We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Living!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury Living!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

the gravel road puts you off and makes you feel as if you're completely driving in the wrong direction into the middle of nowhere, but dont be deterred Braemar is tucked in there!

we were checked in by a friendly smile and even though we arrived early we were given keys right away

we were shown to the room and shown how the room works and the amenities

the first thought when walking in is just WOW

the extra factor is definitely there, we were in room 1 which is 80sqm which is extremely large for hotel size!

really clean room and modern furnishings, double jet showers definitely new to me! HUGE spa bath in the room as well as on private patio, the spa did take about an hour to fill up though and was a bit confusing to work...even with printed instructions

the staff wrote us a lovely card to help celebrate our anniversary which was nice

nice smooth trip, didnt get to dine as they had a private function which was a bit of a bummer, oh well maybe next time!

Room Tip: make sure your car is well fit to travel along gravel roads, bond is hefty at $200+ a night, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_little_asian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you a little asian for your positive comments on your stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed our little touches. We would love to have the road tarmaced but in a way it would spoil the sense of getting away from it all which is what the Lodge is all about. Hope to see you back again soon so you can enjoy a delicious dinner with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    53
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
219
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

A large suite with comfortable king size bed, warm and calm. Bathroom is great with lovely spa bath and nice showers. There is a good restaurant there as well. The only thing I did not like was the gravel road to the lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentunnel, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Had one night here.Booked a 1 hour massage,dinner and breakfast.Suite was massive,and the spa and twin shower a real treat!!Fine food,attentive and friendly staff,and a massage that was magnificent!!Well out of the way of traffic and is very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Just had the one night at Braemar and overall it was lovely.
Firstly the staff were very friendly and efficient.
Secondly our spa suite was really nice. Very large and well maintained with a very comfortable king sized bed.
There was a spa on our balcony and was clean.
Huge spa bath in bathroom too.
Good mini bar tea coffee facilities.
Restaurant food acceptable but not sensational as it should be for the cost.
Delicious dessert but beef and lamb mains over cooked and good cuts of meets almost ruined. Good selection of vegetables and well seasoned and presented.
The extra piece of rump supposedly slow cooked not good and not necessary on dish. If the beef and lamb had been cooked medium rare as requested then I would hv been very tempted to give an excellent result.
Will return

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MVS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We loved our stay at Braemar. The secluded setting is great, you are a little way out of town but that didnt bother us. The room was very spacious and all the features blew us away with the gas fire, massive bed, ipod dock, free wifi, spa bath and lovely toiletries in the massive bathroom. The food in the restaurant was amazing, awesome presentation and delicious! All the staff were very friendly and attentive. The $100 voucher we were given on checkout will definately be used, I want to return again soon :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location, impeccably clean and tidy.
This is our third stay in the last year
Beautiful rooms, fire was roaring and the bathrooms are stunning.
We went with two other couples and had an amazing time.
Loved dinner and breakfast
Well done

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

As an extensive traveller this was the best and biggest bedroom and bathroom I have ever stayed in. Superb with all the facilities you could want. Very comfortable bed and quiet room. Yes it is a little way out of town, so you do need a car, but still in my view well worth it. Not cheap but you know the price when you book so you know what to expect. Only had the light breakfast which was included in our rate, which was perfectly adequate. Seemed very quiet, hope it's doing alright! it deserves to.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Property: Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing