We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blairgowrie, a real treasure.”
Review of Blairgowrie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blairgowrie House
Ranked #3 of 29 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Blairgowrie, a real treasure.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A great experience, wonderful, friendly hosts. Terrific facilities, beautifully maintained, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Loved the knowledge that the hosts have of the surrounding area. Nothing too much trouble. Love the fact the rooms are named...and decorated in character. Such an amazing setting. An amazing find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynneyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for the review it has been a super busy start to 2013 with Janurary almost booked out. Kelvin and I both look forward to your next visit hope this weather keeps up for all the rowing weekends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a delightful night in the Chocolate Room Room at Blairgowrie house on the 6th December, 2012 and found it to be in an excellent position, close to town but not noisy. A wonderfully restored 1916 home, beautifully and tastefully furnished. Privacy was maintained. Due to bad weather we were unable to use the wonderful deck to enjoy the rural outlook. The place was spotlessly clean and breakfast just right. Loved the Fairy Garden and my husband just loved his tour of "the shed" with all its amazing bits and pieces.

Room Tip: Either the Chocolate Room or the Tulip room have excellent en suite facilities - I did not see the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the review, they are so important to us and to viewers who are seeking honest reports on accommodation. I do hope you visit New Zealand again and the weather will be kinder to you next time. We are having some lovely weather at present just had a large function out on the sunny deck last night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Blairgowrie staying in the Chocolate Room-Very spacious and glamorous.We stayed here for 5 nights and were very well looked after by Annette and Kelvin.The accomodation is very interesting with links back to a family in Scotland many years ago.Very clean and privacy was good.Breakfasts were continental and very good with a large hot croissant served each morning.The hosts were able to advise on local tourist attractions very well and arranged for an early breakfast when we had an early start spending a full day in Rotorua.where there are many attractions. Thanks again for providing excellent accomodation in Cambridge .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Than for taking the time to write a review and so fast. I know how busy it can be when one returns home from a big trip. It was a pleasure to host you both and do our little bit to showcase the Waikato the home of Hobbiton Middle Earth, Waitomo Glowworm Caves,Rotorua geothermal area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a find. A lovingly restored bed and breakfast, who's hosts were genuinely hospitable; they couldn't have done enough for us.
We were sad to leave the exquisitely furnished and decorated Edwardian show peice: the delightful gardens; complete with Secret (Fairyland & Hobbit) Garden and a triple garage full of vintage machinery. My husband was enthralled with his personally guided tour.
We both loved our silver service breakfast in the formal dining room,overlooking the gardens. Background period music during breakfast completed an ambience fit for Royals.
I was even able to have my hair expertly coiffed.
This was a very special experience for us. Thank you so much to our wonderful hosts. Best wishes to you both, always.
Helen and John Petchell

Room Tip: Each room has been decorated in differing styles and colours with varying facilities. We enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you, so pleased you both enjoyed your stay., I know it was a very special trip for you both. Every guest we have has different needs and we do our best to fulfill all of these sounds as if we ticked all the boxes for you. Loved the comments about Royalty. Thank you again for the very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I found this a very clean and comfortable place to stay, and I can be a little fussy! I felt at home as soon as I arrived, and the food was delicious! I fully recommend others to stay and take advantage of this quaint home - the hosts are very welcoming and interesting people to meet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineThomas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, these our very valuable to us as a business. Kelvin and I both enjoyed your visit and even more special to have a Scottish guest as of course Blairgowrie House is named after the small town Blairgowrie in Scotland, where the original owners (1916) Grandparents lived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hubby and I have returned home from two nights stay at Blairgowrie. We were 3 couples who descended upon Annette, Kelvin & Frodo Friday night as we were celebrating my birthday. Annette surprised me with a lovely HAPPY BIRTHDAY banner, cheese & crackers, chippies & warm snacks. The decor was just as lovely as the website depicted. Hubby LOVED the Man Cave & we both adored Frodo the friendly kitty. Annette & Kelvin have it all down to a fine art. Manicured lawns, spotless accommodation & many little extras, not to mention scrumptious breakfasts. They both allowed us the perfect mix of being around when we needed them for a chat or advice on places to eat & visit, but also leaving us to our own devices. The feeling that we were invading someones home quickly disappeared and we settled in for a relaxing weekend. Even my not very easily impressable husband was impressed and has informed me that he would go back there to stay. I am already looking for an excuse to go back!

Room Tip: If you want a deck then choose the Tulip or Chocolat rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
A huge thank you for the glowing report. The great thing about Bed & Breakfast is that everyone is in a fun holiday mood looking for a surprise and different experiences. We do our best to make memories. Thanks for a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed recently and can honestly say, that due to husband's career we have lived in 11 countries and stayed in a lot of holiday accommodation and Blairgowrie House has to top the list. Quite splendid: comfortable, pristine, exquisite decor and charming hosts. They've thought of absolutely everything to make your stay unforgettable. Di F

Room Tip: The Chocolate Room easily accessible from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeAnnette, Owner at Blairgowrie House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Di Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Kelvin and I enjoyed hosting you both even though it was so short and no time to view the 'Man Cave'. We look forward to another visit when you have the time to wander through the shed filled with vintage machinery and collections of all the unexpected!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
2.4 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grosvenor House B&B
Grosvenor House B&B
#1 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#2 of 8 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.0 mi away
73 Milton Accomodation
73 Milton Accomodation
#6 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairgowrie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairgowrie House

Property: Blairgowrie House
Address: 75 Peake Road, Cambridge 3493, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blairgowrie House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blairgowrie House exquisite Bed & Breakfast, situated just 5 min from Cambridge village with its fine restaurants and boutique shopping. Retreat,relax and recharge in our lovingly restored 1916 bungalow, tastefully decorated with the charm and romance of the Edwardian era.The House sits on five acres of land surrounded by extensive country gardens, also on site is a huge collection of vintage machinery available to view. Three generously proportioned suites - two with en-suite, one with private bathroom. All rooms have TV, fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, air con/heat pump, relaxing furniture, supreme comfort bedding. Fresh Continental breakfast. Guest laundry.Free parking room for trucks,vans etc, secure lock up area for bikes. Central to Hamilton, Rotorua Thermal land, Waitomo Caves, 10 mins to Mystery Creek and airport,20min from Lake Karapiro,25 min scenic drive to Hobbiton Movie Set and 2 min to St Peters Private School, and Avantidrome cycling home of cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Blairgowrie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing