes were dirty and looked like they were bought from 3rd hand shops. Even the plastic handle on the knife was metled and was given to guests to use. My husband had to scrub the electric kettle to boil water for our cup of tea. In the end we just boiled water on the stove. There was only 5 tea bags and no milk. Something I have never experienced in any New Zealand motel
my toddler ate a few bugs, so don't recommend this place for kids. No sky for the price charged for luxury.
Outside the lounge window, an old bicycle was left to rust, rubbish on the lawn.
The floorboards creeked so my child had a very disturbed sleep.
Towels were like sandpaper. No luxury there either. two old fold couches on wheels with worn out upholstery is not luxury either. I have stayed in penthouses that have cost me $2000 per night and rooms that have cost me $60 per night. When I pay $400, I expect some sort of clean, cosy place. This place was a dirty horrible mess. Please do not book with these guys. Stay away.
When I told the lady I was moving out to move to another motel, she said ok. We packed up and next morning the male owner got really angry and told me that he will charge me extra. I told him that the reason why we are leaving next morning was because of the cleanliness. The lady said we should have told her about the bugs and she would have hoovered the place. Too late.The male owner was a grumpy guy. They should sell the place and go into another profession.
I had guests from England and Auckland and I was very embarrased they had to Experience Albergo.
A month on I see that they have charged $50 extra on my credit card. I demanded an explaination. They did not ask me for my authority for charging me extra. I will take them to court.
Just mentioning we went to Village Lake Apartments afterwards and had the best stay there. 3 Luxury bedrooms with best service for only $350. Best thing was they had separate shower and toilet for kids and friends and another lot of shower and toilet in the master suit. It was like moving to heaven after spending the night of hell at Albergo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rani v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay and Joh... D, Owner at Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments,however I would like to explain to our other guests that the $50.00 was charged to move much furniture back into place when the guest left. Also we should not be expected to pick up soiled nappies that have just been dropped on the floor. This guest aproached us for a refund of the $50.00 or threatened to write a bad review on this site. The review is so factually incorrect in so many ways we really should not acknowledge it. However due to concerns from so many of our satisfied clients we wish to put the record straight. Should any readers have an issue with this I suggest they contact Albergo directly rather than take this review at face value. We are very upset the reviewer was unhappy with her stay as Albergo prides itself on cleanliness and outstanding hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our first two night in New Zealand and it was very nice to stay here. We stayed in the small cottage on the premises and it was comfortable and clean. Lindsay and Jo were very hospitable and the breakfasts were lovely. Hanmer Springs is a nice area, we headed to Kaikoura for the day and it was quite an easy drive with stunning views as a reward at the end of the journey. I would recommend this accommodation we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The cottage is fully self contained and so suits families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebL53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What a fantastic night we had at Albergo. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and relaxed. Molly (the spaniel) was charming and happily showed us around :-) . We had the spa room which was just lovely. It was spacious and had its own patio with sun lounges and a table and chairs. The view was amazing and it was so quiet and peaceful. Only a few minutes drive from Hanmer township, this was truly a piece of paradise. Lindsay and Jo were, friendly, and helpful hosts. They ask you to choose a breakfast time so they can give you individual attention. And boy, what amazing breakfasts they were! Beautiful home-made bread and jams and their eggs benedict was restaurant quality. There was also a guest lounge filled with books, games and music. We highly recommend Albergo as a place to get away from it all and really relax. Without a doubt one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at 13 Bed and Breakfasts/Motels during our trip around New Zealand and Albergo was quite the best. Welcomed on our arrival by Molly the Spaniel, our hosts Lindsay and Jo were immediately warm, friendly and helpful. They had upgraded us to the spa room which was extremely well appointed and comfortable with a bathroom overlooking the mountains and its own patio with table and chairs and sun loungers. Their interest in our travels and the individual attention they gave us was brilliant, including helping us make an appointment at a local medical centre, showing great care and concern. We were able to dry our laundry and were made to feel quite at home like good friends. But we cannot finish this review without mentioning the breakfasts! Jo and Linz ask you to choose a breakfast time so they can give you their full attention. Breakfasts are outstanding with a wide choice of delicious, individually cooked and supremely well-presented dishes. No need for lunch after the 3-course spread of home-made treats! We very much enjoyed our stay at Hanmer Springs and there is no doubt that Albergo was a key contributor. It represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
730 reviews
0.8 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
3.3 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cheltenham House
Cheltenham House
#1 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa

Address: 88 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Albergo Hanmer Lodge & Alpine Villas)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $149 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where magic happens .! Legendary 3-course delicious and nutritious breakfasts! This contemporary lodge is embraced by peace, views, & all day sun. The courtyard with lavenders & soothing waterfall is a unique feature. You can enjoy Vibrant Living Retreat famous 3 course breakfast, freshly made smoothies, healthier cooked breakfasts, homemade breads, offering over 10 great choices. Choose from super-king lodge suites or Spa Suite, 3 bedroom Peaceful cottage, Alpine Villa or go self-contained. Other facilities and activities in-lodge is our Day Spa Mountain View Massage and Yoga classes.Vibrant Living Retreat is the perfect place to come to unwind, relax , explore and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing