We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful Hosts.”

Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful Hosts.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in 2 bedroomed unit which was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Appreciated the free Wi-Fi and inconspicuous cleaning and replacement of towels etc. A great location with an easy walk to the shopping area during the day and good restaurants at night. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Unit 1 has people walking past to get to other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
20
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Spent only one night but would have been a lovely place to stay longer. We were on our way to Auckland for our return home after 3 weeks traveling through both islands. The Inn is in a great location, well maintained, and very comfortable. The room was large and welcome after a few we had stayed in that were half the size.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great motor inn, large spacious rooms and excellent facilities. Owners were super efficient and helpful. A very pleasant stay and we would gladly recommend this place to any and all. When next in Cambridge, we will stay here without doubt. Easy walk into the shopping area of Cambridge

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Got there very late on Christmas Day. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating since we were arriving long after office hours. Very clean and comfortable. The 2 beds were in one long room - not a lot of airflow in the room, but a fan was provided.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The feel of this place is definitely dated (nothing modern), but the suites are very large and tidy, with a lovely porch area to sit in. Given the size of the suites, we were surprised we only had a small apartment-sized fridge, which was a little frustrating as we were stocking up and cooking all our own meals.
The pool is great (although only about 8 strokes per lap). The proprietors (from England) were friendly, and responsive to our requests. It is very quiet here (quite set back from the street). There is a beautiful park nearby with a large pond and ducks.

Room Tip: We were in the corner suite (#3) which was great because the bedrooms faced out to the back (not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a wedding to go to booked this last minute pretty good value we had two double beds but only one was needed. The high ceiling made the room seem very spacious. Bed was ok. Shower was hot and good pressure. Staff were very friendly and the free wifi is great. Kids were playing in the pool about 8.00am so not that great for a hangover cure but overall a good motel :) cheers!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leahpeah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

While the room certainly could do with some modernising, we could find little to complain about the cleanliness, lack of noise and the amount of space in the room. The high ceiling and spacious interior made us feel relaxed. No security concerns. The inn is located next to a retirement village within the town, so it probably contributed to the quiet neighbourhood. The inn is also very close to town, just two to three blocks from Victoria Park where the Farmers' Market is on Saturday mornings.

The hosts were helpful and pointed us the way to Hobbiton as well as some of the restaurants and amenities within Cambridge. Would recommend this if you want a roomy place to stay in and aren't too fussy about decor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.6 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
35 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#10 of 63 in Hamilton
941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#3 of 8 in Cambridge
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
Cambrian Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Cambridge
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Motor Inn

Property: Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Address: 57a Hamilton Road, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's Quarters Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Captain's Quarters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing