We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

For a slightly different take on the traditional B & B type accommodation this is superb. They have thought of everything, you are stocked with plenty of breakfast supplies in your own room and you have all the comforts of home. We quite like being independent so being able to prepare our own breakfast at a time that suits us with lovely fresh ingredients was more than pleasing. Lovely rural surroundings but just a short drive from the town of Cambridge, quiet and tranquil, bliss. If you want to snuggle up on a couch and watch a DVD, there are plenty to choose from. We stayed in the loft apartment so might be slightly different to other rooms on offer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigergalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Many thanks for the kind words. For review readers information, the Loft is our entry level apartment. Our Stables are more luxurious and spacious and offer more inclusions.
Glad to hear you were so happy with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
90
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We went for an anniversary in 2010 and what a perfect spot! There are two identical rooms next to each other next to the full size swimming pool and spa - and we were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves. The amenties and goodies in the room are the best! The setting is private and peaceful. Homemade produce, lots of supplies to make your own breakie and lovely bathroom amenities. Spotless and clean - well thought out in every aspect - only wish we could have stayed longer!! Highly recommend taking your own takeaway dinner and bottle of wine to enjoy every minute of it without leaving the premise!

Room Tip: Room by the pool fantastic - stable room they call it -
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at Huntington stables for 2 nights and we could not have asked for a better experience. The setting was absolutely gorgeous, the service was extremely welcoming and the self contained loft was particularly romantic. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the spa surrounded by the beautiful farm side. The attention to detail is what makes Huntington Stables stand out. It absolutely exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend it. Thanks to the staff at Huntington Stables for making our stay so pleasurable. We will definitely be returning for another romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Thank you for a pleasant three night getaway. The Loft was just lovely. The yummy home made jam and muesli (thanks again Carole for the recipe). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed the homemade goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The loft was a great place to stay, very quiet with lovely rural views, it had everything we needed and some nice touches of home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Mel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleannwright, Owner at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you. Glad you felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I had the great pleasure of staying at Huntington Stables for almost two weeks on a business trip to N.Z. The place was nothing short of incredible.

The stable room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The hosts Carole and Neal were wonderful and offered famous N.Z. hospitality. From the best breakfast anywhere to sightseeing advice they were wonderful.

I have had the luxury of staying in some top notch places around the world but this is certainly one of the very best and is one place worth a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, March 9, 2017
On behalf of Carole (the previous owner) thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay here. Warmest regards, Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2010

" I just want to share a few words about an experience I had recently at a wonderful place called Huntington Stables. After several days of travel and massive delays all week, by the time I got to Huntington Stables I was absolutely exhausted to say the least. Wow! What an experience from the moment I arrived!

Carole and Neal are extremely welcoming, warm and attentive to every need. There is nothing they haven’t thought of. The food is superb (not to mention the wine!). The accommodation made me feel right at home with everything I could have wanted and then some.

The surroundings are totally inspiring, the facilities are top notch! The hospitality left me feeling like I was visiting good friends, and yet had all the privacy I could want.

For anyone needing a recharge, an inspiring weekend away, or a romantic get away I would highly recommend Huntington Stables. I fell in love with it from the moment I arrived.

Thank you Carole and Neal from a very weary traveller!"

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weary_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robynchappell, General Manager at Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation, responded to this review, March 9, 2017
On behalf of Carole (the previous owner) thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay here. Warmest regards, Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
3.3 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
35 reviews
2.8 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
4.5 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lexington Park Cottages
Lexington Park Cottages
#3 of 14 in Cambridge
77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
Sarnia Park Boutique Lodge
#4 of 14 in Cambridge
48 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 29 in Cambridge
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation

Property: Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
Address: 106 Maungakawa Road | Rd 4, Cambridge 3496, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four options for accommodation here at Huntington Stables Retreat, Cambridge, consisting of the North Stable, South Stable, Loft, & Stall. Both Stables are self-contained luxury lodges, that comprise of a fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounge & dining area, beautiful bedroom, & a luxurious bathroom - all kept warm & toasty with quality heat pumps French doors off the bedroom & the lounge open out onto a large private deck - the perfect spot for a glass of wine while taking in the stunning views of the surrounding hills. The pool complex is directly out the front Stable door & includes a large tiled swimming pool & a bubbling hot Jacuzzi. A few feet away is the wonderful sauna room. The Stables are tastefully furnished with many individual touches to make your stay a memorable one. The Loft is a compact studio, not as 'luxurious' as the Stables but still very warm & comfortable. It consists of a Queen bed, bathroom, living area, dining area, kitchenette, & balcony to enjoy the views. The Stall is a guest room attached to the main house & is ideal for those simply needing a bed & shower for the evening. Huntington Stables provides the perfect setting for a romantic or special occasion: honeymoon, anniversary, birthday celebration, or purely to relax & re-energise. The quiet setting also makes it the ideal retreat for writers & other artists! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing