We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hanmer Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

What a fantastic night we had at Albergo. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and relaxed. Molly (the spaniel) was charming and happily showed us around :-) . We had the spa room which was just lovely. It was spacious and had its own patio with sun lounges and a table and chairs. The view was amazing and it was so quiet and peaceful. Only a few minutes drive from Hanmer township, this was truly a piece of paradise. Lindsay and Jo were, friendly, and helpful hosts. They ask you to choose a breakfast time so they can give you individual attention. And boy, what amazing breakfasts they were! Beautiful home-made bread and jams and their eggs benedict was restaurant quality. There was also a guest lounge filled with books, games and music. We highly recommend Albergo as a place to get away from it all and really relax. Without a doubt one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at 13 Bed and Breakfasts/Motels during our trip around New Zealand and Albergo was quite the best. Welcomed on our arrival by Molly the Spaniel, our hosts Lindsay and Jo were immediately warm, friendly and helpful. They had upgraded us to the spa room which was extremely well appointed and comfortable with a bathroom overlooking the mountains and its own patio with table and chairs and sun loungers. Their interest in our travels and the individual attention they gave us was brilliant, including helping us make an appointment at a local medical centre, showing great care and concern. We were able to dry our laundry and were made to feel quite at home like good friends. But we cannot finish this review without mentioning the breakfasts! Jo and Linz ask you to choose a breakfast time so they can give you their full attention. Breakfasts are outstanding with a wide choice of delicious, individually cooked and supremely well-presented dishes. No need for lunch after the 3-course spread of home-made treats! We very much enjoyed our stay at Hanmer Springs and there is no doubt that Albergo was a key contributor. It represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A bit of a Hidden Gem in Hanmer Springs.We wanted to get away from it all and relax before getting back into another years work.Well Albergo delivered on this.Lindsay ,Jo & Molly were great hosts.They were there when you wanted a chat over coffee and interested in you.Very much people people but not in your face.By staying for five days I just about managed to eat my way thru the breafast menu .The three courses set you up for the rest of the day and if you see the photos you will see why everyone raves about the presentation and great selection.From home made bread & jams to restaurant standard cuisine.
The room was a good size with doors out onto your own patio with table & chairs and sun loungers.The bathroom was large with big shower and a spabath with mountain views.

You are only five minutes from the Hamner Springs pools boardering the golf course.The place is set on a large block of nicely landscaped land that you see no other homes,have mountain views ,hear nothing of or see other guests .It is more a Retreat and we spent as much time sitting in the sun porch as we did in the Hamner pools.We were spoilt as we had five sunny hot days.
As a destination we found Hamner had everything and is a great place to relax.A bit more upmarket from our last visit in the 70's.The pool complex is massive with the new childrens play area and adult only aqua therapy pools (the best)A number of very good Bar's, restaurants,bakery & Take Away's.Would be nice to go back in the winter to see the snow on the hills.
Tip;Get the two day pool pass and if you wanted to go twice in a day you can get a $5 same day return for pools.

Room Tip: Spa unit for couples or Hot Tub unit for two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIWIKEITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an amazing time. We upgraded to the spa suite with all the creature comforts you could hope for including our own private patio area with seats & sunloungers....shame it rained when we were there though but it didn't detract from the overall experience. There is a lounge with books, games & a piano. Our hosts Lindsay & Jo went out of their way to ensure you had the perfect stay & were amazing hosts, we left feeling part of the family. Molly was simply gorgeous & was so excited to meet and greet you and show you to your room. Breakfast was a huge 3 courses.....what a way to start the day with too many delicious options on offer!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenusNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent just a night there, but it was really worth and wishing to spend more time. The breakfast was lovely, and also the room and the views outside. Great service!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYD_Pilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Lindsay & Jo are friendly & down to earth and made us feel welcome. Our room was private & spacious with a lovely view to the snow capped mountains. We loved the gardens & the sitting room with its range of musical instruments and only wished we had more time to enjoy the place. We arrived very tired but left refreshed & relaxed. :)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I cant rate albergo highly enough. Friendly hosts, amazing brekky, clean spacious room a wonderful bathroom. We stayed here 2 nights to kick off our honeymoon and what a way to set a standard. Would recommend albergo to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marchmont Gardens
Marchmont Gardens
#3 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rippinvale Retreat
Rippinvale Retreat
#2 of 15 in Hanmer Springs
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa

Address: 88 Rippingale Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand (Formerly Albergo Hanmer Lodge & Alpine Villas)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $152 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where magic happens .! Legendary 3-course delicious and nutritious breakfasts! This contemporary lodge is embraced by peace, views, & all day sun. The courtyard with lavenders & soothing waterfall is a unique feature. You can enjoy Vibrant Living Retreat famous 3 course breakfast, freshly made smoothies, healthier cooked breakfasts, homemade breads, offering over 10 great choices. Choose from super-king lodge suites or Spa Suite, 3 bedroom Peaceful cottage, Alpine Villa or go self-contained. Other facilities and activities in-lodge is our Day Spa Mountain View Massage and Yoga classes.Vibrant Living Retreat is the perfect place to come to unwind, relax , explore and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vibrant Living Retreat & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing