We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and venue”
Review of Bohemian Bungalow

Bohemian Bungalow
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Eumundi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant. Lounge. Garden Bar. From the moment you step into Bohemian Bungalow, we aim to create an experience you will want to come back for time and time again. Whether you love the ambience of the lounge and restaurant, or the chilled, magical setting of our garden bar, The BoHo is your home away from home. Settle in. Escape the world outside. Enjoy those Noosa Hinterland vibes. We get excited about fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared in a simple and honest way. With a twist of BoHo, of course. If meat's your thing, don't miss out on something cooked Low N' Slow from our wood fired smoker (aka "The General"). We also love a good party - and invite you to host your next soirée at our place! With both indoor and outdoor areas available, we can help create a unique and fun event tailored just for you. The kind of party where amazing memories are made and shared. Whether you're looking for a good wholesome meal, a casual drink or somewhere to celebrate, we'd love to see you! Meet you at The BoHo.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
565 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good food, service and venue”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enjoyed our brekki here today. Lovely and relaxing spot. Our (3) choices were all well cooked and really well presented. Coffee was very good. Service was also good. Great spot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    90
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our 4th visit, as locals we like to support local restaurants, but never again. 1st visit in the opening week was excellent. The 2nd in January with friends from interstate, the comments from them were, "very limited menu, you wouldn't have a reason to return, not enough choice: to bad if you can't eat wheat, nothing on the menu for you then". We ordered seafood pizza that had nothing but 3 prawns on it, it broke on the way to the table, the waitress gave us that one for free & bought another, very nice of her & lucky for our friend as one would not have been enough for him, he polished them both off on his own. The base of the pizza was more like a cracker, rather dry. My partner ordered the special, crab pasta that was unbelievably small. The other two meals where also small. 3rd visit was a share plate, we are not big eaters & only wanted something light, but for $32 it was nice but very small. 4th visit was last night as a fathers day dinner for 4. The restaurant has a fantastic atmosphere, service is friendly but rushed & you have to ask for stuff like forks & pour your own wine & water.
The meals were really small for the price, 6 olives for $10, gnocchi was a main & very small, my partners favourite dish is gnocchi & he said it was "ok". We read the Bungalow had a new chef & his speciality is gnocchi, the reason we gave it another try, disappointing. My daughter & I ordered beef cheeks, my daughter said it was pathetic, full of onion hardly any beef cheeks, as was mine, it came with bubble & squeak & nothing else no greens, very small. the other dish was seafood pasta, which got a "good". Very sad the food is a bit like Coles Café, with bubble & squeak & ribs with chips & coleslaw, not what we expect at those prices or from a restaurant. Our "thing" is going for dinner, as locals, for a great meal that we don't have to drive far we find Cooroy pub far superior in food & value than the Bungalow. The owners seem very nice, maybe they should get out & have a few meals to compare what they are serving. We have great produce around here, use it. Lovely restaurant, shame about the food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LeisaSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Owner at Bohemian Bungalow, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
To be honest we are disappointed in your review. We encourage feedback from our patrons as it is important to never rest on your laurels. To date we have had excellent feedback from our local clientele and listen to any constructive criticism that is offered. We find that people are now hearing good things about our little restaurant and are visiting from further afield.
I had the beef cheek dish for dinner with my daughter a few nights before your visit. There was plenty of tender meat and a perfect size for a main served in a cast iron skillet. There is a side of green vegies on offer with the mains if desired. I won't go into your other complaints.
Please be aware that our employees are passionate about the Boho. They are always finding ways to improve the business. We ask that our patrons are careful in writing with such negative intent, nothing good can result from it. We are always present and willing to discuss any problems at the time of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great vibe, good service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We dined here on a Friday night and had a great time - a really funky and relaxed restaurant. The staff were friendly and provided a good service. Many items on the menu looked enticing and were well cooked, with mains costing around $30.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Interesting and delicious”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great service, friendly staff, excellent food.

.........................

We loved the atmosphere.

Interesting tastes well presented.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brizmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon very disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

As a local we have visited the Bohemian Bungalow 6 times since they have opened. Great venue but this afternoon was a huge disappointment. We were lured due to Bagdad Cafe playing from 2 to 4 pm. Organised a table of 6. The service was average and we were all excited by the menu butt failed to deliver. Intersting we were given a lunch menu not a taps menu.The calamari dusted in polenta was undercooked, the Cinderalla Whatever pizza was undercooked, with steamed not roasted pumpkin, the little piggy went to Paris was the pick of the menu or maybe the French fires with aioli was the best dish. Although we were all hungry we didn't eat it all.
Okay have tried to,support this local establishment but total embarrassment when 2 other guests arrived at 2.30 had a drink (orderd an expensive bottle of wine) and finally ordered from the the tapas menu 2 to4 and were told at 3.40- pm the Restuarant had closed!!
Well they drove to Moolaba for an early dinner.
We have tried to support this local restaurant but frankly over it now! a big pity for,Eumundi.
Happy to,chat about this as we would,love you guys to get better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline A, Owner at Bohemian Bungalow, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Sorry that your visit with us was so disappointing. Perhaps that 'chat' with us would have been a more appropriate way of communicating with us, but you obviously needed this forum to vent. We offer a full lunch menu from 12pm and a tapas menu from 2pm on a Sunday, all you need to do is ask if you'd like to order from the tapas menu earlier.
The calamari dish you refer to is cuttlefish and it is dusted in semolina not polenta. Cuttlefish is not cooked like calamari rings you see in many establishments.
To clarify your comment about the restaurant closing at 3:40pm, this is not the case. We offer music at our venue from 2 to 4pm. We have had patrons stay until 6pm. As we are located a small country town, our lunch & tapas service winds down from 3:30pm onwards depending on how many patrons are still ordering & eating.
It would be interesting to understand how your first 6 visits with us were and why you chose to only post your comments on the negative experience.
Sorry that you are 'over' the Bohemian, we know you will enjoy other establishments that will cater to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bohemian Bungalow also viewed

Eumundi, Sunshine Coast
 
Eumundi, Sunshine Coast
Eumundi, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Bohemian Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing