We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We were upgraded to a Deluxe Spa Suite. The room was very comfortable and cosy for the chilly nights. The room included a private outdoor spa on the balcony, an indoor spa, and 2 person shower. Sitting in the outdoor spa and enjoying the alpine air was our evening ritual.

The staff were great with special mention to Tony the owner and the staff in the restaurant.

We're looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indulgent_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

we live on a busy road in chch and to stay at this peaceful lodge was bliss.
staff were so amazing, the massage we had was divine.
the food was superb quality.
the room itself was luxurious and huge with such a comfy bed.
the bathroom was huge, with an amazing spa bath.
if its a beautiful getaway you are looking for, dont look any further...
trudy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited with our 2 small children and stayed one night in a medway spa suite. Wow what an amazing place to go, you feel like you step into another world from when you get welcomed in the front doors until when you leave. We enjoyed a spa on our front patio and had a lovely meal in the restaurant, with the chef making a special dish for our children too. The room was luxurious and very spacious, plenty of room for 4 of us, and an amazing clean and sparkly marble bathroom ... The staff were kind and informative and made our children feel welcome rather than a hindrance. We will definitely return one day soon, and try out the spa facilities and maybe this time fully relax in the beautiful surroundings.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank RollyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was the most restful one night break we have had for a long time, this place is three kms of the main road 7 kms before you reach the township. What can I say, for us, being in the (hmm) older age bracket, it was great. On arrival, lovely well mannered staff greeted us, explained everything, showed us around, then on to our luxurious room, the meal at the restaurant that night
was faultless, and once again, wonderful table service, (could I get used to that treatment) everything was very clean and neat, in the morning a lovely breakfast was consumed, then later on, the relaxing massage was had, wonderful. Thank you to all the staff and management for this mid week break. Could I mention, we thought it was the best time to go, also the hot pools were not quite as busy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casino69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel!

The bedrooms are huge and luxurious. The shower had at least 4 jets of water coming out (and there was also a spa bath). We had a room with our own spa pool on our deck (the rail is glass so doesn't impose on the view). The hotel is is very quiet!

The meal in the restaurant was of a very high standard but was expensive.

The views in the bedroom and restaurant are to die for! Very relaxing. The town is only a ten minute drive so we went into town and had a drink before dinner. There is also a lounge for guests to use.

Good service overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is an outstanding property set on a mountain overlooking Hanmer Springs. Huge suites, covered patios, some with hot tubs, lush baths, etc., however staff could use a bit of training in service. Our group of 23 people arrived for a two night stay after having been traveling for 21 days. Naturally the first thing we did was try to book a massage--this is a spa, right? We were told the massage therapist was off the next day and the only one from town who came out was already booked. We were served a nice dinner and a lovely plated breakfast the next morning. At breakfast we were asked if any of us planned on having dinner that evening because the chef hadn't had a day off and would be off if possible. No one opted to stay for dinner, which meant that there was also nothing available for lunch. This is in a remote location. When housekeeping refreshed our room, they forgot to leave any bathmats which were certainly needed in the beautiful bath with large jetted tub for two and over sized shower. As we went out to dinner, we stopped by the front desk and asked for bathmats. We received a sincere apology and were told they would be delivered to our room. After returning, we found no mats and tried to call the front desk only to find all staff had left for the day. Breakfast the second morning was an exact duplicate of the first morning's. If this were an ordinary "run of the mill" hotel, we wouldn't have been surprised at any of the above incidents, however, given the fact that this is such an outstanding facility with prices to match, we were disappointed at the service level. I still gave it a four star rating, but be aware that you should book any spa treatments prior to arrival and expect to drive into town to have dinner if you happen to hit the chef's night off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director09, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

We thank your reveiwer for their glowing comments on our property and were only sorry they felt our service levels were lacking on this occassion. Hanmer is primarily a weekend destination and staff tend to have their days off mid week. Accordingly we do stress the need to book in advance for spa treatments and on this occassion we were unable to accommodate your reviewers request at short notice. Regarding dinner, the group chose not to eat with us on the second night and instead to check out the Hanmer bars, cafes and restaurants. A limited lunch time menu of antipasto platter, cheeseboard, soup and salad was available but not a full menu. Naturally we apologise for the lack of replacement bath mats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

On a trip up through the south island we decided to stop overnight in Hanmer Springs, we had stayed in Hanmer before but not as this hotel. We booked late on a saturday afternoon for that evening and the booking process was smooth and you get quite a few options when booking! We arrived to a fantastic location. If you want to stay in town then this won't be the place for you, but if you are looking for a peaceful location away from it all then this is just that!

On arrival at the hotel we received a fantastic greeting and were shown around the facilities. We asked at the time about un upgrade to a Spa room which we got at a great discount as they had an offer on at the time. The room was large with a lovely comfy king bed, well decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was huge.

There were a couple of points that let the room down, the shower head was spraying slightly from the connection and the leather chair in the sitting room had a missing button. There were a couple of other minor points that stopped it from being 100% perfect but otherwise everything else was superb.

We ordered a lovely cheese platter to have in our room with the bottle of port supplied in the mini bar (the mini bar prices were fairly priced too) and enjoyed an evening in, enjoying the spa and clear skies!

I would definitely use this hotel again on another trip to Hanmer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Rob_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $165 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing