We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Friendly, Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Court Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quiet, Friendly, Excellent Value”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Four adults stayed here for one night on our way up North. Everywhere else in Cambridge seemed booked out due to a local event. We spotted a sign saying "Quiet Motel" and were lucky enough to get a room due to a cancellation. Motel owners were very friendly and we received a free wifi voucher. Motel was clean and very tidy. Design was the basic 'block' type of many similar motels. Lovely swimming pool, which was much appreciated after a hot day driving. Motel had everything we needed without being ostentatious or luxurious. Being off the main road, where many motels normally are, meant it was quiet, which I really liked. Beds could have been firmer for our tastes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, nice flatscreen tv, plenty of channels, wi-fi by voucher,(given free as a favour), reasonable rates and overall a great stay.Wouldn;t hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I spent 3wks at this motel. Greg and Sylvia were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The accomodation was excellent i.e Beds, cooking facillites and bathroom features, the cleaning staff were most helpful. The Motel is only 5mins from the towncentre and 20 mins from Hamilton. It is also centrally located for the Waikato area. I would highly recommend this quiet motel. There is also a large swimming pool.

graham evans

Room Tip: room with spa facillites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Their website says "clean" and "stylish" ...Room 8 was far from it. Black mould spores galore on curtains, windows, and rotting timber in the shower. (Google 'black mould health problems' and hold your breath). Inadequate ventilation in the bathroom so the mirror fogs up (which was in front of the hand basin, so I had to lean over it to apply my makeup, and with terrible lighting), and there is no other mirror anywhere. Antique TV with terrible reception. Dirty floors (I wiped them to convince myself that I was not imagining it). Horrible 'trampoline' bed (everytime my husband rolled over I became somewhat airborne). Desert plate had food stuck to it. The outdoor hanging plants are too low, so prepare to duck if you are over 5'7" (which my busband is). To avoid confusion, parking spaces should be numbered for each room. The uneven tiles around the pool are a hazard. This is not value for money as we can stay at the Millenium in Rotorua for the same price with top class rooms. The positive side... Sylvia was lovely, and it was "quiet" as advertised. Sylvia...please get new cleaners.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Substandard with minimal facilities, poor TV, poor internet and needed a good spring clean and full makeover. Curtains and windows dirty and moldy. Reasonably quiet.

Room Tip: Low budget facilities with high prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

What a find! Large, comfortable rooms with good cooking facilities, Large swimming pool. Situated on a quiet street yet within easy reach of the town centre. Friendly and very obliging managers. An ideal centre for touring the beautiful Waikato valley. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haematocrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooks Beach _Whitianga_NZ
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Traveling home and just looking for somewhere to stop overnight. Priorities were for
* Quiet - peaceful sleep is so important when traveling.
* Clean - very, very important for us.
* Genuine hospitality
* Good service
Although the decor is 'dated' it was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed our overnight stay here. It met all our requirements and their referral for dinner was excellent. (At the local trotting club)
We would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerryLanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
11.6 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 63 in Hamilton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
Cambrian Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Cambridge
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#3 of 8 in Cambridge
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Court Motel

Property: Colonial Court Motel
Address: 37 Vogel Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing