We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Value is in the Occupants :)”

Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Toorak B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Value is in the Occupants :)”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I had the good fortune to stay for two nights and quickly felt very at home. AND this is what we have....a home stay. We were immersed in the world of Howard and Jeremy, Elizabeth and Taylor and enjoyed every minute of it. Oh sure there was a bit of dust here and there (they are blokes after all) and God bless him, Howard smokes, but really, if these things offend one's sensibilities then one is really, really missing out on what I found to be a treasured experience I hope not to forget. I would stay here again without hesitation. (I have been called a 'cleaning nazi ' at home, so yes I can be very details oriented, but I would not let that deter me in future). The home offers so much, including easy access to transport to the city via tram and train. It is 2 minutes walk from Hawksburn station which in turn is at worst 10 minutes from Flinders Street. We fell upon Toorak and Prahan Markets which were a highlight for me. I felt so very, very safe.

Elizabeth and Taylor wouldn't fit in my pockets to take home with me and are gorgeous...and so are Jeremy and Howard. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice bed & breakfast! The rooms and the bathroom are good as is the breakfast. The hospitality includes having drinks at 5 pm with the hosts and their two children (i.e. dogs Elizabeth and Taylor). The breakfast is what you want to have! It helps to enjoy it more if you like dogs and smoking!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Levensgenietster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a fabulous weekend in Melbourne and Howard and Jeremy were wonderful hosts. Howard was a ball of laughs, and it was great how he shared stories and photos of their trips with us during happy hour. The famous Chapel St, precinct was within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The city was less than 6km away, and after a day or evening outing, we felt were coming back to our own home at night. The kids (Elizabeth and Taylor) were a delight as well. The house was filled with delightful paintings and memorabilia and the bedrooms were comfortable and we all slept well. The only negative was that Howard smoked! To The William's Rd. boys, thank you for sharing Cotterville Homestay with us. Regards John & Pam (Sydney) and Jim & Christa (Greece).......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Cotterville Homestay is situated close to the city and is easily accessible to public transport.
The house is a stately home with nice gardens at the front and rear
However, be mindful the rooms do not have locks and in my case this was a significant security concern travelling as a single woman.
The bedroom contained a television - BUT whilst I could operate this equipment, the TV would not remain on and would go dead every 20 minutes ….. in the end it was just easier to read a book!
The towels were basic and clean and facilities in the bathroom ok but ….there was a large stain on my bedspread which was somewhat off putting …..
I could not comment on the quality of wifi as I provided my own
You should also be aware that the smell of cigarette smoke is prevalent and smoking occurs indoors. This proved to be a problem as I am asthmatic and extremely sensitive to cigarette smoke.
This B&B has the potential to be a great place to stay as there are some lovely art works on display from the owners travels ……
It would also be nice to have a coffee /tea machine with cups etc easily accessible to guests to utilise - nothing available in the bedroom and I doubt there is space to set this up as the bedroom quite small.
However as this is a B&B that does not accommodate children I suggest having these cold water/ tea/coffee / biscuits available in the front and back lounge room areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the "Cotterville" homestay and had a very nice stay. Great location for transport and good resteraunts close by. Howard and Jeremy and the kids looked after us like long lost friends and the happy hours were so much fun. Very cumfy bed and bathroom facilities were great.Lovely home much better than a cold hotel stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandsdaleOldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Staying at Cotterville was a holiday in its own right. We had 4 nights with Howard and Jeremy and enjoyed their most generous hospitality, wonderful humour and stories. We had the joy of a couple of extra puppy visitors too. Tram and train are very close to Cotterville. We only caught the tram and that was 15 minutes ($4)into Flinders Street. Incredibly quiet for being on a main road, and oasis in Melbourne.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank aneehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights. Howard and Jeremy are fantastic hosts. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble, and they clearly really enjoy having guests to stay. Beautiful house filled with original art and memorabilia. Elizabeth and Taylor (2 small dogs) are very well behaved and add to the fun. Howard smokes in the house, but the web site makes this very clear. Happy hour with wine and nibbles is a great opportunity to pick up information about Melbourne / things to see and do, and hear a bit about the guys interesting lives and travels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alltanarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toorak
Toorak Manor
#1 of 1 in Toorak
88 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
328 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast
Address: 204 Williams Rd, Toorak, Stonnington, Victoria 3142, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Toorak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Toorak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotterville Homestay / Bed & Breakfast Toorak, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing