We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun, great food”

The Boatshed Kayaks
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: the Boatshed Kayaks,was set up by Richard Clark in 2000, on his property on the edge of Lake Karapiro. We offer a number of different kayaking and stand up paddle board options from our great waterfalls trip to our evening glow worm experience, just flick through our website to get a better idea for whats available. Lake Karapiro offers an exellent venue with sheltered waters and 15 km of lake to explore. making it a safe and beautiful environment to try something new. our guides and instructors are fully qualified in both flat water and graded river paddleing so if your wanting to explore some of the lower sections of the waikato river between cambridge and hamilton youll be in safe hands. The Boatshed kayaks is also involved in multisport training and hire and has been training grade 2 paddlers for over 8 years, with a huge number of paddlers experiencing their introduction to kayaking through The Boatshed.The ethos at the Boatshed has always been on getting people out there paddling, young and old, and therefore growing kayaking as a sport or recreational activity.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fun, great food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been out to the cafe several times, including once to use their conference room for a business meeting. Twice I have also used the Kayaks and both times have really enjoyed the experience. Well worth checking out this place and if you use the kayaks be sure to go up the stream on the far side of the river and check out the waterfall.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janette555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
were glade you enjoyed your experience with us. thanks for taking the time to post some feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    17
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kayak and Glow-worm trip”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had an absolutely fabulous time. Guides were knowledgeable and friendly and I had such a great time I don't know why this isn't on all of the Locals' and tourists' to do list. Drifting back down the river in the dark amidst glow-worm laden banks and ravines: it was a cross between an Avatar scene and heaven. Magical. Kayaking level not difficult, the rest break and toasting marshmallows was perfectly timed. A hidden gem of a place. I went with my partner, but there were families there too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank muzikluffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
hey guys, im glad you had a great evening out on the lake, it was great to have you along and your feed back is really appreciated. if you have any local friends or even friends from out of town that want to do the trip make sure they let us know that youve recomended them and will give them a great discount. theboatshedteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical and relaxing”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The weather forecast did not look promising leading up to the trip and we were worried we were going to be cold and miserable or that the trip would get cancelled. Everyone else in the group actually backed out but we already rented a car for the day and our organizers decided to not cancel the trip because of that. It ended up being an amazing night with just a few light showers that didnt ruin our experience. Not only that but it made it even better with a double rainbow at sunset. The wine, cheese, hot tea, roasting marshmallows by the fire added to the experience. The glow worms were just a nice bonus :) well done Eliott :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review guys. It was really great to have you all along. it just goes to show you that even with a few slight showers you can still have a great time out on the water. Theboatshedteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kayaking at Karapiro”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a fantastic guide, learnt a lot about kayaking. Was very informative and the guide was fantastic ensuring everyone was comfortable and safe. Wonderful trip with awesome scenery

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review Carole, we really pride ourselves on providing safe and fun experiences for people of all skill levels. It was great to have you along. Theboatshedkayaksteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glow worm trip is fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We took seven 11 & 12 year old boys on this trip as a birthday outing. It was amazing. The kids absolutely raved about the experience. Richard is a very patient guide & the campfire, milos & marshmellows were just perfect. To see the glow worms from the water at night was quite breathtaking. Highly recommend the experience.
ps Thanks for the tow!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Meredith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at The Boatshed Kayaks, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Haha no worries Meredith, it was great to have the boys along. Maybe next year will see them for the waterfalls trip. Theboatshedkayaksteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boatshed Kayaks also viewed

 
Cambridge, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Boatshed Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing