We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and tranquil.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Relaxing and tranquil.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having just completed a 30 hour journey, we had a brief 2 night stay at Braemar Lodge last month. It was quite cold when we arrived but the living fire in the bedroom really cheered us up. The bedroom was large and had a lovely mountain view. The bed was comfortable and altogether the accommodation was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt quite at home. We ate all our meals in the hotel as the food was fab! There was a wide choice and I think between us we sampled most things on the menu. Each dish was like a work of art! There were very few guests when we stayed so it was a little lacking in atmosphere but still we had a most enjoyable stay. We would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millyomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    56
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
228
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived Christmas Eve for a two night stay. The experience met all expectations , from suite, scenery, peacefulness , pleasant staff to Christmas lunch. Lunch was beautiful tasting and presented. Loved the lambs walking past rooms and quails racing around garden. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaBChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped on the night of her birthday. I asked them to put a bottle of champagne in the room but they went above and beyond and left a card wishing her happy birthday as well. Then when we ate in their restaurant they also gave us complimentary champagne sorbet personalised with a happy birthday message. Each employee we dealt with was excellent and I can't recommend highly enough as them going the extra mile made my girlfriend feel great on her day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenSatchwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent one night at Braemar Lodge and thoroughly loved it. From the quiet and peaceful setting, the spa outside on the balcony, the large double spa bath, the large luscious bed, the electric fire ........ We ate dinner in the restaurant, and the food was divine. We were somewhat surprised that the waitress didn't ask about how we wanted the steak cooked, and that she seemed rushed so that she didn't wait to find out if there was anything else we wanted, however the taste of the food far outweighed this. We also had breakfast in the restaurant which was a nice continental breakfast spread including croissants and muffins. The only thing we found at breakfast on a beautiful sunny day was that it was lacking fresh air with the double glazing and immense insulation! We would definitely recommend this as a for a getaway for couples.

Room Tip: The room we had down the far end from the restaurant was impressively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TischlerAndHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Select Braemar Lodge and Spa and were totally blown away by the whole experience. The service was excellent, our room more than we expected and the food was so beautifully presented and cooked that each mouthful was to be savoured. I cannot recommend this highly enough for anyone looking for a really special treat.

Room Tip: From what we could see every room is totally secluded with views out over to the mountains. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Rooms are enormous and they have bathrooms you could only dream of. Very clean and staff very helpful and friendly. A bit off the beaten track. I am very particular about where I stay, and definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionlytravelfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We're heading off to Braemar for our fifth time and thought it about time we put a review in. To date we've found the staff fantastic, the restaurant amazing and the rooms a real treat. They greet us warmly welcome us back as if we were family returning home rather than guests and the resort itself is an oasis of peaceful tranquility amidst the noise and rush of normal living. Long may it remain so! A wonderful 5 star experience we would and have recommended to others.

Room Tip: The rooms with the outdoor spas are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Property: Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing