We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS RETREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS RETREAT”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

SENSATIONAL is what my husband and I would say about our recent luxurious 3 night stay at this fabulous peaceful resort. We were very fortunate to be staying in the mega-sized Braemar suite with its own private outdoor spa and beautiful outlook over snowcapped mountains. The huge room was very well appointed with tasteful furnishings including gas fire, and importantly the mega-sized bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was equally large with a huge self cleaning spa bath and double shower. The stay was so peaceful we were unaware of other guests until we met in the lobby or dining room.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the dining top-class – very flavoursome with a real flair for presentation – we very much looked forward to our meals and made a point of requesting our compliments be passed on to the chef.
Our package also included relaxing spa massage treatments from the impressive private wing of the spa rooms, champagne and delicious anti pasta plate. We would highly recommend the resort for a quiet romantic get away or very relaxing retreat.
It is only a short drive into Hamner Springs where we enjoyed the hot pools and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    57
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
236
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had arranged our night away for our 16 wedding anniversary without my husband knowing. When we arrived we were very impressed with the room, as I had booked one with private spa on balcony. We have done a lot of traveling and this would have to be one of the best rooms we have stayed in. I had organised and anti pasta platter for when we arrived after being shown to our room the receptionist returned with our platter. Which was quite nice. My husband and I were sitting down relaxing in front of the gas fire when all of a sudden the door was opened by a staff member, then he realised the room was occupied he closed the door quickly. the empty anti pasta plate was not removed from our room it was still there when we checked out. We dined in the restaurant and it sort of went down from there the breads tasted of a smokey flavour, my risotto was just warm and my trim mocha was warm. So hence was not impressed. The next morning we checkout and went into Hanmer for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine3Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thanks Christine3Brian for your 5 star overall rating and I am sorry about the little failings that let us down. As a Senior reviewer, our delivery should match your exacting standards and we obviously didn't on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are beautifully appointed with central heating and a gas fire. All rooms have great views out over to the mountains. The dinner menu is excellent and a good wine list. The choice of spirits for predinner drinks was a bit limited.

Room Tip: Check what evil deals are on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband had arranged a nice
' surprise' for me of a relaxing weekend for us, first time without children for 5 years.
Upon checking in at the hotel, they had cancelled our reservation as the package was not pre-paid. This was not advised to my husband at time of booking or in their email of confirmation, which it should have. The manager on duty did not admit any liability for their mistake and repeatedly blamed my husband for not reading the emails or listening to phone messages. It became apparent later that the email address they had on file was incorrect. Lord knows what phone number they had on file, but we are 100% sure that we didn't get a message. Long story short, I'd say all are details were stuffed up.

However after a while a room was sorted for us.

Room was nice and big which is the norm for the hotel. We had a room with no outdoor spa, as he thought a spa bath was enough, unfortunately this didnt work. (We were not aware of this)

The bed is a large Californian king comfortable, warm, nice gas fire, balcony. Tea/coffee facilities, Plunger coffee and real milk (not uht) which was nice.
We paid for a lite breakfast which had a few cereals and fruit, yoghurt, juices, crossiants, muffins and toast. Nice jams. Tea and coffee. A cooked breakfast was also available.

We found the general staff were friendly.

We had a relaxation massage at the spa and the lady (Japanese) was lovely. Very professional. Very friendly. Offered us a tea after in the relaxation room.

Approximately 10 mins out of town on a gravel road. Nice out look over towards Hanmer.

Uncertain whether we'd go back. Management would have to change their stance towards the very people that allow them to remain in business (I.e. the customer).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tresag7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We thank tresag2701 for their positive comments regarding their stay and are obviously disappointed that they felt we handled their reservation badly. They had booked one of our Suite As specials which are a discounted price and pre-payable but unfortunately the credit card they gave declined so I personally rang the mobile number on file which was advised by telecom to be out of service and then sent an email to the email address on file but we received no reply back. We therefore advised in an email that the reservation had been cancelled. When the guest arrived to check in, a room (a superior 80m2 Medway Suite) was quickly made ready in less than 10 minutes and the reservation correspondence shown to them. We are naturally sorry about the problem with the bath but as this was the last room left in the hotel we could not make any substitution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'll start with an 'unfortunately'; we only had 1 night here. This was the best hotel during our 4+ week trip to the NZ, Ausralia & Fiji. Check in for our group was swift and efficient, with a welcome chat from the owner. Everything about the place speaks of quality. I hope my photographs show this. The public rooms are not vast, but are tastefully furnished. Our room (Which was typical, according to others in our group), was vast! The furnishings were excellent, the bed really comfortable and the bathroom, truly amazing. All the staff were really friendly. We felt for the two young waiters, who had only recently arrived at the hotel. They struggled a bit with serving a large group with breakfast, hence only 4* for service. I almost feel guilty putting in that one negative. A brilliant hotel, worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Absolute luxury, fantastic service.

We had one of the spa and spa bath units, which was large and romantic. Perfect for a weekend away.

Service was excellent and personal, and things like the in room gas fire was just lovely. The bathroom has to be seen to be believed - very very nice.

The beauty spa was also excellent - we had a couples massage and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Whilst this review relates to the accomodation, we were disappointed by the restaurant. The food was good and solid, but just didn't have the wow factor - it simply wasn't that flavoursome. I'd recommend heading to no 31 for that special dinner....

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We thank NZ_snowboarder for their 5 star review. and I'm obviously sorry they didn't find our food flavorsome enough. Our chef couple are now back from their annual vacation and I'm sure you will find their new winter menu will offer the best of local produce and flavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent staff and very friendly. Rooms were very spacious and the bed was very comfy and large. We had plans already made in Hanmer for dinner so we did not eat at the restaurant although we will make plans to eat there next time we stay. The lodge is about 5-10 mins drive to Hanmer. The spa's in the room are a great idea and really cool! We will return and will recommend Select Braemar lodge to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or book a room with a balcony. Little higher up and excellent views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Property: Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing