We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100 % recommended, top choice!”
Review of Kakapo Lodge YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100 % recommended, top choice!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Peaceful yet central location. Friendly and caring staff who were very welcoming to our busy little family! Excellent cleanliness and a great overall vibe. Love the artwork. We will be recommending to all who are travelling to Hanmer Springs... well done guys! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdsongbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Kakapo Lodge YHA, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi

Thanks for the review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the artwork, we are always trying to come up with new ways to create a warm atmosphere in the hostel, so we really appreciate your comments about the artwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
34
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, good value, very good kitchen facilities. Stayed here for 3 nights. Friendly and helpful staff, went out of there way to help me print some forms I needed. 200 characters is a lot I have nothing more to say. I enjoyed it, it was clean, nice communal area on 2nd floor...........

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Kakapo Lodge YHA, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi

Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Out of the three hostels that I stayed at on my 4-day NZ trip, this is the most basic one. It still offers a good value, and the location is within easy walk to the town centre (at one end of Amuri Avenue and about 300 m to the thermal springs). The common room, next to the reception, is pretty small, and there are a few PC stations on one side. If you're after Wi-Fi, it's $5 for 24 hours. There's also a small yard next to the entrance, equipped with BBQ facility. The kitchen and dining room are more spacious, but look rather sterile.

My room was a shared one with three beds, but I was the only one there for the night, so it was like a private room. Unfortunately, the room smelled of socks (not mine). If I had to stay there for more than one night, I would have asked for a different one. A few reading lamps (next to the beds) would also be good.

I think the hostel could do with some improvements to make it look more inviting. Some are on their way, I believe (the bathroom on the ground floor is being repainted) so hopefully in a few months it will be better than what it is now.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie M, Owner at Kakapo Lodge YHA, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi
Thanks for your review.
We would just like to mention that we have a TV lounge and balcony area upstairs that you do not mention in your review. It may have been that you did not find it as we have discovered recently that people did not know it was there, despite signs on the wall. We have increased our signage so it will be easier for people to find. Apologies for the room smell, it was not socks but paint, as you said, we were in the process of painting. The room you were in had recently been repainted and we thought that the smell had gone but obviously once it was shut up it was still there. Sorry you had to put up with the smell but we would have moved you immdediately had we known at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Paid like $65 for a standard double and stayed a night here. The place was very clean, the kitchen was spotless. Has a fire going in the lounge. The man working was very kind and even took me around to select the room I wanted. It is a little far if you plan on walking to town. Also there is a no alcohol in room rule if that is important to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdjmNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

So I went to this place in actuality around mid-December 2011, as I got a shuttle bus from Christchuch to Hanmer Springs. Checked-in to this establishment for a couple of nights, the staff member was great, helped me out with recommendations on what to do in the area, obviously suggested going to the actual springs and even horse-riding which I did. It is clean, environmentally conscious, has fresh-air, and I even got my own bed in my own room. Good value given what I have paid for. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We only stayed one night but nothing but praise to be given. The staff looked after our bags as arrived before room ready, then came back to take bags up to room as the view was amazing, snow capped mountains...we stayed in a double, it had a microwave and kettle and little prep area as such as well as loo, shower, sink. There was a tv, we didn't use it thou. Kitchen facilities very good, and the open fire and sofas were lovely to sit in the evening. Other guests quiet and chatty and all seemed very happy with the place.would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Kakapo Lodge together with another family. I couldn't fault it. Warm, very clean, airy, and with everything you need. The hosts were fantastic - knowledgeable and helpful, and friendly. The location is great, being a few minutes walk from the pools and the town centre, as well as a few minutes from the bike and walking tracks. We'll be back - I don't think I have enjoyed a hostel as much :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#5 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
#1 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakapo Lodge YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakapo Lodge YHA

Property: Kakapo Lodge YHA
Address: 14 Amuri Avenue, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Hanmer Springs, Kakapo Lodge is a two-storey purpose built backpacker hostel with a relaxed friendly atmosphere. This modern hostel is located just 200m (literally a three minute walk) from the Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Spa and the village centre with all its many cafes, shops and restaurants. Relaxing inside the hostel is easy with its log fire, underfloor heating, movie hire, large kitchen and open common room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kakapo Lodge YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing