We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Girraween Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballandean B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed here two nights to enjoy some bushwalking in the adjacent Girraween National Park and enjoyed a very peaceful and relaxing stay however the Inn did not seem to be at full capacity during our visit so not sure how it would be when full but with only seven rooms it is not a "mega resort".

The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the hosts very pleasant.
The restaurant was not operating due to the owners looking to recruit a new chef so you have to drive down to the local tavern or into Stanthorpe which is only 15-20 mins away with many to choose from.

They did however provide a continental breakfast which was very enjoyable and prepared us for the day ahead.

We are looking forward to a visit again in the Winter to enjoy the colder climate and log fires.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed for one night while on a short tour of the region. Our hostess Apolonia could not have been more helpful and welcoming when we arrived. The Inn is cozy and comfortable with all you need to relax after a days touring. The gardens were pretty with roses and awesome granite boulders. Our host Peters breakfast was superb too. Definitely worth a look and very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MulberryJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

What a beautiful and idyllic spot with wonderful owners. After travelling along the East Coast we wanted to go more land inwards and see the national parks and Australian wineries. Giraween Country Inn was the perfect place. A gorgeous hotel surrounded by huge amounts of bush land in the middle of the granite belt.

The owners (Apolonia and Peter) immediately made us feel at home and gave us plentiful advice on tours and bush walks. One of the things we really enjoyed was a winery tour. Absolutely loved it and learned so much!

We certainly recommend the hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o_lotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Such a relaxing place. Felt like home from the minute we arrived. The hosts, Peter and Apollonia, are warm,welcoming and very helpful with advice on restaurants and wineries to visit. You couldn't meet nicer people! The backdrop is the Girraween National Park and there are walks starting from the Inn.
The Inn has a European feel to it as Apollonia moved to Australia from Austria as a child. Rooms are spacious and well appointment. My only quibble would be the bathroom can be a little cold in winter.
We had a delicious breakfast (included in the price) in a sunny,cosy breakfast area. Nights were spent reading and chatting by the fabulous fire while our kids played with the boardgames provided.
Will definately be going back. In fact, am meeting up with the owner today who very kindly offered to drop in something we left there. Now that's great service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nastroazzurro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
9.9 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
5.0 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
128 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ridgemill Estate: Cabins in the Vineyard
8.5 mi away
Loggers Rest
Loggers Rest
#4 of 8 in Stanthorpe
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girraween Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girraween Country Inn

Property: Girraween Country Inn
Address: 1793 Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4380, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Girraween Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Girraween Country Inn is in a land of huge Granite Boulders at a height of nearly 1,000 metres on a 40 acre Eucalypt forest. Relax in our comfortable and spacious King Suites, dine in our restaurant and enjoy a selection of the best local wines in our fully licensed bar. The Inn is also ideal for families with one bedroom and adjoining suites, common areas to relax and gardens to explore.All the local attractions are just on our doorstep. The Inn is just moments from the boutique wineries of Ballandean and Stanthorpe and a short drive from the four major National Parks. We look forward to welcoming you to the Girraween Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Girraween Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing