We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 star service.”
Review of Earthstead Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earthstead Villas
Ranked #4 of 30 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night while travelling through the North Island. This is a great base as an intermediate stop between Waitomo caves and Hobbiton.

Food platter is amazing on arrival and the breakfast was all homemade and delicious

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind words.
We love what we do, and it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Earthstead. It was really nice to have a small platter of fresh/homemade goodies upon our arrival. The French Studio was just perfect. not to big, not to small. The food was amazing, especially the homemade jams, honey and sour dough bread. It was a welcomed site when we returned the first day to see that the uneaten bread from our morning breakfast was waiting for us, sealed in a little container. It is just what we needed to go with our wine that night. The smoothie, yogurt and omelet the next morning was terrific. We will definitely stay here on our next trip back to NZ and would highly recommend Earthstead Villas

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thankyou for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Earthstead Villas. It was such a pleasure hosting you guys. We really hope your winery internship plans work out and the nanny ideas!!
We're glad you enjoyed the food. We love hosting international guests.
Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Jess & Dave Maugham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Earthstead, it was a really nice getaway for our honeymoon. We stayed in the French Studio and we loved the balance between privacy and hospitality that Earthstead provides.

The food was amazing. My husband has Coeliac Disease, so we asked whether our breakfasts could be made Gluten Free - they were and it was delicious - gluten free bread, omelettes, gluten free muesli - all made on site. We stayed for 3 nights and were really impressed with the variety we received for breakfast. With nearly everything made on site it's hard not to love.

Overall we thought this place was terrific - would definitely recommend to anyone with dietary requirements as Suzie and Alistair are really accommodating. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we totally loved hosting you, especially as you were honeymooners.
Glad you liked the food, cooking and hosting are favourite pass times for us, and knowing you enjoyed it really makes our day.
Wishing you all the best for you first year of marriage, and hoping to host you again,
Suzie and Alistair Osmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've grew up pretty much being a city person and never really expericened the country life until we stayed at the Earth home. From the minute you arrive until the minute you leave you feel a sense of Suzie and Alistars family and home. We were greeted each morning with fresh breakfast made from all natural ingredients that they make from their farm. The house was warm and inviting and was cleaned each day. We used the fireplace each night and they cleaned and prepped it daily so all I needed to do is light it. Nice touch. The home is in a perfect location to do day trips to Hobbitton or Glow Worm Caves. I recommend both. You will be absoluety pleased with your stay here guaranteed. Thanks to Al and Suzie for creating such a great place and environment. Please contact us when you come to New York. ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hosting you and your family was a pleasure, your enthusiasm for all you were encountering in New Zealand was contagious.
Glad you enjoyed the Earth House and all it has to offer - makes our efforts all worth while.
Wishing you all the very best, and if we come to New York, we'll be sure to look you up! Suzie and Alistair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

dear suzie and alistair, thank you so very much for the most perfect stay in the french cottage in february for our wedding weekend. the cottage is gorgeous- beautiful linens, the most comfortable bed, candles, amazing homemade treats welcoming us when we arrived. the most delicious breakfasts, friendly hosts, and a gorgeous sunshiney garden out our front door. only wish we could have stayed longer! so peaceful. thank you so much, we'll be back :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, we love hosting brides and grooms, - weddings are such a special event in life.
Your interest in sustainable living is inspiring, and we look forward to more chats in the future.

Thank you also to you and Sue for your efforts with the run away hair dryer. It is refreshing to encounter such integrity.
Wishing you all the very best in your new life, and looking forward to meeting again, Suzie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have got to admit that on our arrival at Earthstead Villas, I was not entirely happy with my wife's choice of accommodation for our last night in New Zealand.
However we were unable to book anything at the last minute that was suitable in Hamilton and I suggested Cambridge.
Earthstead Villas was really a last resort option and really, in her defence my wife did not have much option.
After a drive from Taupo, a headache was making the last few kilometres uncomfortable and after initially missing the entry off the highway (at 100km/h) because we were ignoring the GPS, we found Earthstead Villas down a long dirt driveway.
Apart from the signage on the highway, there was nothing else to say we were on the right track.
The roundabout at the end had a large campervan parked there, making parking initially difficult.
Getting out of the car, a young gentleman was heard telling someone else that people had arrived.
We were absolutely thrown by Alistar. Asking if we had arrived in the campervan, we quite seriously said 'no', wondering why he didn't know who did...
He responded with an ecentric laugh and said it was actual his, and this really broke the ice perfectly.
Shown to our French-style Villa, I just wanted to take some Panadol and lay down.
The Villa, although not something I would normally go for, was 'pretty' and I would say it is a Villa the ladies would prefer rather than the men.
Alistar spent time to explain their background and what they were trying to achieve with the Villas.
I do believe being eco-friendly is important, but as I was not expecting the situation as it was unfolding, I was looking for the airconditioning and a place to lay.
2012/13 had been a long hot summer in NZ and that day was no different. The afternoon sun was streaming in and there is no airconditioning...
However, Alistar mentioned Suzy would drop-off a welcome platter later, that breakfast would be special "not your typical Bacon and Eggs", and left us to settle in. We wondered what he meant.
I did sleep for a couple of hours after closing the blinds - which did work in holding out the strong sun.
The bed was one of the more comfortable beds we had slept in during our two-week NZ trip.
At about 6:30pm I awoke with a clear head and hungry and we decided to head in to Cambridge centre for dinner. Onyx had a very nice Mediterranian Platter for Two.
On our return to the Villas (about 9:30pm), we found ourselves locked out and realised that we were never given a key - nor had we ask for one. We felt safe here. But the problem was how do we get in to our Villa which we had left unlocked, but obvoiusly had been locked for us while we were away.
Knocking on the main house doors and windows for several minutes we eventually got the attention of some other house guests, who told us that Suzy and Alistar were out.
They eventually found a key and let us in to our Villa.
Turning the light on we the found the promised and georgeous Suzy's welcome platter.
All homemade, if we had known what it would be, we would not have gone out. It was delicious dip, flat bread, cake, etc.
One thing we hadn't checked was the open bathroom window. Turning on the light drew in the moths and mozzies.
One suggestion would be to have fly screens on the opening windows. One window had one already.
There was not much space to place toiletries for a couple in the bathroom, but it was a small room.
The shower is good with a slight fluctuating water temperature (I suspect it may be an 'on-demand' water heating system).
The floor towel doesn't really fit under the shower door, but its no biggie.
There were plush dressing-gowns to wear, as well as slippers, although these are things we would not tend to use because an earlier guest may have.
Breakfast was brought to us by Alistar, who let out that laugh when we told him about our previous nights adventures.
Breakfast included a freshly baked loaf of 3 flour bread, including Spelt!!!
Home made Yogurt drizzled with home grown Honey, which was just perfect on Suzy's World Famous Muesli. And my goodness, was it good!!!
Although the accommodation style is not quite my cup of tea, and we didn't get to meet Suzy, the eco-friendly concept, the quality of the fixtures and fittings in the Villa, the superb quanity of the food and the interesting Alistar made us wish we had more time to spend here.
Ours was a French-style Villa, but the Villa next door was diffferent - a more modern style.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earthstead, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review. We were away when you posted it and writing this response has been on my to do list ever since.

So glad you enjoyed the food, providing nutritious, delicious home grown and made food is a passion of mine, so your kind words of appreciation make it all worth while.

P.S. You'll be happy to know we've had extra shelving installed in the bathroom for toilet bags ect, and our pre arrival check list now includes a reminder to ensure the guests have a key! Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were touched by the warm welcome and the effort made to go that bit more to make our stay as if we were visiting friends. The tasteful attention to detail and the real organic breakfast added to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EarthsteadVillas, Owner at Earthstead Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

What a pleasure it was to host you both, - your enthusiasm for life was so evident and wonderful to be around. Wishing you many more lovely memories from your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
1.9 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
12.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cambridge Coach House
Cambridge Coach House
#5 of 30 in Cambridge
162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blairgowrie House
Blairgowrie House
#3 of 30 in Cambridge
93 reviews
4.5 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthstead Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthstead Villas

Address: 3635 Cambridge Road | Monavale, RD3, Cambridge 3495, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $83 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Earthstead Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury accommodation that is close to Hobbiton and Waitomo Caves, we have a little piece of paradise waiting for you. Our accommodations are at two sites, both very close to the lovely town of Cambridge. The Earth House, Cob Cottage, French Studio, Read House and our Glamping on-site campervan, are situated on 3ha (7 acres) of prime organic farmland, 4 km from Cambridge and are surrounded by native trees, fruit trees and vegetable gardens. You can even request to view Alistair milking our serene jersey house cows and taste milk directly from the cow. We serve this raw milk in each of the accommodations situated at Earthstead. A delicious breakfast of organic goodness can be ordered for an extra cost at time of booking when you stay on the Earthstead site. For those guests who want to be a little closer to the restaurants and boutique shopping in Cambridge (20,000 people), our Cambridge River House is situated just 3 min walk from the main street. Breakfast is not available to guests who stay at Cambridge River House. All these accommodation options are centrally located for day visits to : Hobbiton, Waitomo Caves, Hamilton Gardens, Sanctuary Mountain, Rotorua, Lake Taupo, Coromandel, Auckland, Raglan, Tauranga, Ski Fields Ruapehu & much more! They each have access to private gardens, free wifi and free parking. The accommodations are serviced daily, except Read House and Cambridge River House, which are serviced weekly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Earthstead Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing