We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, book early!!!”
Review of Onyx

Onyx
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of Cambridge, Onyx Cafe and Bar is the go-to whether passing through for a coffee or celebrating a milestone with family and friends. With it's dark furnishings and warm-tones timber flooring, Onyx is a humming lofty space sure to please anyone in your party. From succulent steaks, tender chicken and lamb dishes through to homemade wood fired pizzas, the brunch, lunch and dinner menu covers even the most fastidious of palettes. A delectable desert menu is available to round off an evening meal, with a cake cabinet on show throughout the day offering an array of tasty treats. Friendly, efficient and professional service is a guarantee with staff on hand to cater to your every whim. Dietary requirements are happily catered to without hassle, with your experience top priority. The function room is available to hire should you wish for a private meal or party. Your celebration can remain exclusive from start to finish, with the upstairs venue holding it's own bar and bathroom facilities. With a roaring fire in winter months and sunshine-streamed outdoor settings in summer, Onyx is a year-long favourite pick as a dining destination. Open seven days a week from 9am until late, Onyx is a gem in the crown of Cambridge that you will revisit again and again.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, book early!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is Glynis from Kapiti 4 Seasons Tours and our group of 15 enjoyed everything. I had picked Onyx from the Trip Advisor reviews and booked our table months before our trip north. I am so glad we had bookings as it was packed out on a Monday night and the food was wonderful, our group tried many different dishes and we would go back for sure. Best food in Cambridge according to the locals and we agree...The staff were fantastic from the moment I booked and greeted us by name...
Ten out of ten...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwiconnection2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    151
    54
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bad Coffee”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Clearly a good restaurant in a small town. Possibly expensive for what you get, but very good quality food. Service was a bit cafe style in a place that sees itself as a restaurant. The waitresses did not really do the place justice and seemed to be cafe workers with nicer uniforms.
Sharpen up the waitresses and get the coffee right and this place would be one rating higher. Would definitely go back there if in that part of NZ again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allovertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our party of five booked dinner at this restaurant while on holiday in Cambridge. Our reservation was for 8 pm and we arrived at 8.10. Our order was not taken until 8.37 and we were still sitting there at 9.20 waiting for our food. After complaining, it arrived a few minutes later and we were all disappointed with our meals which were very average and very expensive, with mains costing $38 or $39. We would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fresh, tasty meal.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nothing to dislike - great atmosphere, the food was to die for, excellent service - priced well. Our group had the fish, fresh and just cooked prefectly - duck, lovely combination, roast pork was just so succulant and a pizza with spacific combinations obligingly made. We were thrilled with the well thought out combinations of vege and salads to accompany the meats. Well done guys!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ordinarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Onyx - always great”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A business lunch last week yet again proved Onyx to be a favourite. It was surprisingly busy for a Tuesday (reputation must be well known). our table ahd the most delicious fish and chips including crispy and dry batter with an adequate portion of fresh fish, quesadilla which is always reliable, tasty and filling and mussels which were delishous. Service was fine, especially given they were busy. Always recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx also viewed

Cambridge, Waikato Region
 
Cambridge, Waikato Region
Cambridge, Waikato Region
 

Been to Onyx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing