We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but rather basic”
Review of Kakapo Lodge YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The hostel is located quite near to the 'central area' of Hamner Springs. Parking space is available, and outside is a nice courtyard. Our double room was cheap, but very basic and old as well, and the bed was pretty small. I rather pay a little bit more, and have a little bit more furnishment (like a mirror, chairs, towels, some more space to dry wet bathing clothes and towels) and a more comfortable bed. Kitchen was spacious and clean and there was enough storage space in the fridges. Even though there was a large group of boys in the hostel, it was very quiet at night.

Overall, ok hostel if you're ok with 'basic', but we like a little more 'luxury'.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our 5 year old son for one night on our trip through south island. Staff were nice and accommodating and the place was quite clean and quiet. I think occupancy was low but still, it seemed well run and efficient. A nice courtyard BBQ area was available, though poorly lit. The location was good and well marked with lodge sign. Would stay again for sure. Hanmer Springs is a cute town and the thermal spas are a must for the whole family. Skip the horseback riding with Hanmer Horses though, the female owner was unbelievably rude (and for no reason, really) and the male owner gruff and unconcerned--so much so I honestly don't know why they are in this business.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stopped over here one night during a long drive from Franz Josef to kiakoura in June 2008.

The hostel was a little difficult to find in the dark as Hanmer Springs has little in the way of street lights. look for the Kakapo Lodge sign rather than the YHA sign.

We booked a double room which was very cheap at NZ$50. As the place was so quiet the manager bumped us up to a family room to give us more space. The room was basic and very cold but clean and tidy. There was only the under floor heating which really in mid winter was not enough. Towels are not provided so bring your own.

Other facilities were good including the kitchen and bathrooms. Showers were very hot and make you want to stay in there! If you get cold there is an open fire in the lobby.

There was plently of car parking space and we experienced no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The-Poultney-Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank giswil12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
Thank baesang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#5 of 13 in Hanmer Springs
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakapo Lodge YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakapo Lodge YHA

Address: 14 Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $43 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Hanmer Springs, Kakapo Lodge is a two-storey purpose built backpacker hostel with a relaxed friendly atmosphere. This modern hostel is located just 200m (literally a three minute walk) from the Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Spa and the village centre with all its many cafes, shops and restaurants. Relaxing inside the hostel is easy with its log fire, underfloor heating, movie hire, large kitchen and open common room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Kakapo Lodge YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing