We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$99
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$93
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
$106
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
$104
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lake Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
$173
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
$120
$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
231
66
37
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
66
37
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerhot tubgravel roadgas firevenisongenerous in sizeon arrivalhuge bedromantic getawaysnowy mountainsshower headnew zealandprivate patioour wedding anniversaryhanmer townshipoutdoor areapeaceful location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 357 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I was impressed with Braemar as soon as we arrived. My husband had stayed at Braemar a few months earlier for a work conference and had told me how luxurious it was and he was right. Our room was spacious and beautiful, with a glorious gas fire that is perfect for relaxing in front of and a deck with a lovely view. The huge bed was very comfortable. Our enormous bathroom was also a delight with a deep spa bath plenty big enough for two and a great double shower.

We had breakfast and dinner (Braemer doesn't do lunch) and were impressed with the presentation, flavours and service. The Lodge's lounge is an attractive area to sit in and read the paper, with an open fire and good selection of games and books.

We will definitely return to Braemer the next time we need a luxury escape.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_K_Castiglione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We spent a cold saturday night here in a gorgeous room with a gas fire in the sitting room and jacuzzi on the balcony. The service was lovely, the room was amazing with possibly the largest bed I've ever slept in. The view from the balcony was breathtaking, looking over the plains and then up to snow covered mountains. Tea in the restaurant was wonderful, delicious food and skillfully prepared. The restaurant feautires a number of local wines and waiting staff were great at matching them to the food. Shame we only had one night there ...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stolistyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We booked an overnight (exclusive of spa services) because of the property's proximity to Hanmer Springs through Expedia and got a great deal, nearly 70% off the regular rate. As it turns out, Maura Springs, about 40km down the road is the better place for spring action, but there are few if any places to stay nearby. Our primary interest in the area was the Cantebury wine region, which we were pleased by even though only a handful of wineries were open.

Fortunately we had a mid-week stay during the low season and were the only guests. Staff was in every way amenable to our needs and the local seasonable menu offered guests and locals alike a first class two-course meal and wine pairing at a ridiculously low price. The room was the largest of any we encountered and and had a full size two-person jacuzzi separate from the shower (unheard of in NZ bathrooms). The bed was a great sleep and the concierge saw that we had everything we needed.

HIGHPOINT: This is a quiet exclusive retreat with fewer than 30 rooms. Privacy was assured.

CONFUSING: A car/car service is essential; Hanmer Springs is still several miles away, but the Lodge won't outrightly tell you that your best options for dining are on the property.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whattorent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

New Zealand television used to run an advertisement imploring: "Don't leave home until you've seen your own country." Well, I plead guilty to ignoring that advice.

Travels as a freelance writer have taken me to luxury resorts and lodges in Malaysia, Australia and the South Pacific, but I have to say ---cross my heart and swear to die ---that 'Select Braemar Lodge and Spa' is right up there with the best of them.

Located near the famed 'healing' waters of Hanmer Springs, at the foothills of the Southern Alps, on the east coast of New Zealand's South Island, the Lodge enjoys an elevated position some 400 metres above sea level.

It commands a sweeping panoramic view of a tranquil Hanmer Valley and spectacular mountains beyond. There's nothing ostentatious about the Lodge ----rather, the reverse.
It's charm and appeal rely heavily on floor-to-ceiling windows, stretching the full width of suites, lounge and dining room to embrace the spectacular landscape.

'Braemar' offers 24 spacious suites oozing creature comforts. They come in two sizes,
60 square metres or a massive 80 square metres. Beds are super Californian king-sized and a gas fire and under-floor heating provide an additional incentive to relax before a large flat TV screen.

Elegant marble bathrooms are equipped with spa bath and double showers and private hot tubs are also available on individual verandahs.

Spa treatments range from traditional and therapeutic to premium beauty treatments and there's a studio gym, relaxation room and hydrotherapy treatments too.

An innovative a-la-carte menu features fresh fish, local gourmet meats and the freshest of vegetables, herbs and fruits. The chef gets a big tick of approval, as do the friendly but non-intrusive staff. House keeping is immaculate.

Activities nearby? For the young at heart there's bungy jumping, river rafting, quad biking and guided horse rides. For those with creaking bones, like myself, there's helicopter and Cessna flights, wine tasting tours and, of course, thermal pools at Hanmer Springs ---a mere 10 minutes drive away.

I thoroughly recommend.

MikeyNorthOtago

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyNorthOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here for one night en route to our next stop. The hotel was in a beautiful location, although anyone wanting specifically to go to the springs at Hanmer might want to consider somewhere nearer, but for our purpose it was ideal. Our room (a suite) was huge with a great balcony overlooking the beautiful countryside (although in a couple of years' time, those big trees are gonna block the view...)
On arrival in the early evening, we went to sit on the outside deck to admire the view, only to find that the piped music from the restaurant was drowning out the birdsong! Piped music is bad enough in restaurants, but on the outside decking? Who wants to hear pop music when you can listen to nature - and this was supposed to be a relaxing spa as well!!
We spoke to the very pleasant manager on duty, and she told us that the whole sound system was linked together, and that they couldn't turn it off, although she did get it turned down.
We ate in the restaurant, which was one of the most expensive of our trip, but then we were in the middle of nowhere. Also, the service both at dinner and breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetWalfordOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director09, Director / General Manager at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Dear Janet
Thank you for your comments on Select Braemar Lodge. We take our guests needs very seriously and agree with you regarding hearing nature outside not piped music. I have had our maintenenace man disconnect the pa from outside so now you and everyone else can just hear our wonderful sounds of nature here in picturesque Hanmer Springs.
Yours truly
Tony Balch
Director / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews