We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a Gem in the Granite Belt”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballandean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballandean Tavern Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballandean
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I were having a lovely overnight weekend ride on our motor bikes and wanted somewhere that we could drink, eat and sleep. We found this lovely little motel tavern. It is only about 20kms from Stanthorp and to tell you the truth I think this was a better overnight spot than any others that we have stayed at before in Stanthorpe. It is only about 10 mins to the Giraween national park too, which is worth a look. The rooms are modern, clean and nicely appointed, the bathroom is well sized, clean and modern with a pretty good shower. It is also airconditioned. But do pack your own toiletries and tissues. The food in the tavern was pretty good too, so you wont starve either. We didnt see it as we drove through Ballandean on the main road, my tip is "cross over the railway line" The tavern is on the other side where the vineyard is.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same except one which caters for 5 people. a double and three singles. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auzzigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Trying to find accommodation for just one night in the Granite Belt can be really difficult as many insist on a minimum 2 night stay so we were delighted when we were able to get 2 rooms at this great little tavern in Ballandean.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, modern with large bathrooms.. We ate in the pub and the food was hearty, wholesome and fresh with beautiful home made sauces to accompany our steaks. There is a good range of beers and local wines.
Enjoyed a lovely morning stroll amongst the vines behind the motel....
Ballandean is a great spot for visiting the nearby Girraween National Park and lots of other attractions..
Can highly recommend this little gem!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mulgacollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Tavern many times - the accommodation is cheap but I have no idea why - the rooms are great. They are clean, spacious and quiet. And the food at the tavern is hearty and awesome. I took my mother with me one time, and her dietary requirements were met for her meal with no fuss or problems. It's actually quite a buzz staying there on a State of Origin night - with the border so close, there was a great mix of both QLD and NSW supporters there to watch the game and encourage some friendly banter and rivalry! I highly recommend the Tavern!

Room Tip: The family room can sleep 5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Although not staying here (we were staying on a farm nearby), we visited the Ballandean Tavern Motel for dinner after a long day out exploring Girraween National Park. A friendly welcome in the bar was followed by good, filling food in the dining area. Both the bar and restaurant area were clean and tidy, and the service good. It appears to be the sort of place that is used by locals as well as visitors to the area. Had we been staying in the area longer we would certainly have come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We did not stay here, instead we stopped in for dinner one night at the Tavern...then returned the next night as the food was so good! Loved the Chicken Caesar Salad (I ordered with dressing on the side). The local rangers frequent this establishment, so managed to find out a little more about the native wildlife and what they are doing in the area. It was great! They had a fire going, so it was also very cosy. Tidy, fresh decor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We made a last minute booking to stay at the Tavern because we could only get away for 1 night. Staying in Ballandean rather than Tenterfield or Stanthorpe was the much better choice as we spent most of our weekend in Girraween which is just down the road.

There are only 4 rooms at the Tavern but what they lack in quantity they more than make up for in quality. The rooms are large, clean and very well maintained. For the price they are a bargain and you would struggle to find better service anywhere else.

We had dinner at the Tavern and it was great food. And it was no trouble or extra charge to have entrees delivered to the room as we were waiting for a phone call. I would definitely stay at the Tavern again when we come to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Solhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The Ballandean Tavern is approximately 25 kilometres south of the Stanthorpe turn-off on the New England Highway. Alternatively it is approximately 17 kilometers north of Wallangarra. The hotel is is a family friendly establishment with great atmosphere, good food, friendly staff and interesting locals. The motel units are spacious, modern and very,very clean. The owners, Ian and Stephanie are on site and the smallest request is never a bother. We have stayed several times and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and motel to every-one.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fozzie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
11.6 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
9.4 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
115 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
56 reviews
20.2 mi away
Tenterfield Tavern
Tenterfield Tavern
#6 of 8 in Tenterfield
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballandean Tavern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballandean Tavern Motel

Address: Cnr St Judes & Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4382, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballandean
Price Range: $1 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing