We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated but clean and roomy”

Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed November 6, 2013

While the room certainly could do with some modernising, we could find little to complain about the cleanliness, lack of noise and the amount of space in the room. The high ceiling and spacious interior made us feel relaxed. No security concerns. The inn is located next to a retirement village within the town, so it probably contributed to the quiet neighbourhood. The inn is also very close to town, just two to three blocks from Victoria Park where the Farmers' Market is on Saturday mornings.

The hosts were helpful and pointed us the way to Hobbiton as well as some of the restaurants and amenities within Cambridge. Would recommend this if you want a roomy place to stay in and aren't too fussy about decor.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Very pricey for quality of rooms. Really dated - looks like as furnished in early eighties and untouched since. Staff nice enough. Pool nothing like as big as in photo. Ok for overnight but wouldn't spend longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAH2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great little motel. We stayed in a unit that by the owners own admission is due for an upgrade however it is more than adequate in its present state. Clean, tidy, with lovely friendly hosts who did everything to help. Also amazingly quiet especially considering the location. Recommended to all looking for a genuine inexpensive small town experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shiwon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here only one night but wished we could stay longer. The staff were so friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was very large and very clean. We would recommend this well cared for and maintained motor inn!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlashVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for one night as we were passing through Cambridge. The facilities were impressive and very clean. The hosts were very friendly and inviting and made us feel very welcome
I would highly recommend staying at this motel. Thank you The Budd Family :)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Moonie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights. I arrived with 3 lads that were taking part in rowing trials at lake Karapiro so 4 0f us to 1 room. Although one of the lads was my son, you still wonder what level of comfort you are going to enjoy or not! I have to say, the room was easily large enough to accommodate all of us with 3 singles and 1 double bed. The room was very clean, well equipped with toaster, kettle, fridge + knives forks etc. Good shower and plenty of hot water. Having driven for 4 hours and with a an early morning start, we needed a good nights rest before the hard work of the rowing trials. We had a great nights sleep in a quiet room even though the hotel is right on the main road. great owners - couldn't do more for you - very well recommended.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well located around the pool and enjoy the same peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Everyhting you'd expect (in a good way) and more fromm this lovely small town motel. Exceptional service, spacious rooms and lovely bathrooms, Great location back from street sp peaceful. One of my favourite motels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.6 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
42 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cambridge Mews
Cambridge Mews
#3 of 8 in Cambridge
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#5 of 8 in Cambridge
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
Cambrian Lodge Motel
#6 of 8 in Cambridge
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Quarters Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Motor Inn

Address: 57a Hamilton Road, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Cambridge
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $92 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's Quarters Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain's Quarters Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing