We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Relaxing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magenta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We checked in for a child-free birthday weekend after a leisurely lunch in the Entrance. The staff were friendly & managed to give us a late check out for the next day.
Our studio room was clean & comfortable with a king size bead, and sliding doors with direct access to the smaller outdoor pools

We had planned to sit around the outdoor pool & drink cocktails, but unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side. Instead we tried the indoor pool & steam room which were great.
Later that night we ate at the cocktail bar, the food was excellent as was the service & cocktails (try the pear mojito)

Although we were child free we did notice there was an excellent kids playground & the swimming pool would also be great for kids of all ages

The price (close to $400 for a saturday night) and location may not suit everyone (it's quite isolated) but we had a great relaxing weekend and have already planned to come back with our family for a longer stay.

Room Tip: we originally thought a room closer to the main pool would be good, but after spending some time at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theyipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    206
    79
    43
    22
See reviews for
193
192
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel...especially if you are a golfer. The suites all seem to look out on a swimming pool and the beach is nearby. The 3 bedroom suites are very spacious and open out onto a little terrace. The studio suites are very cramped and the one I had did not have a bath. But still, the quietness of the area meant I had a wonderful sleep. There are two separate swimming pool areas. Both pool areas are landscaped nicely and very close to the room - plenty of shade if you want to escape the sun and loads of sun loungers. There is a toddler pool also.

The only "fly in the ointment" was the poor service at the front desk. I suspect that if you get the right staff this would not be an issue - I was unfortunate enough to have the wrong staff. They were slow to check people in - very slow. It took us about 20 mins before someone could be bothered to even acknowledge our presence despite us standing right in front of them. When they did check us in they failed to give us information on the facilities or the restaurant or even the room. The resort is quite large so it would have been helpful to have been given a bit of guidance to find the room (which was a few minutes drive away from the main building). I had arranged a late check-out when I checked in - unfortunately they failed to tell anyone else. I was called by a very bossy and rude person from the front desk telling me that I should have checked out. Very rude!

Would I stay there again? Probably I would stay there if I ever have to go to that area for business. I would certainly not go there for a holiday (I don't play golf) . I would make sure I had a larger room than the one I had.

The hotel is a little way from town so it is easier to eat at the resort. The restaurant and bar are very pleasant and not too expensive. The room service menu is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for something bigger than the studio - it is much to cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Although this resort is in a nice part of the world, if you don't play golf or tennis you might get bored, especially if you had no car.
The apartments are excellent if a bit stark, and the kitchens under equipped for serious cooking.
The restaurant in the main building is excellent. The staff i met were very nice with big smiles.
You could not really swim at the beach as it is not patrolled, and looked a bit dangerous.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went to This resort for a family Christmas get together. When we arrived one front office staff had a problem finding who we were with(big group of 16) and I might add they were not very helpful, not the friendly greeting I was expecting, she was pregnant maybe not a good day. Another staff took over quickly and found the booking and we were settled in. We had a problem with the bedding as we had a family of boys and had queen beds, again that same front office staff was less than helpful when we called , but the housekeeping staff got right on it and we received a trundle. The family booked three villas and all were very nice, I have to say the beds were the best I have ever slept on. The bathroom was to die for with a tub so big my favorite place to be. One thing we did not like was that someone on a Sunday morning decided to mow the lawns at 6;30 am which woke us up as the golf course is just outside our room. We dined at the restaurant Saturday evening and the food was wonderful, the staff were very good and we had a small problem with the wine but staff took care of it quickly and we got another bottle free of charge. One thing we thought was a bit of a shame was the live music playing was so loud you could not talk during our dinner, we thought it would have been better if he had been quieter so you could have a chat over dinner and drinks. More Micheal bubble dinner music than the loud dance music he was playing.
All and all the weekend was great we used the BBQ area for breakfast the next morning and it was really nice, the resort is a great place with a swimming pool and the beach not far away.
I recommend staying with them thank you to those staff on the Saturday night and maybe the front office lady should try to be a bit more friendly when guest arrive.
Thank you for a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabarmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fabulous place to relax. Great buffet breakfast, the staff were very helpful and also made to order breakfast was no problem . My teenagers loved all the dining areas and pools Beautiful landscaping . Came with a complimentary massage from the Spa which was pleasantRecommend.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieP050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at magenta shores as an overnight stayover during a road trip to Sydney arrived at 7pm and still received a great professional check in.

Excellent villas, very similar as Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley on a smaller scale, golf course looked in great condition!

Room service was really great quality and was excellent, efficient service during the stay.

Breakfast was great quality and value. even a pancake machine!

A very enjoyable stay, will recommend and return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Magenta Shores is about 10 minutes away by car from the Entrance so it feels a bit isolated for some, but it was perfect for us.
The resort is huge and plenty for the whole family to do so we did not see the need to venture out from the resort that often.
Upon arrival, the reception staff were professional (although not very friendly and forthcoming with hotel information without the prompting) . Although our room was not ready yet, they did call to let me know when it was. The reception complex looks modern and fits in with a 5 star hotel rating. The 2 dining options are also located in the complex.

Tuggerah Beach is also accessible via the resort - but not suitable for swimming. It is good for a walk though and the kids can play in the sand in a not too blustery day.

I booked a 3 bedroom villa and was glad that they have decorated the place with some paintings (in response to trip advisor reviews perhaps?) so it was not as sterile as others have experienced.
The villa looked clean on arrival but the balcony and patio areas looked like they needed a sweep or clean. Our villa was set in a beautiful garden setting and allowed the kids to run around outside and use their scooters along the well maintained foot paths.
Kitchen was well equipped and there was a laundry. Each 3 bedroom villa had 2 bathrooms and 3 toilets . So in terms of facilities, the villas were definitely extremely well equipped and ensured a convenient and comfortable stay.

I did not have a good night's sleep mainly because the quilts. The quilts in the main room were not in quilt covers and being allergic to dust mites, I was sneezing constantly until I took the antihistamines.

The resort has 3 pools - we had a fantastic time at the heated lagoon pool and the kids loved the little rock pools at the other end of the resort. The weather was quite warm when we stayed and the pools were definitely the kids' favourite. They also have a playground there for the kids and BBQ areas throughout the resort. A heated indoor pool is also available a the reception complex.

We ordered room service and it was good quality food. Same menu as the cafe restaurant and at reasonable prices. Serving size was also quite decent although the pizzas were quite small for $20 each.
We did not try the main dining restaurant (Barretts) but it seemed pretty quiet the both days we were day. Buffet breakfast is also served there at $30 per head and $15 per child.
If you would like to dine out, The Entrance has some good options for restaurants as well as Toukley. (12 mins away)

There is daily servicing and the cleaning staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We also had a chat to the friendly grounds staff and the kids enjoyed talking to the man scooping golf balls from the pond. Staff also smile and say hi as they walk past which made the stay that extra special.

Overall, the experience at Magenta Shores has been very enjoyable. Apart from the lack of a good night's sleep and oversight in some areas of cleaning, the facilities at the resort are first class and well maintained. (The resort also has a day spa and tennis courts)
The staff were also a stand out during our stay and we would love to come back with extended family.

Room Tip: Go for the garden villas if you want a bit of privacy. If you want to be near the kids rock pool, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magenta
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
10.2 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
3.6 mi away
Kims Beachside Retreat
Kims Beachside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Toowoon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
2.5 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Magenta Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Magenta Shores Resort

Property: Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Address: 1 Magenta Dr, Magenta, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Quay West Resort Magenta Shores)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Magenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Magenta Shores Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Magenta Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Resort Magenta Shores Hotel Magenta
Quay West Hotel Magenta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing