We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braemar Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Braemar Lodge”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband suprised me with a trip to Hanmer for the weekend.We stayed at Braemar Logde and were very impressed. It has beautiful facilities, lovely surroundings and was spotlessly clean. In the room was a bouble spa bath and seperate double shower, outside on the terrace was a two person spa. It had a large gas fire and nice sitting area with a flat screen tv and ipod dock. totally reccomend it for a luxury weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant-suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    56
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
228
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Our first inpressions were great..The room was really quite magnificant. Huge size with comfortable seating and bed, and great lighting. We had a hot tub on our balcony plus a double spa bath in the bathroom. The bathoom is luxury plus. In addition to the spa bath there was a double shower with all the modcons. What more could we want? Now that's were it get's interesting. Well maybe a clean toilet would have helped. The bottom of the white toilet bowl was covered in brown stuff. I rang reception who said they would get on to it and would also notify the manager. Someone from housekeeping turned up promptly and "cleaned" the toilet and then left. When we checked it was still quite dirty so we cleaned it ourselves. We expected a call from someone asking if everything was now okay but never heard another thing.

For a luxury lodge of this standard we think this is completely unacceptable. If I wanted to get really picky I could also comment that the letter of welcome in our room had a totally wrong name on it. Help were we in the right room?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorSBL, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Naturally we were very disappointed that our usual high standards of cleanliness on this occassion did not meet with our guests expectations. Unfortunately since the February 22 earthquake in Christchurch, the bore that supplies water to the Lodge has experienced some discoloration due to minerals. This, although harmless, has affected the bathroom sanitaryware causing some discoloration. Our plumber has a weekly programme to de-scale our bathrooms but obviously his visit did not co-incide with this guests visit for which we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived to no-one at the front counter, so we had to go looking for the one and only person on premises. Not the best check-in. Room was huge, we had a hot-tub on the deck and a spa in the bathroom. The bed was really really comfortable. The place just lacks those little details that make somewhere special, foyer areas could do with a paint. The place lacked atmosphere, we had a 2 cocktails in the sitting area, which were the worst Ive ever tasted! Got the 'english' guy to remake one of them, but it still tasted like dirty dishwater...funny now, but they need to fix that. Overall ok. Next time would prefer to stay in hanmer springs town, would be a lot more fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorSBL, Owner at Select Braemar Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
We were sorry that our guests were not greeted appropriately on arriving at the Lodge but our reception person was showing other guest to their room. Being a small boutique Lodge, our staff numbers are limited especially during the day. We are also grateful for the positive comments on the quality of the cocktails and the maintenance issues highlighted in the review and have taken steps to improve the former and are commencing a programme of painting and refurbishment now the busy summer months are behind us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Located approximately 3km from the main road sets the scene of peacefulness. Decor throughout the complex is top notch, and one cannot fault the rooms. They are very large and spacious, so much so the decent sized LCD television and king size bed seemed rather small which is not a bad thing. The room has excellent lighting from the massive full height window spanning the width of the room with a balcony for those who want a bit of an outdoor experience. Artificial lighting inside the room was excellent, in particular the amazing light source selection by each side of the bed ranging from table lamp, ceiling directly above halogens or angled halogens to further aid reading in bed all indidually controlled by switches on each side. The room we slept also sported an excellent bathroom facility which had an indoor Spa with supplied robes for two, twin basins, single toilet, bidet and roomy shower with two sets of shower heads, with side wash jets on both. The room itself is furnished with plush soft carpet, big loungy sofa, a work table, gas fireplace and ariconditioning. Other misc items included MP3 player stereo can takes ipods and iphones, an electronic safe, ironing board with iron, hair dryer, a good range of Dimah teas, plunger coffee, complimentary welcome cookie, and a sophisticated kettle with the ability to keep water at a desired temperature. For those wanting to indulge more at a cost, there is a minibar. For more indulgence one can option to have the staff fill your spa with some sort of milk at an extra cost obviously

Now interestingly upon arrival, we were meant to check in at 2pm. We were made to wait 30 minutes before we were allowed to check in due to the room not being ready. I asked the staff if there was much to do while waiting, and they said I could explore and check out the bar and restaurant. And so I did, but at the bar and restaurant, there was no one attending, which meant I could not order a drink, nor grab a bite for a bit of afternoon tea. Since the lodge is located substantially far from any kind of convenience store or other eating places. This was the not so impressive part I guess, but can be forgiven for some since I found a self server water dispenser in a reading room with a library of magazines and books to ones reading pleasure.

The restaurant that night I found to be excellent, with far better service than what I go in the afternoon. 3 waiters served upon about 6 tables at any one time. It seems the restaurant runs a staggered booking arrangement so that not everyone arrives at the same time. Me and my partner tested out the main dishes and dessert. Both the Lamb and the Pork mains are recommended ,and were extremely distinctly flavoured and was a delight to consume. Desserts we tested the creme brulee and the Banoffe Pie. The banofee pie was done in a deconstructed style while the creme brulee was served traditional with a biscotte on top. Creme brulee was top notch, while the banoffee pie was good, it was a little on the sweeter side with the excessive serving of condensed caramel. It really could have done with possible less caramel, with a little more bananas. Overall though the meal was good and the atmosphere with soft soothing classic music in the background.

during my stay I did manage to jam up my electronic safe, which is customary for me to do. So I called room service to assist. It took about 15 minutes for someone to come assist me to open the safe, which seems to be adequate considering the size of the establishment 24 rooms I believe in total. What I did find amusing, later that evening, the same staff that helped open my safe was my waiter for the evening for dinner.

After an excellent rest that night, the check out time has been nicely set at 11am, which gives ample time for a good sleep in, but upon checking out, it seemed to take again 30 minutes to do so, since everyone at the lodge seems to all check out at the same time, so for anyone in a rush, it would be advisable to check out slightly earlier to get in front of the queue.

Overall, the location, is peaceful, friendly staff, spacious modern clean lodge with an excellent restaurant by night, makes this the ideal get away for relaxation. Other facilities I did not use but were available were manicure and pedicure, facials, as well as massage, gym, spas and saunas. I did peek into the conference facilities around the complex and found them top notch with quality furnished tables and chairs, as well as props like white boards, etc.

As for improvements, I would say there was not much, apart from possibly more staff, especially during check in afternoons. Having no staff at the bar will not give a good first impression of the place. Also the addition of a complementary welcome drink while waiting to check in would have been nice, and set the mood nicely. Since the lodge is situated pretty much by itself with no shops are cafes around, it would be handy to be able to purchase a scone, slice, cake or even a coffee, for afternoon tea.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

A stunning view from our very clean and comfortable room made for a very relaxing weekend. We enjoyed the pleasure's from spa treatment and the wonderful food and service. Champagne in the spa on the balcony...you just can't go past this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewingmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were so impressed with Braemar. The room, the service, the views..... We had the best two days there, indulged in the fabulous Spa treatments, enjoyed stunning meals and utterly relaxed. We have raved about and recommended Braemar to so many people since our stay. In fact, we loved it so much we've just booked our Wedding there!! Now we can't wait to share Braemar with our close friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWalker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionlytravelfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
3.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
3.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Braemar Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Braemar Lodge & Spa

Property: Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Address: 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Select Braemar Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Braemar Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
Select Braemar Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing