We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Apartment, tastefully furnished and a wonderful breakfast, only 5 minutes to Cambridge for dinner, and a lovely peaceful stay. Would definately stay again if we are in the area. The host wasn't there but her sister came over and settled us in, which was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargoBebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks Margo for the kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry we missed you, but glad Paula was around to greet you. Look forward to meeting you some time in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the Loft Apartment which was more than adequate for our needs. Extra touches like bathrobes / bubble bath and luxurious linen seaedl the deal for me. The spa and sauna was an awesome bonus after kayaking at night on Lake Karapiro. The swimming pool would be devine in summer. The continental breakfast supplied was terrific and enjoyed looking after the countryside vista. Would definitely stay again when in the Cambridge area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Sorry we couldn't have arranged better weather for you ! Better luck for the cycling next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A top option if you're looking to get away from it all. The tranquil rural setting is complimented by Carole's welcoming and super friendly service. We stayed in the loft which had a warm cosy feel, was tastefully decorated and very well appointed. The delicious continental breakfast, including home-made muesli, made a great start to the day !

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Campbell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Home away from home. We stayed in the loft which we loved. Everything you need and feels like you are away from busy life but yet everything is as close as you want. Cambridge only a short drive, internet (free), SKY to watch the tennis. Homemade muesli and the jams and fruit were a very nice touch to an already great place. The bed was VERY good and so were the pillows. Thanks so much for sharing with us such a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZJulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Loft is quirky, but everyone seems to love it . Hope the tennis result was what you wanted!.Look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and were blown away by the stunning setting. fantastic views surrounding the stables and the apartment was immaculate with everything you could possibly wish for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEN1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed staying with us. Makes it all worthwhile!. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at huntington stables, Carole was so welcoming and friendly from the minute we arrived and was very helpful. The attention to detail with everything from the antipasta and wine on arrival to the housekeeping throughout our stay was great.
Fantastic location and gorgeous setting. Would recommend without a doubt to anyone visiting the cambridge area!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you both and, I hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable. Maybe see you again sometime ?.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in the north stable which is furthest from the main house where the owners live. The north and south stables overlook the swimming pool. It has a nice kitchen but no laundry facility. Fridge was stocked with milk, juice, bread, eggs, bacon and a meat/cheese platter. There was also coffee, teas and a bottle of wine all complimentary. Sitting room was open plan to the kitchen with doors opening out on to a balcony with a dining table. Bedroom was comfortable and bathroom was modern with a bath and a shower. It was all very comfortable, clean and modern. We could hear the people in the south stable snoring in the night, so the bedroom wall is a bit too thin.
Wifi was an issue as you could only get a signal standing by the main house, no reception in the stable.
Cambridge is a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thanks for your comments.Regarding the laundry, we dont have individual laundry facilities in the cottages but there is a laundry at the back of the house available for guest use with a washing machine and tumble drier. Sorry to hear about the Wireless Internet. Unfortunately we can only get a satellite connection and this can vary with weather conditions. There are certain spots in the North Stable where guests have used their Ipads etc successfully. I am surpirised to hear about the snoring, and sorry if you were inconvenienced. The Stables are actually built with double thickness gib to avoid just that !.Maybe I should pop some ear plugs in the bedside drawers just in case. Hope it wont deter you from visiting us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.3 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
42 reviews
4.5 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
3.8 mi away
73 Milton Accomodation
73 Milton Accomodation
#5 of 29 in Cambridge
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lexington Park Cottages
Lexington Park Cottages
#3 of 14 in Cambridge
77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
#4 of 14 in Cambridge
48 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kauri Lodge
Kauri Lodge
#1 of 14 in Cambridge
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation

Address: 106 Maungakawa Road | Rd 4, Cambridge 3496, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range: $171 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four options for accommodation here at Huntington Stables Retreat, Cambridge, consisting of the North Stable, South Stable, Loft, & Stall. Both Stables are self-contained luxury lodges, that comprise of a fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounge & dining area, beautiful bedroom, & a luxurious bathroom - all kept warm & toasty with quality heat pumps French doors off the bedroom & the lounge open out onto a large private deck - the perfect spot for a glass of wine while taking in the stunning views of the surrounding hills. The pool complex is directly out the front Stable door & includes a large tiled swimming pool & a bubbling hot Jacuzzi. A few feet away is the wonderful sauna room. The Stables are tastefully furnished with many individual touches to make your stay a memorable one. The Loft is a compact studio, not as 'luxurious' as the Stables but still very warm & comfortable. It consists of a Queen bed, bathroom, living area, dining area, kitchenette, & balcony to enjoy the views. The Stall is a guest room attached to the main house & is ideal for those simply needing a bed & shower for the evening. Huntington Stables provides the perfect setting for a romantic or special occasion: honeymoon, anniversary, birthday celebration, or purely to relax & re-energise. The quiet setting also makes it the ideal retreat for writers & other artists! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing