We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muffins Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 29 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The family, 2 adults and 2 boys (2 and 4 year olds), stayed at the cottage. Hubby had a conference and we took the opportunity to do a bit of sight seeing around beautiful Cambridge. The property was immaculate and self-contained, and while compact it had a lovely big spa and the bathroom was spacious. The linens were crisp and clean, very nice. We were given fresh baked muffins in the morning, hence the name, which were instantly devoured. Our hosts also left toys for the boys to play with which was very much appreciated. It is close to town and very quiet, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoquiKIwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Bob & I both enjoy having 'little people' come and stay at Muffin's. Thank you for taking time to write this lovely positive review - we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Muffins B&B is a great choice if your in the area. A quiet separate unit away from the house allows you to come and go without fuss. Bob and Chris are great hosts and the warm muffins on the table when you arrive are an added bonus. We are repeat visitors and have no hesitation in recommending Muffins (except on rowing weekends when we want to stay!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. When you come regularly you start to feel like family!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Muffins B&B a couple of nights and found our hosts to be very welcoming, accomodating and cheerful. Our accomodation was spotless and everything we needed was there. The spa pool was an added bonus as was the lovely muffins supplied fresh daily.I have already booked a 5 day stay there for my family and I for Jan 2014. May also book a weekender during the winter to get the most out of the spa pool, & some time away. Highly reccommended to all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We love having champions staying in our B&B!! We look forward to your next visit, hopefully the whole family this time! Go hard champ!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We returned to Muffins because it provided the little luxuries we neeaded: a private SC unit; quiet; separate bedroom; a large bathroom / shower; separate dining/lounge area; patio; spa bath; delicious muffins / fresh fruit; welcoming / friendly hosts - just the ideal place to return to after a day's racing at Karapiro! thanks Bob & Chris

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analatu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We enjoyed following your wakaama progress and being the 'custodians of the waka' whilst it was parked on our back lawn. Thank you for choosing Muffin's and for your positive words, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My Mum and I had a lovely stay at Muffins. Our hosts were very obliging and couldn't do enough for us. They rearranged the bedrooms to suit our needs as we prefered to sleep in separate rooms. Breakfast was tidily provided in a custom built cupboard with heaps of choices.I did appreciate the fresh fruit. They even returned the DVD we left in the slot! Thanks for that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It is such a delight to be able to offer a little hospitality to such lovely people, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Muffins after a Waikato Hospital appointment and it was the perfect unwind. Well worth travelling a little out of our way for the hospitality, relaxation, privacy, peace and comfort.
Spotlessly clean. Great muffins. Lovely spa setting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for you positive encouragement. Please come again, we so enjoyed your visit! Especially the gardening, composting & butterfly tips!! The best of health to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at Muffins twice now, and would do so again if once more we find ourselves in the Cambridge area, Cambridge is a delightful town, but can get extremely busy with quite heavy traffic. The location of Muffins, conveniently close to the town but tucked away in a secluded and peaceful cul-de-sac, is ideal. The Gilroys were charming hosts, totally unintrusive but very ready to interact with us also. The accommodation was scrupulously clean and very comfortable. Breakfast provisions (including the famous muffins!) were generous and tasty. The unit is not large, but excellent use has been made of available space. We were particularly impressed with the reasonable tariff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Owner at Muffins Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you, thank you for your kind words! We so enjoy sharing our garden with lovely people like you!! We have need of a monarch butterfly nurse, can we tempt you back again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.1 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
25 reviews
2.5 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Villa Shakespeare
Villa Shakespeare
#11 of 29 in Cambridge
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muffins Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muffins Bed & Breakfast

Property: Muffins Bed & Breakfast
Address: 109 Kingsley Street | Leamington, Cambridge 3432, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muffin's - a cosy haven, nestled in a quiet & peaceful garden setting, just 3 minutes drive from Cambridge town centre. Completely self-contained, Muffin's is a private & cosy retreat - just 5 mins off the Waikato Expressway/State Highway 1. This family friendly 'home away from home' has two rooms which can be adapted to best suit the requirements of up to 5 guests. The lounge/dining area looks out onto a private, sunny patio with hot spa pool. You will also find a well resourced kitchenette, spacious en-suite, complimentary WIFI and serve yourself continental style breakfast ingredients supplied in your unit. Distances:3 mins drive to Cambridge Town centre. 6 mins to Sarnia Park. Within 15 mins to Hamilton Airport, Mystery Creek Events Centre, Maungatautari, Lake Karapiro. 45 mins to Tauranga, 60 mins to Rotorua, 90 mins to Taupo. Smoking outside only. Bob & Chris look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing