We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barrelroom

The Barrelroom
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ballandean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We believe in keeping our food mileage low, utilising the abundant produce in the area and working with both local farmers and the seasons to showcase what the Granite Belt has to offer. We support free range and sustainable farming practices, as well as organic where possible, and have given ourselves a strict three hour radius in which to source our produce - if we cannot get something within this radius, we simply do not use it. We allowed three hours so we were able to reach Ballina for seafood, however most things are coming from much closer to home. Currently our pork, tomatoes and garlic come from within minutes of the restaurant. Because we use such local produce, for the most part we are unable to order in cuts of meat, so meat comes to us as whole beasts, if not delivered by the farmer who raised and slaughtered it, then by the butcher who did. For this reason, you will notice our mains will often feature a cut of meat as well as a braise so we can utilise and pay homage to the whole animal. Everything possible is produced in house including the bread, cultured cream and butter and we like to feature wild foraged ingredients on our menu. We welcome you warmly to The Barrelroom and hope you can appreciate the effort we put into designing a menu that is not only delicious, but mindful, clever and above all, respectful of the produce we utilise.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food was fabulous and reasonably priced. We were impressed that they dealt with some noisy guests and also that the chef took the time to come out of the kitchen to check if everyone was happy. Only down side was that we felt we were being rushed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    61
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We only called in for a quick lunch while driving down the highway, but what a find. The kids were served a delicious tomato pasta (with fresh homemade pasta) and we shared breads and tasting plates. The food was excellent as was the service. This is a true Italian trattoria parachuted into southern Qld.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buddkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Love this winery. The wines are great, the staff very friendly and the food at the cafe is beautiful.
The winery tour is certainly worthwhile. Very informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14LouiseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Whilst staying at a cottage in Ballandean we came to Ballandean Estate wines to stock up on our favourite wines.
We did a walking tour of the winery with Leanne and learnt so much about the history as well as the actual process.
Afterwards we had lunch at the Barrel room cafe.
Oh my goodness - the mussel dish was the nicest food I have EVER eaten at a cafe or restaurant, anywhere !
The staff were lovely and extremely efficient. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14LouiseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours, fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had dinner here Sunday night, 07.07.13 (3 of us) - we ordered entree mussels, atlantic salmon, shared entree - garlic bread, like no other ever experienced, risotto and a kids steak and chips. Bobbi our waitress was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble - she stoked the fire a couple of times throughout our dinner stay. The flavours in our meals were simply amazing, whipped up by Matt - oh so fresh, and the Ballandean Estate Sauv. Blanc was also divine. A beautiful rustic feel in this cafe - love the huge wine barrels! Highly recommend this for a cosy night's dinner in the granite belt. Note - Google Maps told me it was 450m once we got onto Sundown Rd, however it's more like 2km, so don't think you've passed it in the dark. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrelroom also viewed

 

Been to The Barrelroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing