We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Granite Country”

Girraween National Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Ballandean
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed May 29, 2018

I visited this NP for the first time with friends. With a multitude of great hikes, from easy to the serious hiker or rock climber. Will definitely be back.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"castle rock"
in 34 reviews
"granite arch"
in 35 reviews
"bird life"
in 11 reviews
"camping area"
in 9 reviews
"fitness levels"
in 9 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 9 reviews
"information centre"
in 9 reviews
"toilet facilities"
in 8 reviews
"bring your own"
in 7 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 7 reviews
"easy walk"
in 6 reviews
"turtle rock"
in 6 reviews
"wild flowers"
in 6 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 5 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 4 reviews
"camping ground"
in 4 reviews
"hot shower"
in 4 reviews
Filter

20 - 24 of 307 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

Took adult kids. Son climbed to top of The Pyramids. Daughter stay on track near the car park. My husband and I made it to the top of the tree line great view. Will return for more walks. Loved the rocks

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Geol_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We climbed the pyramid in the most extreme wind I have ever experienced. I highly recommend wearing shoes with extremely good grip. Some parts of the climb can induce panic attacks but my goodness it was worth it - even just to accomplish it!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank SophieB1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

This park stretches over miles, filled with impressive and sometimes grotesque rock formations. Unbelievable what the forces of nature can achieve over millions of years. Expect a lot of walking and hiking if you want to see more than one of the major attractions. The Granite Arch is the closest to the parking lot, about 40 minutes round trip, but definitely worth the trip.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Gournemanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Very much a scramble at the end although the views on a clear day are rewarding.
Take your time going down, we all had a few slips and stumbles and it was still daylight!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank ClaireKing92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girraween National Park also viewed

Tenterfield, New South Wales
Ballandean, Queensland
 
Stanthorpe, Southern Downs Region
 

Been to Girraween National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing