We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Nights in Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Toorak Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toorak Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toorak
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two Nights in Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Booked this place purely on price and will stay again based on value for money. Free car parking, free wifi & a very basic continental breakfast included in price. Quiet, olde style accomodation. Staff very helpful and friendly. Two minutes walk to Hawksburn Railway Station. I will be back. See you there!

Room Tip: Go with the flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    32
    24
    8
    15
See reviews for
13
36
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had to book a Hotel at the last minute as our plans had changed suddenly on a trip from the UK. This was the only reasonably cheap hotel we could find in Melbourne at short notice. We booked a triple room for my husband and I and our 13 year old Daughter.

When we arrived I was horrified, it looked old and run down with threadbare carpets. The room itself was large with an old metal four poster bed and a single bed. The four poster bed had bits missing and the cover looked grubby. My first thought was to leave immediately. But we stayed as had no other choice.

I AM GALD WE STAYED... Yes it was a bit rundown and the furniture did not match, but the room was actually spotless and it had a lovely clean bathroom. We had all the toiletries you would find in a modern 4* Hotels and a new hairdryer, Kettle and Iron. It had free Wi-Fi which pleased my daughter and it was so convenient to Melbourne we did not need our car for the three days we stayed.

The breakfast was lovely just what we needed and the Staff very friendly and helpful. If I had to stay in Toorak again for any reason I would definitely stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed years ago and thus came again- sadly it has gone downhill rapidly. The staff are reasonable at their job but have no local knowledge, and no warmth, breakfast is poor. This gorgeous Victorian Manor has been put to the sword. Add to this the decor needs a freshen up- badly worn carpets etc and we won't bother again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontouf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Booked a double room - there were no photos of the ACTUAL room which was at the top of the manor up narrow stairs away from other rooms. Was not period furnishings but worn out 1980's/90/s chairs, the single bedroom had no bedspread. The main bedroom had such a neglected isolating feeling and I left without spending the entire night there. Will not be returning

Room Tip: don't book room 20 at the top of the manor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Simone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toorak hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Location is good if Chapel St is your scene. It's close to two trams and a train station. It's very naff, very dated, etc. We were in room 19 which was in desperate need of a paint job and a make over in general. It was relatively clean, could have been better. Free parking! Common areas again naff, etc. Customer service was not bad because it really was non existent. We had to call the hotel back twice as the first booking confirmation came through without the correct bedding configuration; the second the wrong dates, oops. No sign of the rumoured ghosts though someone in the guest book had said room 20 was a bit 'scary'. There are better places to stay...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank akm191076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Overall, good hotel if you visit Melbourne and need or prefer to stay in or around South Yarra. Good size rooms, reasonably equipped (hair dryer, iron, working TV, free wi-fi that worked well). Had room overlooking the railway line, so we were aware of noise from trains, but never found it to be obtrusive or a problem. Literally a stone throw to train station (3 stops to Flinders St), 5 minutes walk to Malvern or Toorak Roads and trams. A modest walk towards the city (15 to 20 minutes for most) for shopping district and Prahran Market - the latter is well worth a visit as it makes the Adelaide market look a little shabby. The hotel is a lovely old building, but lacks grandeur, so in that respect the advertising is not entirely accurate, but it is clean, comfortable, quiet, well located and not overly expensive for reasonable accommodation if you are visiting Melbourne. Staff were cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeScrooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soller, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

It's tired, shabby and not all that clean. TV didn't work. Double glazed windows keep traffic and train noise to a minimum. On the plus side, the staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate. It's centrally located. Outdoor furniture should be thrown out - broken chairs a very poor welcome.

Room Tip: Front rooms are larger and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caminowalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toorak
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toorak Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toorak Manor

Property: Toorak Manor
Address: 220 Williams Rd, Toorak, Stonnington, Victoria 3142, Australia (Formerly Flag Heritage Toorak Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Toorak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toorak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Toorak Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toorak Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toorak
Toorak Quality Inn
Toorak Manor Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing